Pets at Home Reviews | Glassdoor

Pets at Home Reviews

Updated Feb 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
45%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Pets at Home CEO Peter Pritchard  (no image)
Peter Pritchard
96 Ratings
  1. "Losing it's way with People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Colleagues, great instore discount, plenty of training, never a dull moment

    Cons

    There are limited roles after store manager, with only the ones on the best terms with the regional management getting the roles as opposed to those who are best qualified

    Continue reading
    Pets at Home2020-02-17
  2. "Not a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in Ashton-under-Lyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pets were nice to work with

    Cons

    Colleagues and managers are extremely nasty and have favourites

    Pets at Home2020-02-14
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    None company going down the pan

    Cons

    Everything from training to animal welfare awful

    Pets at Home2020-02-14
  5. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engagement Specialist in Handforth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great team, Great people, progression options are endless

    Cons

    sometimes talent isn't always reflected in the pay

    Pets at Home2020-02-11

    Pets at Home Response

    February 12, 2020Social Customer Care Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I'm so pleased that you're enjoying working with us and that you find the environment and team to be pleasant. It's so lovely to hear when our colleagues enjoy their roles so thank you for sending us this feedback. We wish you many more happy years with us. Many Thanks, Lorna.

    Continue reading
  6. "Great company culture and"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loved my job at PAH as a SM - they let you take control of your store and they actually care about people and the pets - they genuinely put the pets first . Great opportunity to progress to SM from cashier

    Cons

    Long hours, underpaid, very physical, standing on eggshells with team members and have to baby people often as company is scared to upset anyone. Unsure of next move after store manager level to continue career.

    Pets at Home2020-02-11

    Pets at Home Response

    February 12, 2020Social Customer Care Manager

    Hi, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us feedback. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your time with us and it’s fantastic to hear that you felt there were great progression opportunities. We appreciate your comments in terms of having to stand on eggshells, and I've passed this on to relevant teams to address. Thanks again for your comments and I hope you’ve found, or will soon find a great new role elsewhere. Lorna.

    Continue reading
  7. "Pros and Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Colleague 
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Pets at Home

    Pros

    Store atmosphere is fantastic. You are expected to be energetic and outgoing at interview so all of the team are super friendly.

    Cons

    Some of the mentality from those higher up the pecking order regarding pets is a little disheartening. The new store refits which have been met with huge backlash with regards to pet welfare from staff and public alike, there was no discussion with current members of staff with how they were happy with it. Pets before profit but it’s starting to feel a little bit more like profit before pets at the higher level, not at the store level.

    Pets at Home2020-02-07

    Pets at Home Response

    February 12, 2020Social Customer Care Manager

    Hi. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I'm so pleased that you're generally enjoying working with us and have found the store atmosphere to be so welcoming and friendly. I hope this isn't too overshadowed by the negative impression you've been left with regarding management level colleagues. This will be fed back to relevant teams for review but if you feel comfortable to do so, it might be worth having a chat with your direct manager, or alternatively the people team who are always on hand to offer support when needed. Again, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us, Lorna.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Don't care about colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Bangor, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Used to be great. Training, conferences. Pay for colleagues

    Cons

    Dont look after long serving colleagues with mental health issues. Not enough colleagues to deal with tasks. Expect too much, targets too high. Management dont sort issues out when they arise, leave for others to do..

    Continue reading
    Pets at Home2020-01-30

    Pets at Home Response

    February 2, 2020Social Customer Care Manager

    Hello. Thank you for your review. I'm really sorry to hear that you feel that colleagues weren't very well looked after during your time with us. Mental health is a huge priority for us so your comments have been reiterated to relevant teams to address right away. Our colleagues should always feel very appreciated so please be assured your comments have absolutely been taken on board. Again, I'm incredibly sorry for all the issues you had when you were with us and thank you for taking the time to make us aware. Lorna.

    Continue reading
  9. "Good stable job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Deputy Store Manager 

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company is doing well, good staff.

    Cons

    High staff turnover, not enough hours for shop colleagues.

    Pets at Home2020-01-28

    Pets at Home Response

    February 2, 2020Social Customer Care Manager

    Hello. Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback for us. I'm really glad to hear that you've been enjoying your time with us and that you're happy with your colleagues. I'll make sure your feedback is passed on to relevant departments regarding there not being enough hours available for the shop colleagues as this is certainly an area we'd always like to improve on. Thanks again for getting in touch, Lorna.

    Continue reading
  10. "Lacked Career Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Journalist 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Animals best interest at heart, good ethos

    Cons

    Lacked career progression. Lots of extra hours worked and not reflective of salary

    Pets at Home2020-01-20

    Pets at Home Response

    January 22, 2020Social Customer Care Manager

    Hi. Thank you for your review and I'm really glad to hear that you appreciate that we really do keep animals best interests at heart. However, it's disheartening to hear that you're unhappy with the way your career has been progressing in our company. If you feel comfortable enough to do so, please do speak with your line manager who may be able to assist or provide some guidance in this area. I hope you get the support you need and thank you again for getting in touch. Lorna.

    Continue reading
  11. "Going downhill fast, avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Colleague 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home part-time

    Pros

    Was once a good company.

    Cons

    Now the pay is insulting for what's expected. Higher management completely out of touch with stores. Store constantly understaffed and not enough time to care properly for pets. I jumped ship as it's sinking fast.

    Pets at Home2020-01-17

    Pets at Home Response

    January 22, 2020Social Customer Care Manager

    Hi. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. I'm so sorry to hear that you felt that your role wasn't as enjoyable as it once was, and it's really concerning that there didn't seem to be enough time to properly care for the pets, which should always be our top priority. I have informed relevant teams of your comments so thank you again for your feedback. Lorna.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 328 reviews