Pets at Home Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Pets at Home Manager Reviews

Updated Dec 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
59%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Pets at Home CEO Peter Pritchard  (no image)
Peter Pritchard
27 Ratings
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Birkenhead, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I love my job, work with great people and get to have fun

    Cons

    Opening Boxing Day and NY day

    Pets at Home2019-12-23
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Chesterfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and pension scheme

    Cons

    Expected to work wherever the company needs you to

    Pets at Home2019-11-20
  3. Helpful (2)

    ""if you dont like us, leave us" ..... oh okay!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deputy Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Job security, friends you make, choice of products, the pets.

    Cons

    work to the bone, cut hours across business (to prep for Brexit) but then start ploughing millions into new store designs, short staffed constantly, the management clicks. more about kids and events then the pets.

    Advice to Management

    - don't have the area manager review the store managers (favouritism) - praise the good eggs you have while you have them. -change is necessary but I defiantly think the company is forgetting their own logo.

    Pets at Home2019-10-15
  4. "Good company to enhance career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deputy Manager 

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Discount, birthdays paid, colleagues and holidays

    Cons

    Sporadic shifts, poor work/ home balance

    Pets at Home2019-10-01
  5. "Overall really good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deputy Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good perks, great teams, great animal care, always changing for the better, you get to see customers' puppies every single day!

    Cons

    Management in stores is changed too often and usually at the word of the area manager, no choice from the person themselves or the store manager of the store it affects.

    Advice to Management

    Ask for a manager who would like to go to a store rather than telling someone they have to go. You'd get a lot more goodwill from someone who's going somewhere because they've chosen to rather than because they have to.

    Pets at Home2019-09-26
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Stafford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Brilliant if you love people and animals

    Cons

    Massive variations in pay amongst management

    Pets at Home2019-09-19
  7. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Taunton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The knowledge you gain, the passion of the colleagues and the sense of community in all areas

    Cons

    It’s a long working day but you only work 8 hours each shift,

    Advice to Management

    Give us more snacks

    Pets at Home2019-09-01
  8. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Swansea, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent place to work, great values it's the best job I've ever had

    Cons

    No Cons really, pay could be slightly better

    Pets at Home2019-07-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Quickly becoming an unhappy place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good memorys from when the company used to be an excellent place to work.

    Cons

    Salaried staff are being expected to work more and more hours, and to take up more roles. This is to fill the void of the company wide reduction in hours available for hourly paid staff. It has gone to far now and i can only see it getting worse.

    Advice to Management

    Think how your store managers feel, they are not pawns or numbers. If you agree a contract and role as your initial job, that (within reason) is what you want to do. If you ask way above that point you will get unhappy, stressed and depressed employees. Which will spread through your team! The smart ones who care will leave, then what are you left with?

    Pets at Home2019-07-20
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Putting pets first...... not people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Your instore team Regular customers

    Cons

    Ridiculous hours... often 60hr plus.. Very little support from head office Too many threats and consequences for unrealistic targets Low staff retention - that is frowned upon by head office

    Advice to Management

    I saw far too much bullying from area managers to directors.. didn't impress me at all.. saw too many good people pushed too far

    Pets at Home2019-07-10
Found 55 reviews