KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Petco

Is this your company?

Petco

Add a Review

Petco Employee Reviews about "pets to work"

Updated Jun 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 95 of over 4,342 reviews

3.3
50%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Petco CEO Ron Coughlin
Ron Coughlin
974 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Petco and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "pets to work"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    PETCO outsourced my job and the jobs of many other employees to India

    Aug 3, 2012 - Software Professional in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    PETCO is a great place to work if you like animals. They let you take your pet to work.

    Cons

    PETCO moves slowly. If you're a go getter that thrives in a fast paced environment, PETCO is not for you.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    STOP – They are moving everyone to San Antonio in the next 5 years, don’t waste your time

    Feb 5, 2013 - Vendor Specialist in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bringing your pet to work (if you have one), watching games from the box (one time a season)

    Cons

    I feel as a whole the company has zero direction of where they want to go (it’s really day to day here), and if they do have direction they don’t share that information with the corporate office staff. San Antonio has been held over my head for a long time, it’s just a matter of time that the whole company is moving out there; with the 10-15% less they offer you. We have SO many VP’s it’s ridiculous, VP’s who report to SR VP’s who report to other VP’s…. So many unnecessary people on the top of the food chain that do NOTHING, yet so few at the bottom doing all the work. It’s a running joke that if your hourly you’re a nobody, and your title means everything here. The Merchants run the show, so don’t cross them or you just committed career suicide. I’ve applied for other positions within the company made it through numerous rounds of internal interviews and then was told that I was not “qualified” to move to the final round. WHAT? I make less now then when I started a year ago, raises are terrible and wearing numerous hats all the time because the turnover rate is so high doesn’t make you want to work any harder. I hate being in a meeting and hearing about how all the “salary employees” are going to spend their bonuses.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    New owner is bringing this company down

    Jan 20, 2017 - Marketing Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can bring pets to work. The offices are brand new with a nice open layout. There's a gym and a cafe with lots of healthy options.

    Cons

    New ownership has aggressive goals but have made rash and some borderline unethical decisions that led us to take 1 step forward while taking 2 steps backwards.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    While there are some exceptions, generally you should stay away.

    Mar 11, 2015 - Corporate in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can bring your pets to work. There's plenty of work to be done! There are a rare few excellent employees that are incredible to work with, despite all the things stacked against them. (See cons)

    Cons

    Inexperienced upper management running experienced long term employees. Too many chiefs. Expect to pay the price for bad decisions of your bosses and their bosses. Lots of red tape. Poor benefits package. Embarrassingly high turnover. Archaic systems and processes. Lack of trust between employee and employer. I could go on and on, but it becomes too long to read.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Pathetico Animal Supplies, Inc.

    Nov 25, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - You can take your pet to work, if you like that sort of thing. Animals are generally well behaved. - No one that I’m aware of puts in long hours at the office. - Office is clean and modern, and getting roomier by the year thanks to layoffs.

    Cons

    - The egotistic culture can be jarring to outsiders coming from organizations where things like sharing credit, building consensus, and leading by example are valued. You won’t see much of that at Petco. Self-promotion is open and rampant, even encouraged by some “leaders.” It’s just a normal part of the office culture. Management treats interaction between departments as a zero-sum game, with petty squabbling over whose budget will pay for what. - Stone age leadership and processes. Apparently Petco thought it was a brilliant idea to keep stocking the Supply Chain department with cast-offs from the same failing company (Sears/Kmart), who don't know how a modern successful retail business is supposed to function. So these managers, too insulated and self-important to recognize how inept they are, carry on with their dictatorial leadership styles. This glaring lack of self-awareness is a recurring theme at the office. Petco has a typical Left Coast mentality that values diversity, but only the superficial kind. Management uses empty phrases like “challenge the status quo” when they are themselves the status quo impeding the company’s progress. That line in your job description about being comfortable with ambiguity? More likely it means “upper management is terrible at communicating but good at blaming, so be comfortable with being called out publicly for not being a mind-reader.” - Company culture places way too much emphasis on incessant, repetitive conference calls that accomplish little. - No bonus for corporate employees, two years and counting. Job candidates beware: Don’t be tricked into thinking a bonus will be part of your compensation. - No job security, and layoffs seem to have little to do with how valuable the employees are to the company. May the odds be ever in your favor!

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Intern, less than 1 year

    Corporate Accounting Intern

    Nov 28, 2018 - Accounting in San Antonio, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Bring your pet to work everyday -Flexible hours -Great culture -Friendly/helpful coworkers -Reasonable pay -Work life balance -Upper management DOES listen (including the CEO)

    Cons

    Daily tasks can be a bit repetitive but, other than that, no cons. Great company.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Petco Response

    Petco Experience Team

    Thank you for sharing your review, we appreciate your feedback. We're happy to hear that you enjoy being a part of our work culture! We're grateful to have you on board and we'll continue to work towards making our company a great place to work. Thank you!

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great corporate job

    Nov 16, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bring pets to work, everyone loves animals, solid company vision.

    Cons

    Comp and benefits could be more competitive, but it's worth it for such a great job.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Petco Response

    Petco Experience Team

    Thank you for your great review, we're happy to have you as a part of our Petco family!

  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Trainwreck

    Jun 26, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bring your pet to work, casual dress and nice building.

    Cons

    Earlier this year cut 180 positions at their headquarters and talk of more to come. People that are left are doing the work of several people to compensate. Employees are stressed and unhappy. A lot of instability. Management keeps changing direction. Management (Officers are paid well), everyone else not so much. CEO and Sr. Officers do not care about their employees.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good title to have in today's workforce

    Jun 7, 2017 - Vendor Analyst in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can bring your pet to work

    Cons

    No major cons that I have experienced. No workplace is perfect.

    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0