Pets at Home Store Colleague Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Store Colleague

Pets at Home Store Colleague Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.0
9%
Recommend to a Friend
14%
Approve of CEO
Pets at Home CEO Peter Pritchard  (no image)
Peter Pritchard
9 Ratings
  1. "Going downhill fast, avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Colleague 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home part-time

    Pros

    Was once a good company.

    Cons

    Now the pay is insulting for what's expected. Higher management completely out of touch with stores. Store constantly understaffed and not enough time to care properly for pets. I jumped ship as it's sinking fast.

    Pets at Home2020-01-17
  2. "Good starting place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Colleague in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Pets at Home part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loads of training. Good pay

    Cons

    Fairly high staff turn over

    Advice to Management

    Numbers aren’t everything

    Pets at Home2019-11-27
  3. "Loved working with the animals... it's a shame about the management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Colleague in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was great working with the animals and caring for them. Fellow colleagues are all lovely. Generally nice customers as most are going to be animal lovers, but it's still retail so you get bad ones.

    Cons

    Don't expect support from management. My experience (and that of fellow colleagues) was that the management were just power hungry. There is the customer loyalty scheme (VIP Cards) and you will have to meet the same targets for these (regardless if you work less time than others, or are working the stock in the morning before the shop even opens?!) You will be kept in at the managers discretion for multiple extra hours each week (at no pay) and are expected to do lots of extra paperwork on your own time. If you're taking this job as an animal lover (most colleagues are), keep in mind you also have to deal with animals getting sick and dying - it's not all cuddles! Be aware there are early starts most days at 6am - not an issue for me, but may be for others.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff and try and support them

    Pets at Home2019-10-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Store colleague"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Colleague in Dumfries, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work hard get more hours

    Cons

    Lazy co-workers not disciplined

    Advice to Management

    I felt very appreciated for being hard working however felt I had to be hard working because my coworkers were dodging work

    Pets at Home2019-07-31
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Store Colleague 

    I worked at Pets at Home part-time

    Pros

    Staff discount. Getting to know regular customers

    Cons

    Always short staffed. High turnover of colleagues

    Pets at Home2019-07-04
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Colleague in Godalming, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not too much to mention, getting the animals out of the branch is rewarding as they are likely to be treated far better.

    Cons

    Signed up for a 16 hour contract, I work nearly 40 hour weeks nearly every week, sometimes with 0 days off whatsoever. Animals are treated awfully, especially fish. In our branch we have to check the fish tanks for dead ones every 2 HOURS, due to inbreeding problems. During 9 hour shifts, employees are regularly given no breaks. Management are insulting and uncaring to lower ranking employees Pay is regularly below what I am actually owed, and takes a long time to actually be corrected. Many, many more.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Put welfare of animals and employees well before profits.

    Pets at Home2019-06-25
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Becoming an increasingly bad place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Colleague in Brighton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    We often have a laugh at work, sometimes get to work with animals, a lot of training, 20% staff discount. Tiny 20p pay rises for completing certain training.

    Cons

    Company wide ban on full time contracts, extremely low wages for the amount of knowledge required for the job, we're expected to have a wealth of knowledge about almost all domestic animals, trained in nutrition, basic veterinary stuff, and part time school teachers and still only paid minimum wage. Ridiculously un-achievable company targets, bullying emails from higher management piling on the pressure to achieve targets, belittling emails when we don't achieve them. Quite often you have to deal with horrible, self entitled customers with no regard for animal welfare. This job will give you horrible anxieties.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Seriously consider paying staff a higher wage, reintroduce full time contracts and be realistic with company targets, because all these things are taking their toll on everyone's mental health. No one can afford their mortgages / rent / raising families etc on 16 hour contracts on minimum wage.

    Pets at Home2019-04-20
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Not what you might expect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Colleague 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get to work with animals, which presumably you're interested in, care for etc. Staff discount card enabling you and one other person discounts. Discounted veterinary treatment. Company will often back you up if you don't want to sell an animal to a person for any reason. There are occasions where they host workshops to try and raise public awareness of animal care etc.

    Cons

    Average shift only 4 hours long. Contracts of 16 hours will be over three random days etc, making it virtually impossible to earn enough to live, or maintain another job elsewhere. You're told you get your birthday off, but this is just taken out of your holiday allowance. Favouritism is rife, with unlucky people finding themselves continually on less desirable shifts, or being unable to progress regardless of if they have the necessary skills. Management are with very few exceptions all 'cut from the same cloth', and if your face doesn't fit over time, you will know about it. Senior staff do not maintain professional distance from other staff = ideal breeding ground for favouritism etc. Questionable care of animals (Store/person dependant). Rewards system is to be pushed on customers despite it not being that helpful. Senior staff will hassle you about signups and swipes of cards. Very poor work/life balance due to weird hours etc. Horrendous treatment from some customers.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please stop pushing and occasionally shaming staff for not 'achieving' their 'targets' of x number of sign ups/swipes/positive feedback. Much of this is down to chance, and measuring somebody on something largely out of their own personal control is ridiculous and a sure fire way to ensure staff grow to hate their job. Stop favouritism. Give people equal opportunities to progress, do not just pick the ones you have a laugh with the most.

    Show More
    Pets at Home2019-04-23
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Store Colleague - Very Disapointing experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Colleague 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work with the animals and meet puppies

    Cons

    Lack of training and staff.

    Advice to Management

    Training books are useless unless theres a more expereinced colleague helping

    Pets at Home2019-02-26
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Bullying and threats by managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Store Colleague 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Customers to who bring their dogs in . Talking to customers. Working with colleagues.

    Cons

    Bullying of colleagues to flog VIP card. Daily target of swipe rates and sign ups. If you are below target you get put on Performance Management and given A+C 's then formal warnings, etc, then sacked. Gaps on shelves where stock figure incorrect . We have to order items online from website for customers instead. We are on targets for online orders as well. Doing ourselves out of jobs eventually. They have stopped the 6am start to get delivery out on shop floor, now start at 7am. Now doing delivery when shop open trying to serve customers. Pallets full of stock still on shop floor when we open. I can go on . So many things wrong with this company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look after your colleagues. We are the ones who bring the money in for you, so you can have your high salaries. Stop bullying us into high VIP rates so Area Managers can get their bonuses. Stop threatening us with disciplinary action

    Pets at Home2019-03-27
Found 66 reviews