Petco "dogs" Reviews | Glassdoor

Petco Employee Reviews about "dogs"

Updated Dec 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
49%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Petco CEO Ron Coughlin
Ron Coughlin
438 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with animals always a pro(in 346 reviews)

  • "i made money and got to pet dogs at the same time(in 193 reviews)

Cons
  • "Watching people bring back dead animals because they didn't listen to your advice(in 347 reviews)

  • "Never having upper management say anything positive(in 168 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "dogs"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Groomer 

    I worked at Petco part-time

    Pros

    i made money and got to pet dogs at the same time

    Cons

    my boss didnt give me enough hours sadly

    Advice to Management

    pay more

    Petco2019-10-02
  2. "The customer will probably kill their goldfish"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Petco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pet all the cute dogs

    Cons

    It’s still a retail job

    Petco2019-12-02
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Everything is wrong"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Petco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Dogs, partners in store and regular guests

    Cons

    Literally everything beyond the pros. 4 vpros and 4 district managers in 5 years. Complete chaos, horrible lack of payroll, pushing and I mean pushing own brand awful foods, pendulum swinging metrics to chase.... ugh

    Advice to Management

    Any advice wouldn’t be heeded as the are very above all of the store partners so what would it matter.

    Petco2019-12-01
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Loved the Animals, Struggled with Meeting Goals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Companion Animal Leader in Syosset, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Petco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Working with animals -Seeing dogs every day -Wonderful coworkers

    Cons

    -You don't get a raise unless you are promoted, or transfer stores -Unrealistic expectations for services (dog training and grooming) sales -Expecting tasks to be done while expecting more engagement with guests -Depends on which store leader you get. I've had great ones and I've had horrible ones that made me cry

    Advice to Management

    -Take partner complaints seriously -Fire inadequate management, don't just transfer them to another store -Provide more payroll hours so partners are not struggling on the sales floor

    Petco2019-10-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good People, Unreasonable Corporate Expectation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Experience Specialist in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Petco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work with animals and share your knowledge with customers. It's great to see the positive impact that you can make in pets and owners lives. Most of the people you work with are like minded and generally great people. I've also been very impressed with the benefits and time off allotments. Compared to similar retail positions the benefits are pretty good.

    Cons

    There are some unreasonable expectations from Corporate. If you have empty spaces on shelves and there's a corporate walk, its 100% the stores fault regardless of the fact that Petco distribution centers are a mess and don't even have 20% of the products that we're supposed to carry. I previously was a FT Dog Trainer for the store. I took a voluntary demotion because it's not a well supported position. The pay for... a DT is not much better than the average associate but the expectations are much higher. If you work in an older store you also don't have a proper training area. This is problematic because classes are constantly disrupted, there is poor footing for the dogs (just the slick tile of the rest of the store), and there simply isn't enough incentive to want train long term.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fix your distribution centers and help your dog trainers out.

    Petco2019-10-24
  6. "I love it but it DOES have its ups and downs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dog Trainer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Petco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with animals, working with dogs/puppies, friendly staff,

    Cons

    9 management shifts in 2years, constant pressure of signing people up for pals, being written up for not getting enough pals, typical rude customers, low commission for DT

    Petco2019-09-30
  7. "Wouldn't reccomend working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grooming Salon Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Petco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pros here were the animals; seeing them, spending time with them and caring for them.

    Cons

    The people above you never congratulate you for anything good you do, they just always focus on the things you do wrong and need to fix. As far as working in the grooming salon, they just want money, money, money. They turn it into a sales job as well as seem to care about production more than the dogs. Want you to continue to upcharge their owners and push the dog through as quick as possible as well as trying to... juggle dogs, doing multiple at the same time. This leading to a more stress for the dogs as well as the groomer, poorer quality and unsafe conditions.

    Show More
    Petco2019-11-04
  8. "Awesome part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Petco part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome environment working with dogs. Education while working. Active job. Great discount. Consistant work flow

    Cons

    Not enough coverage. Could pay more than minimum as knowledge is learned. Programs for education on products could be established to motivate employees to grow within a very important industry. Serving to our fur family members.

    Advice to Management

    Your doing a great job given the resources from corporate

    Petco2019-09-10
  9. "Commission not as promised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dog Trainer in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Petco part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun to work with dogs. Flexible schedule.

    Cons

    Dog training packages for classes are almost always on sale so that cuts your commission to almost nothing.

    Petco2019-09-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Dog Trainer in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Petco part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dogs and dogs and dogs and dogs and dogs

    Cons

    Terrible management on all levels. I didn't have a general manager at my store for almost a full year. The regional was also terrible. I never received a raised that was for my one year + promotion.

    Advice to Management

    Be better

    Petco2019-10-08
Found 263 reviews