Petco "working with animals" Reviews | Glassdoor

Petco Employee Reviews about "working with animals"

Updated Dec 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
49%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Petco CEO Ron Coughlin
Ron Coughlin
439 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with animals always a pro(in 346 reviews)

  • "i made money and got to pet dogs at the same time(in 193 reviews)

Cons
  • "Watching people bring back dead animals because they didn't listen to your advice(in 347 reviews)

  • "Never having upper management say anything positive(in 168 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "working with animals"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Dog training mentor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dog Training Mentor in Pasco, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Petco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I get to work with animals and the people are wonderful to satisfy.

    Cons

    Sometimes, it can be very busy and dealing with dogs can be rough.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing more than communication. It’s wonderful.

    Petco2019-01-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "petco"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Muskogee, OK

    I worked at Petco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Get to work with animals and customers that love their pets.

    Cons

    Poor animal care due to under staffing and lack of retaining quality workers.

    Advice to Management

    Build the knowledge of workers before putting them in charge of so many lives.

    Petco2019-12-04
  3. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Experience in Tacoma, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Petco part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with animals and coworkers

    Cons

    Retail job with expected in depth knowledge for low pay.

    Petco2019-12-06
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Double Edged Sword"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Advisor in Brooklyn, NY

    I worked at Petco part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with animals, learning experiences, coworkers usually had best interests at heart.

    Cons

    You will inevitably have to deal with animals dying, especially because of improper care provided based on company standards. Managers were usually really petty and everyone threw each other under the bus.

    Advice to Management

    Care more about the animals sold in the stores, not just the dogs & cats. Provide better & more accurate training to new employees. Staff more people during busy shifts.

    Petco2019-10-31
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good People, Unreasonable Corporate Expectation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Experience Specialist in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Petco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work with animals and share your knowledge with customers. It's great to see the positive impact that you can make in pets and owners lives. Most of the people you work with are like minded and generally great people. I've also been very impressed with the benefits and time off allotments. Compared to similar retail positions the benefits are pretty good.

    Cons

    There are some unreasonable expectations from Corporate. If you have empty spaces on shelves and there's a corporate walk, its 100% the stores fault regardless of the fact that Petco distribution centers are a mess and don't even have 20% of the products that we're supposed to carry. I previously was a FT Dog Trainer for the store. I took a voluntary demotion because it's not a well supported position. The pay for... a DT is not much better than the average associate but the expectations are much higher. If you work in an older store you also don't have a proper training area. This is problematic because classes are constantly disrupted, there is poor footing for the dogs (just the slick tile of the rest of the store), and there simply isn't enough incentive to want train long term.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fix your distribution centers and help your dog trainers out.

    Petco2019-10-24
  6. "Constantly changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SEL 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Petco full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I absolutely love working with animals and talking to people everyday to help them with their choices.

    Cons

    List is way to long

    Advice to Management

    Better communication and support

    Petco2019-10-22
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Loved the Animals, Struggled with Meeting Goals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Companion Animal Leader in Syosset, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Petco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Working with animals -Seeing dogs every day -Wonderful coworkers

    Cons

    -You don't get a raise unless you are promoted, or transfer stores -Unrealistic expectations for services (dog training and grooming) sales -Expecting tasks to be done while expecting more engagement with guests -Depends on which store leader you get. I've had great ones and I've had horrible ones that made me cry

    Advice to Management

    -Take partner complaints seriously -Fire inadequate management, don't just transfer them to another store -Provide more payroll hours so partners are not struggling on the sales floor

    Petco2019-10-13
  8. "I love it but it DOES have its ups and downs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dog Trainer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Petco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with animals, working with dogs/puppies, friendly staff,

    Cons

    9 management shifts in 2years, constant pressure of signing people up for pals, being written up for not getting enough pals, typical rude customers, low commission for DT

    Petco2019-09-30
  9. "My job as a Groomer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dog Groomer in Kingwood, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Petco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I loved working with animals. I learned a lot about animals and their temperaments. It was a fun job. The staff was great.

    Cons

    some animals are really scared and react aggressively

    Advice to Management

    Keep making your employees happy!

    Petco2019-09-24
  10. "Good but also bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aquatics Specialist in Bethlehem, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Petco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers were great, decent training, love working with animals and educating the general public

    Cons

    Bad hours, lots of turn over, and very hard dealing with uneducated costumers

    Petco2019-08-22
Found 346 reviews