Petroplan Reviews | Glassdoor

Petroplan Reviews

Updated February 13, 2017
31 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.1
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Rory Ferguson
0 Ratings

31 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. "Great Place to Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Petroplan (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great initial and continuous training program for new and experienced recruiters. The culture is phenomenal. It is a very collaborative environment, and there is no "office politics" or "clicks". Managers don't micromanage, and KPIs are not their only tool for performance evaluation. The work/life balance is amazing. We have a fantastic vacation package and work only half a day on Fridays.

    Cons

    Recruiting is not for everyone.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Petroplan Response

    Jun 23, 2016 – CEO

    Thank you for your comments. It's great to hear such positive thoughts from a member of our Houston team.


  2. "I love getting out of bed for this job!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Petroplan full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Fantastic commission scheme, great senior management, great training and a business that is small enough where you can make a real difference. This is the first job I've had in years where I enjoy getting out of bed to go to work!

    Cons

    The oil and gas focus makes it a challenge in a market downturn, but all the more reason to focus on best practice! Also being a global business the time zones can make communications a bit tough!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!


  3. Helpful (8)

    "Good company image only a facade"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Petroplan full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    There are no pros for this company.

    Cons

    They laid me off without any warning and right before Christmas. The company is small and we all know the CEO. It was a cruel move.

    Advice to Management

    Learn more about the people who are doing well and are committed versus the ones who are not before laying people off. It's difficult to manage from overseas. I was very successful at my job and had planned on staying with the company long-term.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Unhappy company and people"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Petroplan full-time

    Pros

    Not much to say apart from some of the people there who are decent and hardworking. The brand is perceived quite well.

    Cons

    HR dept represents everything it shouldn't, weak leadership that doesn't recognise this or may be choosing to do nothing about it.

    Advice to Management

    Address the above before it is too late.

    Petroplan Response

    Feb 21, 2017

    It sounds like you had a tough and challenging time at Petroplan and I'm sorry to hear that. As the newly appointed CEO, I would be keen to hear more regarding how you think we could have supported ... More


  6. "Decent recruitment agency in a tough market"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trainee Recruitment COnsultant in Aberdeen, Scotland (UK)
    Former Employee - Trainee Recruitment COnsultant in Aberdeen, Scotland (UK)
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Petroplan full-time

    Pros

    Clear bonus structure
    Great Christmas parties
    All tools for recruitment available
    Did not feel like I was expected to do a lot of extra hours as in many other rec agencies
    Quick progress possible

    Cons

    Really difficult to do BD in Oil and Gas at the moment - most recruitment on hold or changed to internal

    Advice to Management

    Hold on, survive and the business will come out even stronger when oil prices go back up

    Petroplan Response

    Oct 11, 2016 – Director of People and Performance

    Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. I’m pleased you enjoyed working at Petroplan and that our bonus scheme, career progression opportunities and work life balance were things that you ... More


  7. "A great place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Petroplan full-time

    Pros

    Great work/life balance with flexible working allowed where required, plenty of opportunity to further my career, a friendly and pleasant work environment, good training opportunities, supportive managers and a high level of involvement in company strategy so that everyone feels invested in the company's future. Performance is well-rewarded, even in a difficult market.

    Cons

    Company wide communication could be better and more regular - also company leadership needs strengthening and to be more cohesive and consistent.

    Advice to Management

    Urgently fill the gaps in the Management team and make your presence more strongly felt throughout the company. Don't spread yourself too thinly - if there are elements of your role that you are not able to fulfil due to other commitments make sure these are delegated to others so that they don't fall through the cracks.


  8. Helpful (5)

    "Lesson's to be learnt..."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Petroplan full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent induction and training. Aim is to have all employees, regardless of position, have a good understanding of the industry.

    A wide reach and some excellent consultants.

    Cons

    A little bit too much focus on the business and not what's best for the employee. Profits do matter, but so should people. It may have been in a bid to keep a positive approach, but it didn't work.

    Not enough thought put into hiring strategy. Consultants in and out like a revolving door.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest, open and transparent. No-one is oblivious to the current market situation so plan and prepare for it. Don't reassure worried employees (as in my case) that you're looking at the 'long-term' if you aren't...

    A sudden influx of good reviews on the 5th February doesn't look good either, by the way. An example of trying to make yourselves look better - people can see through it I'm afraid.

    Petroplan Response

    Jun 24, 2016 – Director of People and Performance

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It’s lovely to hear positive comments about our employees!   We are committed to ensuring Petroplan is a great place to work, and have a big ... More


  9. Helpful (4)

    "Middle of the road"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Petroplan full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Relaxed attitude towards KPI's
    - Good work life balance with work hours
    - Good and fair commission structure
    - Solid existing clients, if you are fortunate enough to be given them
    - Fairly nice place to work

    Cons

    - Senior management lack basic recruitment nous
    - No sense of direction from senior management team, you can sit through a hour and half of a strategy meeting from the MD and be no clearer of what the strategy is.
    - Company solution to oil price crisis is to just keep going and seems to be a greater interest in maintaining its history than diversifying in a struggling market to help boost the company. Any solutions to suggestion to that seems to come from a consultant level, which is worrying,
    - Performance is easily masked by what was achieved in a booming market, this true on both a individual and overall company basis. Key example was existing contractors from a booming time, masking the concerns over the current oil price climate and left the company late to react and result in knee jerk actions
    - HR is more interested in rubbing own ego than what is right for the business and is the result of many departures. For someone in Human Resources, completely lacks people skills
    - Poor management decisions in the past and sitting steady for too long, leaves the immediate future for the company looking bleak

    Advice to Management

    - Rebuild the senior management team with people who have senior level recruitment experience
    - Open your eyes and look at alternative solutions to survive and build on from the difficult market. There is a reason that near everyone of your competitors have moved on from or diversified to compliment the current oil market.
    - Hire experienced and proven recruiters. An increase in performance and competition will I would hope motivate and leave those coasting and knicking a living more exposed
    - Make it a even and fairer playing field for recruiters, you can not target, review and reward people who work accounts and given roles the same as those who dont have that luxury and have to win new business. Perhaps having a separate recruiter and account management model would work. Business development in the account teams doesn't excel, because the consultants do not need to, as they have roles and accounts to service.
    - Listen to your consultants
    - Look at what makes business sense rather than things being seen as a perk. Such as business trips. Rather than getting precious client face time, targets are put towards them and opportunities are missed

    Petroplan Response

    Jun 24, 2016 – Director of People and Performance

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I’m sorry that your experience at Petroplan was not wholly positive. We are already aware of some of the issues you have raised, and have responded ... More


  10. Helpful (2)

    "A fair review of Petroplan"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Petroplan full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Most reviews seem to be written by bitter ex workers or the marketing team but I work here and would certainly recommend Petroplan. An excellent company for both new recruiters and experienced consultants.

    - Excellent sales environment
    - Not aggressive compared to other recruitment firms
    - International travel supported
    - Excellent management in London !!
    - Solid client base that will see the company through any recession
    - Some excellent support staff (excluding finance)
    - Great team incentives on top of commission

    Cons

    - 2 different commission schemes that are not equal. Both are good schemes but there needs to be equality as certain staff members get a better deal to others.
    - Diversity: the London office is very male dominant (this is improving)

    Advice to Management

    Trust your performing offices, make sure staff stay motivated. Other recruitment sectors are booming so maintaining GOOD staff is important. The London management and client / account management team are excellent!!

    Petroplan Response

    Jun 23, 2016 – CEO

    Many thanks for your review. It's good to hear that you value the environment, travel opportunities, clients and incentives. Thanks also for suggesting some areas for development which we will aim ... More


  11. Helpful (1)

    "I Petroplan to stay"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Petroplan full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    There is a good atmosphere with communication between teams rather than your usual backstabbing.

    Very little micromanagement, most recruiters here are experienced and left to get on with their jobs.

    Good commission structure which pays off. No weirdly worded structure which doesn't work for you. One of bonus for new clients which helps!

    Cons

    5pm finish on Friday. No fruit in the office.

    Advice to Management

    Get Fruit

    Petroplan Response

    Jun 24, 2016 – Director of People and Performance

    Thank you for your positive feedback and suggestions - I’m delighted that you’re happy at Petroplan. We are looking into the extra incentives which you mention and have recently reported back on ... More



Showing 31 of 32 reviews
Reset Filters