KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Petco

Is this your company?

Petco

Add a Review

Petco Employee Reviews about "pets to work"

Updated Jun 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 95 of over 4,250 reviews

3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Petco CEO Ron Coughlin
Ron Coughlin
929 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Petco and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "pets to work"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great corporate job

    Nov 16, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bring pets to work, everyone loves animals, solid company vision.

    Cons

    Comp and benefits could be more competitive, but it's worth it for such a great job.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Petco Response

    Petco Experience Team

    Thank you for your great review, we're happy to have you as a part of our Petco family!

  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Merchandising

    Nov 27, 2018 - Merchandising in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Able to bring pets to work every day, the new CEO is putting good efforts trying to make the company better

    Cons

    Zero training and development (sink or swim mentality), lots of low performers/resistant to change & learn/don’t care attitude (no action plan for them), upper leaders heavy and not enough of those who actually do the work, promotions happen to those who know the right people regardless of skill sets (for an example: some aren’t ready to manage people, but yet they get promoted into that role. Too many examples to list out!), so-so benefits (nothing too amazing or attractive), 0 budget for team building what-so-ever.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Petco Response

    Petco Experience Team

    Thank you for your honest review. We do our best to adapt to changes in the business together and we want to ensure your concerns are being heard. We value feedback from all employees and are constantly looking for new ways to innovate and move the company forward. We encourage you to share your thoughts with your management and the Petco Hotline at 1-888-736-9834 or http://petcohotline.com/ so we can get a better understanding and work towards resolving them.

  3. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Pathetico Animal Supplies, Inc.

    Nov 25, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - You can take your pet to work, if you like that sort of thing. Animals are generally well behaved. - No one that I’m aware of puts in long hours at the office. - Office is clean and modern, and getting roomier by the year thanks to layoffs.

    Cons

    - The egotistic culture can be jarring to outsiders coming from organizations where things like sharing credit, building consensus, and leading by example are valued. You won’t see much of that at Petco. Self-promotion is open and rampant, even encouraged by some “leaders.” It’s just a normal part of the office culture. Management treats interaction between departments as a zero-sum game, with petty squabbling over whose budget will pay for what. - Stone age leadership and processes. Apparently Petco thought it was a brilliant idea to keep stocking the Supply Chain department with cast-offs from the same failing company (Sears/Kmart), who don't know how a modern successful retail business is supposed to function. So these managers, too insulated and self-important to recognize how inept they are, carry on with their dictatorial leadership styles. This glaring lack of self-awareness is a recurring theme at the office. Petco has a typical Left Coast mentality that values diversity, but only the superficial kind. Management uses empty phrases like “challenge the status quo” when they are themselves the status quo impeding the company’s progress. That line in your job description about being comfortable with ambiguity? More likely it means “upper management is terrible at communicating but good at blaming, so be comfortable with being called out publicly for not being a mind-reader.” - Company culture places way too much emphasis on incessant, repetitive conference calls that accomplish little. - No bonus for corporate employees, two years and counting. Job candidates beware: Don’t be tricked into thinking a bonus will be part of your compensation. - No job security, and layoffs seem to have little to do with how valuable the employees are to the company. May the odds be ever in your favor!

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Not Perfect but Pretty Darn Good

    Oct 30, 2018 - Program Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of pros about working at the National Headquarters so I'll start listing them - can bring your pet to work. it's not limited to just dogs but cats, reptiles, bunnies, hedgehogs, guinea pigs, fish, everything! - lots of free stuff since you know you're working at a retail store you can get free pet food, supplies, beds, apparel, really anything pet related - if you do need to go to the stores you get 20% starting and up to 50% off on special partner deals and 40% off exclusive brands - the people are the best i ever worked with. no silly drama and immaturity. literally everyone i worked with were amazing - beautiful office space, large open space, natural lighting, coffee shop and cafe, 6 dog parks, a walking trail, and free gym with optional $5 classes - fun outside perks like free baseball games to the Padres including seats in the suites. you may even be invited to attend gala events - opportunity to work and try new things

    Cons

    I left right before Ron, the new CEO came in and I hear things are better but still chaotic. the bottom line is they are a retail company, one that's been around over 50 years. They waited too long and didn't take the threat of online seriously until it was too late. they are about 10 years behind on technologies. Also things change. A LOT. Many people can't handle the change, especially when we didn't get clear direction on why the changes were happening. Upper Management likes to hear themselves talk. a lot of business descions felt like they came from them have glasses of wine or seeing 1 good idea work in 1 small place and they say, "hey let's do that too! let's launch it in 2 months!" upper management put on a persona that they have an open door policy but they really dont. they talk the talk but don't walk the walk. they don't value their hard working employees to the point many of them quit.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Petco Response

    Petco Experience Team

    We appreciate your honest and thorough review. Thank you!

  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Stressful environment ALL the time

    Dec 4, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    pets to work is great

    Cons

    I work in IT and the organization that I am a part of thrives on these: 1) If you are good friends personally and a "yes man" you will be given the nod ahead of much much more qualified candidates. You will be made Manager and your mistakes/shortcomings will be overlooked. You will be given undue credit just to make you look good. On the other hand if you are doing a great job but not politically "in the game" with your Boss your work will not get much exposure. 2) There is one org in IT which bestowed "Manager" title to 3 ppl who had worked there for <1 year, all Caucasian. SE Asian folks in the same org who have done a great job never got offered such higher-level roles, no matter how talented/hard working they are. This not about any race cards being played here, but this oozes of racism 3) Horrible benefits/PTO. We are scared to take a day off even if we get sick. 4) EXTREMELY Stressful environment and no matter however successful you were throughout the year..around DEC/JAN there is always layoffs and your stress levels skyrocket.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Petco Response

    Petco Experience Team

    Thanks for sharing your review, we regret to hear about your concerns. We appreciate your feedback and will share this with our team. If you experienced a situation that violated our Code of Ethics and Conduct, please contact the Petco Hotline at 1-888-736-9834 or http://petcohotline.com/.

  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Regret

    Oct 2, 2018 - CRM Campaign Analyst in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1) Discount on Padres tickets (20%) 2) You can bring your pet to work 3) Nice Facility, cafeteria, coffee bar and walking trail

    Cons

    1) Male-dominated work environment 2) Hard/nearly impossible to get a promotion or raise 3) They factor in a full bonus into your offering salary but the company hasn't had a bonus in a couple years 4) Higher ups get bonuses when others don't, even though the higher ups are the ones making the decisions that lead to not making annual goals 5) Salary positions can expect many uncompensated hours of work, HORRIBLE work/life balance 6) A lot of hiring from outside, barely any from within 7) Managers don't listen to employees a lot of the time 8) Multiple layoffs and re-orgs 9) Horrible pay, they pay new hires whatever they ask but people who have been there longer don't make as much

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Petco Response

    Petco Experience Team

    Thank you for sharing your honest review, we regret to hear that you feel your hard work was not rewarded. We are constantly looking for new ways to improve employee experience and move the company forward. We value your feedback and encourage you to share your thoughts on the Petco Hotline at 1-888-736-9834 or http://petcohotline.com/ so we can get a better understanding of your concerns.

  7. 1.0
    Former Employee

    No one seems to know what they are doing.

    Sep 14, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great facility (HQ in Rancho Bernardo), can bring your pet to work, competitive salaries.

    Cons

    People seems to keep shifting to new roles so frequently that no one seems to know what they are doing. I've worked in fast-paces environments before, but this is just very chaotic. Also, lay offs have happened quite frequently at this company as the business has not been very strong the last few years. I got the impression teams did not feel very 'safe'.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Petco Response

    Petco Experience Team

    Thank you for your honest review. We do our best to adapt to changes in the business, but we want to ensure your concerns are being heard. We value feedback from all employees and are constantly looking for new ways to innovate and move the company forward. We encourage you to share your thoughts on the Petco Hotline at 1-888-736-9834 or http://petcohotline.com/ so we can get a better understanding of your concerns.

  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Merchandise Director

    Aug 8, 2018 - Merchandise Director in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Can bring your pet to work.

    Cons

    Cannot trust anything leadership says. They come across as sincere but in actuality lie to your face.

    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good Company

    Jun 6, 2018 - Senior Data Science Analyst in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. Healthy Work-Life Balance. 2. Benefits aren't too bad. 3. Pay seemed to be reasonable. 4. Can bring your pets to work. 5. Lots of flexibility.

    Cons

    1. Have to wait a year before you can get 401K. 2. Departments seemed to be siloed so it's hard to get groups to work together. 3. The technology can be laggy and archaic. I'm still using Excel 2010!

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0