KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Petco

Is this your company?

Petco

Add a Review

Petco Employee Reviews about "pets to work"

Updated Jun 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 95 of over 4,172 reviews

3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Petco CEO Ron Coughlin
Ron Coughlin
899 Ratings
Pros
  • "Benefits promotions working with animals(in 392 reviews)

  • "Bring pets to work is the only positive(in 97 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Nothing bad , if you love animals(in 394 reviews)

  • "Low pay/ upper management unstable(in 188 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Petco and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "pets to work"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Contractor, more than 5 years

      Wonderful Job for People Who Love Pets

      Sep 26, 2019 - Copywriter in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked for Petco off and on for 7 years and I believe that they are truly passionate about the health and well-being of pets. The entire corporate culture revolves around pets and it's a lot of fun to be able to bring your pets to work with you.

      Cons

      As with any large company, there are many, many stakeholders to any given project. Because of this, projects tend to move slowly, which can be frustrating.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Petco Response

      Petco Experience Team

      Thank you for your sparkling review! We just wanted to let you know that we hear you, and are always looking for new ways to innovate and move the company forward.

    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Avoid At All Costs

      May 25, 2020 - Digital Manager in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The office is nice and you can bring your pet to work.

      Cons

      The corporate culture is so dysfunctional I'm surprised this company has held on as long as it has. Organization in completely flat, with just as many senior leadership positions as junior level. Leadership is incompetent and constantly changing strategy without a single thought. The new CEO brought in his senior leadership crew (all men of course) and brought with it fear culture, zero job security or career growth. The digital and marketing departments are the worst of all, morale is at an all time low. I wish I hadn't left my prior company for this place. Out of the 6 people I interviewed with 3 years ago, only one is left. That should tell you everything you need to know.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Lack of strong leadership across the board.

      Jun 3, 2020 - Corporate Office Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can bring your pets to work.

      Cons

      Disorganized. No process rigor operationally anywhere for a company of this size. Senior leaders do not care to understand the details of what their under resourced teams need to perform adequately. Budgets are non-existent. Teams are set up for failure. Leadership is poor.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Interesting place

      May 21, 2020 - Product Development in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Bring pets to work, can get experience then move to another company.

      Cons

      Toxic work environment, long hours, miss managed, weird

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Petco, My Experience

      Mar 10, 2020 - Animal Care Operations Manager in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Top shelve executive team!!! They are true leaders, in the process of navigating the company in the right direction. They've worked hard to build trust and open transparency throughout the organization. Easy work environment. Many of the mid to upper level leaders manage through relationships and not performance. If you're a good talker and focused on friendships, you'll thrive in this environment. The support centers and clean and inviting. The ability to bring your pet to work is a big perk. Very diverse work environment with great people. Team member benefits are getting better (still very subpar to other retailers). Pay by performance culture is being driven throughout the company. Internal promotions are high under mid to upper leadership. Above mid to upper level leadership, external promotions are high.

      Cons

      Supportive technology is decades behind other retailers. But, it's getting better as the business invests more within its infrastructure. Huge integrity issues with mid to upper level management (not executive staff). I have personal experience with this. Mid to upper level leaders without leadership experience, successful track records and the experience needed to leader/inspire/motivate/influence others. Store culture values corporate visitors more than a consistent guest experience. This leaves most stores in subpar conditions for guest to experience. Huge investments are made to fix up subpar store locations prior to upper leadership and executive visits. Lack of structure and accountability under the executive and VP level. Lack of being able to monitor performance beyond the companies overall goals. This causes self reporting leading to integrity issues. There's too many chiefs and not enough team members to complete the workload. Additionally, mid level managers and directors are the "doers". Relentlessly and toxically working with their head down to complete the exponential workload. Constant changes in direction, challenges with decision from upper management and following a consistant decision path are challenges throughout the organization.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      AMAZING

      Jul 5, 2019 - Corporate in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Passionate and positive culture. Clear vision and priorities. Executive leadership highly engaged and inclusive. Great benefits, esp recent adds. Everyone can bring their pet to work. Extremely talented, hard working teams who have each other’s back. Very welcoming and open environment.

      Cons

      Not necessarily a con, but could be for some folks...the processes and strategy are fairly new, so there isn’t this strict way of doing things. A lot of things are evolving and being re-imagined which is inspiring to me, but maybe not everyone’s cup of tea.

      4 people found this review helpful

      Petco Response

      Petco Experience Team

      Thanks for your review, we're grateful to have you on board. We are constantly looking for new ways to innovate and move the company forward. We value feedback from all our employees and will surely keep this mind.

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to work

      Oct 9, 2019 - Coordinator in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Leadership has improved and seems dedicated to a new and better vision for the company Great team members Ambitious goals and good support from teams Get to bring your pet to work

      Cons

      Being an hourly employee means you're exempt from some of the better benefits like unlimited PTO and flex Fridays over the Summer Dental and medical are ok, but still expensive

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Bad management

      Mar 22, 2020 - Property Manager in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Bring pets to work and great coworkers.

      Cons

      Huge turnover due to bad managers. Unethical practices. All about the money. Employees are not valued.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Company doesn't value Administrative Team

      Feb 18, 2019 - Executive Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Laid back environment; Get to take your pets to work; Friendly employees for the most part;

      Cons

      Worst HR team you'll ever have to deal with; The company doesn't value the administrative Team. If you are a receptionist, administrative assistant or executive assistant - do yourself a favor and don't work here. All these roles are treated with the same amount of disrespect.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Petco Response

      Petco Experience Team

      We appreciate your honest review and will share this with our team. Thank you!

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      On the right track

      Dec 20, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Office: *Great Monday-Friday 8 to 5 schedule. * You can bring you pets to work with you, working for Petco gives you a sense of hope that you are helping make the world better for both pets, and pet parents every day.

      Cons

      Office: *Benefits: need critical updating/modernization. *Communication: While the executives are awesome at communicating/answering questions on where the company is going on a quarterly basis, there are next to no updates on changes or current plans from direct supervisors. *Workload: Some positions unwilling adopt more work than others, but never see a compensation for the workload that is added. *The biggest con I have felt from the Corporate level is that it feels like there is no drive or path for growth. You get the job you have, and if you try to branch out into other positions, it feels like you will burn bridges and hurt your reputation, more that learning and trying to grow within your company. It's terrible to feel so limited in a company you love being a part of, because you don't want to end up on someones bad side.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Petco Response

      Petco Experience Team

      We hear you loud and clear, and while we're happy to hear you enjoy the workspace and share pride in our mission, we also want you to know that we support you and your ambition to grow within the company. We will discuss your advice with our team, and look forward to what the future has in store. Thank you!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 95 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Petco Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews