Pets at Home Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Pets at Home Store Manager Reviews

Updated Dec 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
45%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Pets at Home CEO Peter Pritchard  (no image)
Peter Pritchard
9 Ratings
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Birkenhead, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I love my job, work with great people and get to have fun

    Cons

    Opening Boxing Day and NY day

    Pets at Home2019-12-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Quickly becoming an unhappy place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good memorys from when the company used to be an excellent place to work.

    Cons

    Salaried staff are being expected to work more and more hours, and to take up more roles. This is to fill the void of the company wide reduction in hours available for hourly paid staff. It has gone to far now and i can only see it getting worse.

    Advice to Management

    Think how your store managers feel, they are not pawns or numbers. If you agree a contract and role as your initial job, that (within reason) is what you want to do. If you ask way above that point you will get unhappy, stressed and depressed employees. Which will spread through your team! The smart ones who care will leave, then what are you left with?

    Pets at Home2019-07-20
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Putting pets first...... not people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Your instore team Regular customers

    Cons

    Ridiculous hours... often 60hr plus.. Very little support from head office Too many threats and consequences for unrealistic targets Low staff retention - that is frowned upon by head office

    Advice to Management

    I saw far too much bullying from area managers to directors.. didn't impress me at all.. saw too many good people pushed too far

    Pets at Home2019-07-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "A company going to the Dogs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Manchester, England
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Well structured company High performing head office Potential to develop

    Cons

    Payroll spread thinner and thinner Lots of money wasted on stupid investments Some of the KPI’s are just number chasing and add very little value to the business Pet side of the business can be a absolute mine field and is complicated even more every year with unnecessary tasks added that don’t always contribute to improving pet welfare

    Advice to Management

    Opportunities to offer great customer experiences are getting less and less due to task going up and payroll going down, the biggest strides forward the company ever made where when they invested in people, the growth the business slowing down, take this opportunity to grow your talent better

    Pets at Home2019-06-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "No work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager in Wigan, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home

    Pros

    Pets, colleagues, customers, discount, uniform

    Cons

    Constant reduction in colleagues contacts

    Advice to Management

    Spend a day in store to appreciate how difficult it is to balance service and tasks

    Pets at Home2019-05-10
  6. Helpful (5)

    "A Painful Retail Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Time away from the culture.

    Cons

    A very toxic company culture of 'back covering', 'finger pointing', 'terrible communication', 'pointless investigations', 'nepotism', and 'shrouded threats'. An absolutely awful business to work for. I will thankfully very soon be working for Sainsbury.

    Pets at Home2019-02-20
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Well looked after"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time

    Pros

    Great challenge daily,plenty of active working and physical. Good bonus,supportive and lots to learn

    Cons

    Sometimes the amount to learn puts people off as it’s a lot of knowledge to retain

    Pets at Home2018-10-11
  8. "Better than I have ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Bournemouth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, ethos, targets are reasonable, good bonus scheme, very good training, a concerted effort to balance work and personal (although not always successful). Its exciting to see changes happening, generally what they say they will do does happen, very very genuine around pets coming first/everything best for the pet and something is always done about those who fall below standard with pet. To have our regional director address colleagues directly with praise so regularly is very refreshing, its an awesome culture to have such a tangible ability to speak with decision makers. If you roll with the culture and soak up the training you can have a very fulfilling varied work life throughout all levels in the business with a surprising amount of trust and responsibility. I hate working in retail, but i like working at pets at home!

    Show More

    Cons

    Working hours, very long sometimes, stress can get very high and very tough times do crop up. But you can normally look at them as challenges rather than problems

    Advice to Management

    Try and Make the vision happen sooner! We want the theatre in store’s too! Please pay our assistant managers more, they work really really hard for us and when we lose them it can completely throw a store for a long time! We all know money is tight, but they are worth every penny!! Our colleague’s are often closer to the assistant managers and they need them too!

    Pets at Home2018-08-27
  9. "A truly great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great team ethic in stores with the same goal to put all pets first

    Cons

    It’s tough work sometimes but equally rewarding

    Pets at Home2018-08-18
  10. Helpful (6)

    "management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good working conditions initially,benefits good for store manager, less for lower end management and store team.work life balance ok but changing recently.

    Cons

    business in a period of adjustment following recent retail changes, very uncertain as too which way this is going to go. Share price a reflection of this. Groom room a fake entity and salon managers not skilled enough too manage but salaried higher than they should besenior management not to be trusted as all worried for their jobs

    Advice to Management

    Sales background a preferred to a ertail background, prepare too loose and control over your team as colleagues have masses of power over you

    Pets at Home2018-08-06
Found 18 reviews