KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Petco

Is this your company?

Petco

Add a Review

Petco Employee Reviews about "pets to work"

Updated Jun 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 95 of over 4,244 reviews

3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Petco CEO Ron Coughlin
Ron Coughlin
921 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Petco and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "pets to work"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good title to have in today's workforce

    Jun 7, 2017 - Vendor Analyst in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can bring your pet to work

    Cons

    No major cons that I have experienced. No workplace is perfect.

    3 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Trainwreck

    Jun 26, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bring your pet to work, casual dress and nice building.

    Cons

    Earlier this year cut 180 positions at their headquarters and talk of more to come. People that are left are doing the work of several people to compensate. Employees are stressed and unhappy. A lot of instability. Management keeps changing direction. Management (Officers are paid well), everyone else not so much. CEO and Sr. Officers do not care about their employees.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Manager

    May 8, 2017 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    nice people, nice to bring your pet to work.

    Cons

    lots and lots of chiefs! very little upward mobility. lots of peter principle managers!

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Building, Great Mission, Poor growth & no standardized processes

    Apr 6, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The building is great and the amenities- fitness center, cafe, coffee shop, walking path, etc. Fun to bring your pet to work. Sample sales are a highlight when they have them.

    Cons

    Plan on making ALOT less than standard for salary. Growth opportunities seem limited to who you know and who you hang out with. No SOP's, so you may have 30 people doing the same job and all of them do it differently. Health insurance is terrible for a company so large. I wouldn't be able to afford it for my family if not for my husband's insurance.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Accounting Corrdinator

    Apr 10, 2017 - Accounting Department in San Antonio, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bringing Pet to work daily

    Cons

    Out source many many positions out of the USA

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Used to be an amazing place to work

    Mar 23, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bring your pet to work Beautiful new corporate facility with gym, open design, natural light and and onsite Cafe Co-workers are just as passionate about pets as you are

    Cons

    Annual reogrganizations, restructuring and layoffs- departments are cut so significantly and change leadership so frequently that expertise is lost, leadership has no idea what the newly acquired teams do or what is realistic to add to their plate. SME's are frequently lost during the layoffs and noone else in the organization really understands what job that person did. Senior management is out of touch with the employees - talk a great game about promotiing and developing from within but it doesn't happen; we elimate the people with the knowledge and talent and bring in new people for those same roles from the outside. Women in senior leadership roles are minimal - 3 of the 11 are women. New CEO referred to the women at that level as "the girls" in a recent company wide leadership meeting and one was recently asked to retire. Workload is significant and everyone is drowining. Upper management talks a lot about "stop doing what isn't needed" but nothing has stopped. Projects and expectations continue to build. Everyone I know is working a 60-70 hour week to just "keep up" with the workload. We do quarterly employee surveys and the results are horrendous but yet the company does nothing about them. It honestly feels like an exercise in futility. How we continue to with the most ethical company award when senior leadership has harrassed women is completly shocking and embarassing.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    No personal/career development and lack of leadership

    Mar 26, 2017 - Corporate NSC Offiice in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Bring your pet to work - Free padres tickets - Gym in office

    Cons

    - Lack of leadership - Lack of direction - Layoffs every 6 months - Lack of career growth - Horrible salary - Lack of work/life balance - Glass ceiling when it comes to climbing the corporate ladder - Management will not invest in employees - Unrealistic expectations Honestly this is one of the worst companies I have worked for. It is telling when the only pros are bringing your pet to work, getting free baseball tickets, and having a gym. A truly excellent company would have pros such as developing careers, work/life balance, job stability, and actual direction from leadership. I have been at Petco for three years and the direction is all over the place with all of the changes in leadership. Every 6 months we are told a different thing. I do believe in a changing workplace but the direction should still be clear for its employees.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Merchandising

    Mar 7, 2017 - Merchandise Planner in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun environment. You get to bring your pets to work!

    Cons

    Layoffs seem to happen annually

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Most rewarding corporate work experience I've had in 12 years

    Feb 23, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Rancho Bernardo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get recognized here for a job well done. Very positive work environment (people bringing their pets to work certainly helps). The people here, overall, are genuinely happy people and I've caught myself smiling as I walk through the NSC. I've been working in a corporate environment for many years now and that's the first time I can say I've randomly found myself smiling. They take great care of the employees and the offices are gorgeous in Rancho Bernardo.

    Cons

    Really long hours and not the best work life balance. Honestly, that's my only con. Expect to work your butt off but you'll be rewarded for it.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    A very disheartening 3 years

    Feb 2, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great new building with gym, walking trails and a cafe with lots of healthy options. Bring your pets to work. Compensation is comparable if you come from outside the company and fight for your salary upon hire.

    Cons

    Leadership doesn't care about its people. The bottom line is their top priority, even if it’s at the expense of employees and customers and leads to unethical behavior. The HR team is unresponsive and doesn't want to deal with the VERY obvious low morale and is more concerned with protecting leadership’s bad behavior than creating a safe environment for it’s employees. Petco could be an exciting place to work if managed right. Sadly, the culture breeds unprofessional and immature conduct full of high school setting of bullying, back-stabbing, and manipulation.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
Viewing 41 - 50 of 95 Reviews

Popular Careers with Petco Job Seekers