Pets at Home Reviews | Glassdoor

Pets at Home Reviews

Updated August 9, 2018
204 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Peter Pritchard
22 Ratings

204 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Gaining experience working with animals, good people on the team, good training on animal nutrition" (in 23 reviews)

  • "20% discount is great benefit and the team you work with" (in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Seems like anyone above store manager level is hiding away (area managers - what is going on" (in 19 reviews)

  • "Poor conditions long hours, lack of training" (in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Working at Pets at Home was okay - plenty of chance to grow within the company, but not very fulfilling work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    It was fine working here - coworkers were very nice, and management was very fair, plenty of emphasis on team bonding

    Cons

    It can get a little boring sometimes - there are no enticements to get you to stay, or work harder, you are just viewed as a replaceable part of a large team

    Advice to Management

    Better communication with all levels of staff


  2. "18 years wasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    There was a lot 5 years ago, not so much now

    Cons

    I'm not even sure where to start, unreasonable expectations, minimalist staffing budget to meet and exceed customer's expectations, deliver world class standards. Maintain the highest pet care and sell everything under the roof. With 3 maybe 4 people in most of the time. You simply can't not deliver what is expected of you on a daily basis. Oh and don't forget to get 17 pallets of stock out in 2 hours with 2 of you.

    Advice to Management

    Stop cutting budgets, you cannot do more in the store with less people. It's impossible

  3. Helpful (3)

    "management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    good working conditions initially,benefits good for store manager, less for lower end management and store team.work life balance ok but changing recently.

    Cons

    business in a period of adjustment following recent retail changes, very uncertain as too which way this is going to go. Share price a reflection of this. Groom room a fake entity and salon managers not skilled enough too manage but salaried higher than they should besenior management not to be trusted as all worried for their jobs

    Advice to Management

    Sales background a preferred to a ertail background, prepare too loose and control over your team as colleagues have masses of power over you


  4. Helpful (6)

    "WHAT HAPPENED?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    good discount, learned lots, good in house progression programme

    Cons

    overly stressful, KPIs are unrealistic with the man power in store, not enough hours to get things done, management can be bullies especially area managers. a lot of managers talk crap behind people's backs.. no support for struggling stores.

    Advice to Management

    Upper management: Help your stores that need it! Listen to your colleagues and store management teams! You are losing colleagues and managers at store level left right and centre because they think you don't care anymore!

    Pets at Home Response

    Jun 18, 2018 – Social Customer Care Manager

    Hi,
    Thanks so much for the review. I'm so sorry that things didn't work out for you but please rest assured that this feedback will be invaluable in ensuring that this doesn't happen again. Without... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "HMM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Not much as very poor place to work

    Cons

    hours money poor trained manager

    Pets at Home Response

    Jul 24, 2018 – Social Customer Care Manager

    Hi,
    Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm really sorry to hear that you feel this way & it's certainly something that we need to address. It’s very important to us that our colleagues feel... More


  6. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Colleague
    Former Employee - Store Colleague
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Working with animals
    Takes on volunteers
    Paid for training hours
    Friendly colleagues
    Fit working hours around college hours, eventually

    Cons

    Managers only cared about serving customers, sometimes ignored medication schedule for quarantined pets
    Lack of training
    Felt like I had to rush when on vet visits or doing anything for the animals, so I could get back to shop floor quicker

    Advice to Management

    Ensure all staff are trained and helped properly, not just given booklets to work through. Ensure staff are given enough time to properly care for each animal, they're living creatures, not just money-making things.

    Pets at Home Response

    Jun 18, 2018 – Social Customer Care Manager

    Hi,
    Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate your comments & will take them all on board to ensure that we learn & develop as a company. Without knowing where you... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Wage Slavery. Bring on UBI!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Colleague
    Current Employee - Store Colleague
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    • 20% off discount card for you and one other person to use.
    • Those I work with are (for the most part), good people.
    • The occasional customer that actually knows what they're doing.
    • Smoke? Get a seemingly endless amount of breaks for your habit.
    • Free tea and coffee.
    • A job on your CV.

    Cons

    • If you are introverted to any degree or suffer from mental health issues such as GAD or depression, then this is probably not the job for you, unless you enjoy the drudgery of meaningless tasks repeated ad nauseam.
    • PAH have recently partnered with MIND but that feels more like a marketing ploy rather than something that will actually help their colleagues.
    • You won't be paid much more than the cleaner that works in your store, but you will be expected to be an omnipotent sales deity.
    • Management are far from motivational and give compliments and praise like they expect something in return.
    • Nothing is ever good enough. You must "keep all of the plates spinning".
    • There's the ethical implication of looking after the animals that is not reflected in your pay.
    • If you are not living with your parents or your partner the bonus scheme is a joke.
    • Favouritism has been an issue recently, in both my store and in our sister store.
    • Both management and colleagues across the country are having to take time off to deal with mental health issues brought on by their jobs. This has literally brought some stores to their knees.
    • Shifts can vary considerably and you're made to feel like you are kicking up a major fuss to get any semblance of routine into your life. (Be prepared to get given the "you signed up for it" excuse if you have the hamster balls to bring the subject up).
    • You're made to feel like you've committed a crime against humanity to call in sick.
    • Managers now have the love-it-or-leave-it-attitude (thank you for that, PP), and any sign of push-back is put down faster than some of the animals.
    • A surprising amount of customers have a propensity for verbal abuse and if you don't have the demeanour of an emotionless robot when dealing with them, you're the one to be blamed.
    • Laconic 'Shoals' tell you, multiple times a day (depending on the manager), how far away you are from hitting KPI's and how other retailers are failing (scaremongering alert!).
    • Most of the sycophantic and obsequious managers and colleagues have been dismissed. Alas, some remain.
    • You will need a tongue of steel to stop yourself from chewing it off due to this so-called "nation of animal lovers".
    • You could give your heart and soul to this company but if you're not hitting their ridiculous targets, beware.
    • I really could, and would, love to go on - pointless Roadshows, terrible work/home life balance, WAE, Shoals on your day off - but it's not worth my time.

    Advice to Management

    Round One. FIGHT!
    Mental health training should be paramount.
    I shouldn't be made to feel like a major incovenience if I call in ill due to my ongoing battle with depression.
    You are stuck in the "shut-up-and-take-your-meds-and-don't-relapse" age.

    Round Two. FIGHT!
    We work for over half of our waking hours, not including travel, five days out of seven, and you expect us to be bouncing off the walls with enthusiasm to have such a job. Please.
    Few people in retail are going to be on their deathbeds wishing they worked more. The vast majority of people in retail are there to pay their bills, just accept it and try and make their lives better.

    Pets at Home Response

    Jul 26, 2018 – Social Customer Care Manager

    Hi,
    I'm so sorry that you feel this way. It's really important to us that our colleagues feel valued & listened to & given what you've written, it seems like this isn't the case with regards to your... More

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great if your 'manager' knows what they're actually doing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Animals.
    Life Assurance.
    Dogs allowed in store - also a con when they pee everywhere.

    Cons

    In house bullying.
    Unprofessional and petty managers.
    Uncaring area managers.
    Pets before profit is a lie! The be all and end all of this company is sales and profit! The kpis are all focused on selling as many 'xyz' as you can, or they come down hard and bad mouth you in emails for everyone to see. Most of the stock is massively overpriced and of dire quality! The care given to the animals in store relies fully on how much the person giving it cares. And even then you'll be hounded by management if you take longer than an hour to clean out 30+ cages! Even more depending on which store you're based. Which in turn leads to animals getting sick because of unclean conditions. The animals are nothing but stock to them.
    Stupid amount of pressure to force people to sign up for VIP cards because apparently they spend a whole £6 more on average than non VIP members. But it doesn't stop there because you've got more added pressure for swipe rates of those cards! God forbid it be under 60%
    This company is all about how to force people into spending more money under the guise of caring about animals.

    Pets at Home Response

    Jul 26, 2018 – Social Customer Care Manager

    Hi,
    I'm so sorry you feel this way. We're so grateful for your feedback & feel that a lot of the issue's you've raised need to be addressed as soon as possible. Without knowing exactly where you... More


  9. Helpful (4)

    "Ok, but wouldn’t recommend as a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Colleague in Leeds, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Colleague in Leeds, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Everyone there really cares
    I have had great fun working here and learnt so much
    Good opportunity for training (progression to manager, microchip, SQP)
    Work with animals every day
    Can be trained/transferred to other parts of the business (dog groomers, vets etc)
    Yearly bonus that can be really good if you’re management. Just ok if you’re a colleague
    Lots of opportunity to help community (charity schemes, children’s workshops, brownie/cub visits)
    People tend to stay a long time within the company

    Cons

    They expect you to do a LOT more than other retail jobs for less or similar pay
    You have to learn a lot and pass courses that can be quite intensive
    They don’t give full time contracts to colleagues, but expect you to work full time with no over time pay
    Not good if you have a family/want a life (someone has to clean and feed the animals even on Christmas Day)
    Also lonnnng working hours. I have been at store past midnight preparing for a visit or doing a stock take, and I have had to be in before 5 to prepare for a visit or to do a delivery
    Physically demanding. At least two hours of work clearing out a day, and delivery can include hundreds of bulk dog food of 20kg+
    A huge amount of targets to hit (sales, loyalty sign ups, online orders, lost pet tags, flea subscriptions, loss prevention, pet standards etc)
    I’d also be careful about seeing this as a long term plan. Sales are slowing down and hours are getting cut etc.

    Advice to Management

    Streamline in store targets. Too many to focus attention on and do well
    Look at making contracts fairer for colleagues
    Look at opening times (my store would be lucky to get a handful of customers after 6 mid week)
    Stop opening new stores within 5 minutes drive of each other

    Pets at Home Response

    Jun 12, 2018 – Social Customer Care Manager

    Hi,
    Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate all of your feedback as it helps us to develop as a retailer. We're so pleased that you enjoyed our development... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "If you can’t sell get out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    If you need a job and need money

    Cons

    To much to do, not enough time, company isn’t all on the same page, every new person had something new every Field Pet Manager is different every Regional Director is different one part of the business doesn’t have a clue what the other is doing, and pets, we recently converted to auto ordering pets, mean we got sent far far to many pets so now we have pressure to sell them pets before profit more like pets for profit

    Advice to Management

    Go to a store and work their a month see what it’s actually like not the fake visit standard you see

    Pets at Home Response

    Jul 24, 2018 – Social Customer Care Manager

    Hi,
    We’re so sorry you feel this way. Without knowing exactly where you are, it's very difficult to pass comment but we'll ensure your comments are taken on board. We strive to develop our practices... More


Showing 204 of 214 reviews
Reset Filters