Petco "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Petco Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Nov 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
49%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Petco CEO Ron Coughlin
Ron Coughlin
436 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with animals always a pro(in 346 reviews)

  • "i made money and got to pet dogs at the same time(in 193 reviews)

Cons
  • "Watching people bring back dead animals because they didn't listen to your advice(in 347 reviews)

  • "Never having upper management say anything positive(in 168 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Leader in Olympia, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Petco full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Passionate people, helpful, friendly environment, where vision is always in the forefront.

    Cons

    Advancement opportunities limited, especially if you are unable to relocate. Environment of upper management still has some people who are very negative, but lots of improvement in last several months.

    Advice to Management

    The changes of late are wonderful, and hope they continue. Be more in touch with stores and actual tasks that stores are being give .

    Petco2018-12-04
  2. "SL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Petco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Discounts on all products, good customer base.

    Cons

    Horrible upper management, bad visions, unrealistic goals, not enough hours to run store,

    Advice to Management

    To worried about pet services and losing site over general retail

    Petco2019-11-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandising Specialist in Miami, FL
    Recommends

    I worked at Petco part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Coworkers nice; work is straightforward -Lots of time interfacing with customers

    Cons

    -Upper management places too much emphasis on numbers

    Petco2019-10-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Upper management doesn’t care at all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pet Stylist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Petco full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pretty much guaranteed hours

    Cons

    If anything needs repair, won’t happen. If store manager does something wrong, no repercussions. At all. Get threatened during walk throughs a for telling upper management of issues.

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring thieves as managers, stop hiring people that commit sex assault on the employees and DO NOTHING when it’s reported. My district manager told me “but he didn’t really hurt you tho right”

    Petco2019-10-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful Animals, Terrible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Companion Animal Leader in Springfield, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Petco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved spending time with the animals - learning about them and caring for them - and helping guests find the perfect pet for them. Building guest loyalty and providing great service was very rewarding.

    Cons

    My store leader was atrocious. While very knowledgeable about the business, and most of the animals we worked with, she was a personnel nightmare. I faced terrible treatment, bordering on abuse and discrimination, during my pregnancy, and had to go to Human Resources and upper management upon my return from maternity leave in order to establish a healthy routine for pumping. I know I am not alone in my experiences,... as fellow coworkers had heard her use degrading and cruel language - the R slur included. Totally unacceptable.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Realize that in order for your employees to deliver the results you want, you need to support them with the staffing levels, materials and pay they need to be successful. Enough of the bare minimum staffing and expectation that we can do more with less. Your employees are worn out and underpaid. Finally, listen to your employees. When your turnover is astronomical and you've received multiple ethics hotline calls... about a Leader...maybe that leader needs to go.

    Show More
    Petco2019-07-31
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Culpability over Accountability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Guest Experience Leader in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Petco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Customers are often understanding as to the nature of the help shortages.

    Cons

    My primary experience with Petco has circled around the desire to place blame in associates that have not yet reached 90 days in order to alleviate a responsibility gap. Understaffed, strained teams are disrespected, bullied and threatened with the possible "red-flag", demotion or termination. Accountability is a two-way street. As a leader, if you desire to have a particular result, you must present the example..., outline a practical risk method to attain it and be willing to entertain questions or concerns about the process. Choosing to wait until a failure occurs, point a finger and tell someone "they could show up in the news" is unhelpful and fruitless. Petco employs (or chooses to use) no dedicated monetary budget for training at any store position. In short, a company that holds animal welfare above all will not spare a few hours pay to have a newly hired associate or leader work with an approved training partner to learn animal safety. The response to this lack of information is as you may guess, computer based learning. Reflecting back, no financial payroll investment is placed aside for training thus the computer merged is futile because it is not utilized in lieu of new employees being forced into active store positions prematurely to meet financial restraints. Payroll is based on sales configuration with both regard to volume of animals on hand. This is particularly stressing considering each Petco maintains a wellness room which separates unhealthy or hurt animals from their counterparts on the selling floor. In short an animal may require a specialized treatment requiring an hour to complete like a reptile soak to aid in skin shedding. No additional payroll is incurred. Furthermore, payroll dollars are routinely cut throughout the week meaning even if a time balance has been designed to meet each need, upper management can simply dismiss it in light of reduced income.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train associates and leaders. Treat them as investments; assets. Loosen the purse strings to allow your teams to do what you claim is your mission to take care of pets and their people. Track your middle management for in-store turnover and partner satisfaction. The company seems to trend as a loser of talent often due to their own policies and shortcomings around training and development.

    Petco2019-06-29
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Lack of loyalty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Petco full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Customers can be great, help pet parents better improve pet lives, meet and interact with animals every shift, most co workers are fun and easy to work with

    Cons

    Undervalue employees who have been with the company for many years, New employees get paid more than tenure employees, favoritism plays a huge part by upper management. No payroll to realistically complete projects, train new employees use empowered to sale, or do one on one meetings. This all leads to a store level resentment towards corporate.

    Advice to Management

    Increase payroll, reduce all the “meetings”, appreciate your employees

    Petco2019-05-18
  8. "Love working with animals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Companion Animal Department Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Petco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly staff Lots of room to advance/move up Different departments to specialize in Get to work with animals

    Cons

    Rude customers Bad upper management Lacking in training

    Petco2019-05-02
  9. "The job and the work is great. It’s a fun job, in a really great atmosphere."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aquatics Specialist in The Woodlands, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Petco part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly pets, friendly customers, getting to work with animals all day is great.

    Cons

    The upper management (district leaders) are corrupt, and don’t care about the wellbeing of their employees.

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees more. The reason a lot of employees quit is directly related to how they are treated by management. If you want the ones that care to stay, treat them appropriately.

    Petco2019-04-23
  10. "Terrible. IPP is terrible."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Groomer in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Petco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people, good customers.

    Cons

    Upper management. Terrible management strategies. Awful pay.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to experienced employees

    Petco2019-05-10
Found 167 reviews