KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Petco

Is this your company?

Petco

Add a Review

Petco Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jan 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 187 of over 4,172 reviews

3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Petco CEO Ron Coughlin
Ron Coughlin
899 Ratings
Pros
  • "Benefits promotions working with animals(in 392 reviews)

  • "Bring pets to work is the only positive(in 97 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Nothing bad , if you love animals(in 394 reviews)

  • "Low pay/ upper management unstable(in 188 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Petco and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      I love my job.

      Sep 26, 2020 - Pet Groomer in Bronx, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule and additional assistance to complete pets in a proficient and professional manner.

      Cons

      Upper management from corporate are negative influences.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Depends on the store

      Dec 19, 2020 - Companion Animal Department Manager in Hartford, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible scheduling, good management (depending on location), helps to build experience with ordering, merchandising, and guest relations.

      Cons

      HR is not responsive, upper management disconnected with needs of stores, pressure to sell items that are not high quality or appropriate. The customers are also sometimes unwilling to provide the correct care for their animals which is hard to deal with at times. For COVID we did not receive a wage increase although there are monthly bonuses. The district managers travel from out of state regularly despite restrictions on travel. My wages have not increased as they should with the rise of minimum wage so at one point my income actually decreased vs minimum wage from $4 above to only $2 above. There is a big misconception that you "play with the animals" in this role but actually it's quite the opposite. I spend a lot of time cleaning cages and tanks instead. You have to work 35-40hrs to be considered for this position. No real opportunity for overtime.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Fun atmosphere!

      Dec 2, 2020 - Field Leader in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with pets. Lots of upward mobility within the company. Generous 401k matching program. Lots of floating holiday pay days.

      Cons

      Pay rates are low for the industry. Pay increases are meager at best. PTO plan is accrued and not generous. Male dominated company. Lots of micromanaging from too many levels of upper management.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great team in store. Upper management not so much.

      May 27, 2020 - Pet Stylist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team in our salon. We all got along and were able to help each other succeed. Had great relationships with the store and salon managers, they actually listened to you and did something about it. Rarely had a problem being overwhelmed or left to deal with crazy customers by yourself. Someone was always there to help.

      Cons

      Not a lot of room for growth in grooming. Some of the rules are outdated and make no sense. Upper management is cold and distant and dont really help. Most corporate managers that stopped by were fear mongering and didnt understand salon safety and regulations. Communication is all but null when it comes to getting anything broke, fixed.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Pay, but not worth the pain

      Dec 11, 2020 - General Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent hours and salary, company really worked hard to diversify company

      Cons

      Negative, angry upper management, DM used fear and intimidation constantly to push employees beyond what was possible. Was counter to everything I have been taught in 15+ years of management.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      An ok college job

      Dec 18, 2019 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Got to work with and learn about a multitude of unique animals (mostly through other associates -Relatively flexible schedule options (great for college students -A few great managers/employees -Decent PTO for a part time job

      Cons

      -Very little time off the register -Formulized training was fairly useless (Ie. the video discussed “caring for a pet cricket” which lived several weeks -Some very power hungry managers existed -Upper management used fear to accomplish goals -Management never emphasized that part time employees got PTO, which expired at year end. Ended up being there over 4 years, losing my full pto balance at the end of each year. -unable to care for animals due to lack of budget/bias against uthenasia (we kept multiple animals alive, who should have been put down to end suffering) -Heavy micromanaging from the top down -too heavily focused on positive reinforcement alone (any dog trainer worth anything knows that positive and negative training is the most effective) -No real extra curricular activities -fairly low pay. Inflation actually increased faster than my raises while I was there -difficult customer base, which the organization bowed down to (ie people brought back animals they clearly hadn’t taken care of, receiving a full refund)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Petco Response

      Petco Experience Team

      We are grateful for your employment with us and value your opinion. While we’re happy to hear you had fun working with the animals, we regret to hear of your other concerns. We will share your feedback with our team as we continue to work towards making our stores a great place to work. Thank you!

    7. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Coronavirus

      Apr 6, 2020 - Pet Stylist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Normally, I love my job. My coworkers are great, and managers in my store care about their employees.

      Cons

      The handling of the pandemic on the corporate level has been disgraceful. They have closed the salon in my store due to state mandate, so groomers are being made to work the sales floor at about half the pay we would normally receive. While we are "allowed" to take leave, it is leave without pay, the company refuses to just furlough us and allow us to receive any unemployment benefit. I'm not an essential employee, but have to work anyway, against the mandate that nonessential workers are to stay home, and I'll be lucky to make $200 a week. I am so disappointed with upper management for doing this to us, while presenting to the world as if they care about the workers. It really is about the money after all. I am willing to adjust my review if or when things change, and this is in no way a poor reflection on my store manager, who is doing the best she can.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A Dying Company

      Jan 10, 2021 - Store Manager in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Taking care of a variety of animals

      Cons

      Clueless upper management with zero integrity

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Don't

      Oct 26, 2020 - Merchandise Operations Leader 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Animals that's about it really

      Cons

      Upper management is terrible different answers to same questions

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Practice what you preach

      Mar 13, 2019 - Guest Experience Leader in Buena Park, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ron seems to be the best thing to happen to petco in a long time. He seems to actually care. Animal care at the location I work at is number 1. We strive for excellence. We all work together as a team to complete tasks and we don't focus on "that's not my job". Running a store, helping out guests and their pets is everyones job. We are a family that strives for excellence, pure driven guest experience excellence.

      Cons

      Not feeling appreciated by the upper management. Never having upper management say anything positive. I have worked with many differnt DL's and this one has been the toughest. I was told I'm not inspiring enough to my team to move back into a store leader position, but its really difficult when the DL isn't inspiring either. There are NO second chances. No pat on the back, no compliments on improvement from previous walks just nit picking on any and every little thing. Practice what you preach.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Petco Response

      Petco Experience Team

      We appreciate your fair and comprehensive review. We’re all in this together! We're happy to hear that you're excited about the direction the company is going, and moving forward, if you’ve got suggestions, we are happy to hear them. Please contact the Petco Hotline at 1-888-736-9834 or http://petcohotline.com/ so we can get a better understanding. Thank you!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 187 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Petco Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews