Pets at Home Sales Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Pets at Home Sales Assistant Reviews

Updated Jan 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Pets at Home CEO Peter Pritchard  (no image)
Peter Pritchard
4 Ratings
  1. "Enjoyable environment to work in and be apart of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home

    Pros

    The team is really easy to get along with and they always offer advice in regards to improvements in your work.

    Cons

    The harder jobs are given to the interns and the workload is shifted onto newcomers.

    Pets at Home2020-01-05
  2. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Lisburn, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good money Working with animals

    Cons

    Cliquey Bullies management only pick their mates for promotions

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to treat your staff with a bit more respect instead of laughing at them

    Pets at Home2019-11-10
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing place to work truly look forward to every shift"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Taunton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -incredibly fun working atmosphere with the most supportive colleagues and management you could ask for. -good variety of different jobs to do throughout the day. -lots of training and on going opportunities to better yourself - KPIs make it fun to challenge yourself day in day out. I finally feel like I've found a company I would really want to progress with and hope I will have the opportunity to progress with Pets at Home.

    Show More

    Cons

    -short shifts 4 hour shifts are not enough to live on with bills to pay

    Advice to Management

    All I can say is keep on being as amazingly supportive and dedicated to the team as you are it is incredibly motivating and very much appreciated.

    Pets at Home2019-09-17
  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home part-time

    Pros

    Nice Customers, Good Salary, Interesting Job

    Cons

    Long hours, Hard work, limited progress

    Pets at Home2019-07-20
  5. "Never paid properly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England

    I have been working at Pets at Home part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere, not boring and lots of opportunities to further your career.

    Cons

    My pay has never been the same since the day I started two years ago but my hours have been, sometimes I get 100 pounds more than the month before and sometimes 100 less.

    Pets at Home2019-05-23
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Worst Employer I've Ever Had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Customers bring their dogs in.

    Cons

    Almost absolutely everything! You have an incredibly intense training plan and yet NO support is given, you are left on your own to do it. Its got to a point where making any attempt to complete it leaves me stressed and visibly upset. Managers will punish you for not reaching the Vip card swipe rate, they will sit you down and go through what they call 'counselling and advice'. Hint- its anything but. If you applied for part time work, forget it and don't bother. My contract is part time yet I've been working 40 odd hours a week, I worked 8 days in a row recently! I wanted to be able to enjoy working with the animals but I can't. If you take longer than 2 hours cleaning (and sometimes there are 30+ cages to clean) again you are punished. But I've seen other people cut corners so they can get it done quicker.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I have never been more unhappy than I have been working for your company. Your lack of compassion, communication and organisation is shocking beyond belief. I'd say all this face to face but I know full well I'd get punished for that as well. You need more people working in your stores, there is so much unnecessary pressure put on you to do such menial things (vip card) and for what?! We get nothing in return if we do work hard. Value your employees and give proper support to those who are training. I really hope you take mine and the many other low rated reviews on here seriously.

    Show More
    Pets at Home2019-04-04
  7. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    rewards for great customer service good rate of pay gain qualifications while working for the company

    Cons

    training could be a lot better management could be better trained

    Pets at Home2019-01-12
  8. "My time at Pets at Home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Working with animals, sense of pride and fulfilment from looking after and selling them daily - Small(ish) team means you can get to know everyone within the team, allows for a more personal level - Very easy progression into higher positions, you can very easily become and expert on a specific pet area or an assistant manager within 2-3 years - Lots of individual benefits you don't see in many companies, 20% discount, paid day off if a pet dies, paid day off when you get married, paid day of if your child has their first day at school, one paid charity day per year, and many more - Most stores have very flexible shifts, meaning no week is the same, good for some people, not so for others.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Favouritsm does seem to be a big issue within many pets at home stores, as your team is very small, managers tend to pick favourites, although this depends on the store manager. - As of when posting this review, hours seem to be getting cut a lot, meaning less available shifts. - Could be a pro or a con, depending on your situation, but the shifts are very varied, being on a 20 hour contract myself, some weeks I do 40+ and others it's 20 exactly, makes for a very flexible income, per month wages can vary by £400 at times - Very high standards around pets, if you do not care for, or take pride in your work around them, then be warned, despite your perception of the company, or who you are, mess up around animal welfare and it will be noticed - They do expect you to work hard, sometimes too much then what's feesible, although it's not constant like some other jobs, it is worth noting

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Overall, all the stores I've seen, seem to be mostly good and do a great job, as a business overall, we need to try our hardest not to pick favourites, it happens all too often where people are treated far too differently, especially when it comes to mistakes. Apart from that, I'd say this company is a well rounded and decent place to work for

    Pets at Home2018-11-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good company but too many targets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant/Keyholder in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Get to work with pets everyday. Work life balance is great. Teams get on really well with one another lots of fun at work. Working with customers to find the best products for their pets everyday. Shifts are good not too early 7am starts and not too late of finishes if on late shift 8:30pm finish so not to bad. Training and progression good and opportunity to progress can come quickly if managers see potential.

    Cons

    Managers expect to much from colleagues. Too many targets to hit from loyalty card scheme to subscription service to tails customers survey so many targets to hit colleagues get stressed out by them. Store hours are cut so less colleagues to work throughout the day making it harder on managers. Some colleagues even managers are lazy and just seem to get away with doing nothing all day and there’s no consequences on them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Cut all the targets in store to make it easier to hit them. Focus on stores more with more hours for colleagues and introduce full time contracts to colleagues who want them. Make sure Colleagues and managers are working to there best punish those who aren’t.

    Pets at Home2018-10-10
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Not what it used to be.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I used to love the early shifts, during these you get to spend a good 3-4 hours with the animals. When I first started back in 2012 the pay was really good, now the national minimum wage has gone up its terrible.

    Cons

    Okay so there's quite a few, so I'll put them in to bullet points to make it easier... - Illegal working hours, for example.. Finishing at 9:15pm and starting the next morning at 6am. Being told 'tough' when questioning it. - If your face doesn't fit you won't get anywhere in this company. Management most DEFINITELY have favourites, this seems to be for every store if you read other reviews. - Childish management. Talking about colleagues behind their backs, laughing at other colleagues and overall just being rude towards them. - Being forced to stay 30 minutes over your finish time and not being paid for it. - Serious lack of understanding in regards to mental health. Being told 'good luck getting a sick note' from your manager. Honestly? This company made me ill. - They think data protection is a big joke and tell other colleagues your reason for absence and leave things such as colleague files and doctors notes lying around. - Lazy management. Most will spend their days sat in the office pretending to read emails or worse standing in the warehouse on their phone texting. - Poor pay for the amount of work you actually do day in and day out. - Refusing to give colleagues compassionate leave and asking to prove that their grandparents had actually died. - Witnessed and took part in several recruitments where managers will not pick new staff based mainly on their appearance, weight, voice etc. - Unrealistic targets, they want you to push and push and almost force their VIP loyalty card down customers throats, it's ridiculous. I worked for the company for almost 6 years and to begin with it was absolutely brilliant, it was everything I wanted from a job with promises of promotions and training courses. All of this proved to be a lie, none happened at all. You're given the chance to complete 'step up' books, but never once did any of my managers sit down with me to ask where I was with it or if I required any help. In the end I completely gave up with it and to be completely honest feel as if there was no other choice but to leave for elsewhere - and so I did. I was that desperate to leave I didn't even have another job lined up and felt too sick, too drained to even work my notice. If you want to excel and be successful in a career, pets at home isn't the right company to go for.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I personally think managers should undergo more intense training. I worked in two different stores and witnessed the same childish behaviour in both. I'd often walk in to the office and witness managers gossiping, it's just extremely unprofessional. Actually LISTEN to your colleagues.. allow them to fill in feedback forms in PRIVATE in stead of having managers lurking over their shoulders so they're too scared to write anything negative. Nothing will change in this company though, it's heading straight for the gutter and it wouldn't surprise me if in ten years time it doesn't exist anymore.

    Show More
    Pets at Home2017-09-01
Found 15 reviews