Pets at Home "animals" Reviews | Glassdoor

Pets at Home Employee Reviews about "animals"

Updated Nov 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
46%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Pets at Home CEO Peter Pritchard  (no image)
Peter Pritchard
91 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Smelling like Animals takes a while to wash off(in 59 reviews)

  • "Seems like anyone above store manager level is hiding away (area managers - what is going on(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "animals"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Love it!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Pets at Home part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with animals is such good therapy

    Cons

    Smelling like Animals takes a while to wash off

    Pets at Home2019-06-21
  2. "Loved working with the animals... it's a shame about the management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Colleague in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was great working with the animals and caring for them. Fellow colleagues are all lovely. Generally nice customers as most are going to be animal lovers, but it's still retail so you get bad ones.

    Cons

    Don't expect support from management. My experience (and that of fellow colleagues) was that the management were just power hungry. There is the customer loyalty scheme (VIP Cards) and you will have to meet the same targets for these (regardless if you work less time than others, or are working the stock in the morning before the shop even opens?!) You will be kept in at the managers discretion for multiple... extra hours each week (at no pay) and are expected to do lots of extra paperwork on your own time. If you're taking this job as an animal lover (most colleagues are), keep in mind you also have to deal with animals getting sick and dying - it's not all cuddles! Be aware there are early starts most days at 6am - not an issue for me, but may be for others.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff and try and support them

    Pets at Home2019-10-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Worst company i have ever worked for!!! (read this if considering applying)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    speaking with regular customers (when you have the time from being at the till for 8 hours) 2 hours every sunday, cleaning the animal cages. lots of books around which they let you read on quiet days at the till for 8 hours. Dog groomers are lovely people.

    Cons

    Where to start.... - "Managers" only care about managers, and will use vile language to try to "bond" with you, even if you're not that type of person. The most sexiest comments ive ever dealth with. They had already bullyed someone into leaving when i got there. They tried to bully me, i left before they had a chance. - Managers are the worst thing about the job, and i saw this in other stores too. No support... given, they simply didnt care for anyones mental health, even their own. They would take 2 hr breaks and put anyone on till for the whole shift, even on very slow quiet days. they would constantly complain about one another out loud. - You have to sign people up to the VIP scheme on a daily basis (even though most people have a vip membership and are regular customers) i found it very hard to sell useless things such as; collar and chip for lost dogs. doesnt tell you where they are but alerts other vip members in the area to keep a eye out.....................useless. another vip scheme. everyone was faking it. I got the least amount of sign ups every day, partly because i was part time and they don't take that into consideration, and also everyone was swiping the forms and throwing them away. Management knew of this and still took it upon themselves to mark me down. i even mentioned everyone was faking the swipes and throwing the forms away so it still counts but was told by management to "just deal with it. our bonus' are resting on this".... - poor animal hygene. Dirt that was at the bottom of the cages couldnt even be scraped off, it's been there that long. we teach people not to keep too many fish in one cage, but practise it ourselves. One dead every ten mins. Cant handle any of the animals, as they are not used to it. We have to then pretend to customers they are friendly animals. - Pay is poor for the work you do, and the extra hours (unpaid) to clean up after customers. - i was left to teach myself about animal care and the products as no one cared to teach me and when customers needed advice, no manager was around to help out. - Still selling slip leads and then bragging about charity donations. - Laughable turnover of staff. How is this company still going

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Rethink the VIP scheme. Please. We don't have to lie to make money. we have some brilliant products which sell themselves. Get rid of the yearly bonus so no one feels bitter if you havent signed up enough people. Get rid of the negative points given if you dont make enough sales, negative reinforcement doesnt work. It's not a healthy mode of work. Split time of tills evenly so we can talk to customers and build... positive long lasting relationships and regular customers who actually want to come in and speak to us. Get out of the cliques you've made and respect everyone. Bullying should not be tolerated anywhere. Take some time getting to know new staff and support them correctly. managment needs more overseeing. a lot needs to be monitored

    Show More
    Pets at Home2019-11-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Worse then prison"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redhill, South West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None whatsoever, the worse management team I’ve worked under. You will save money on food as you won’t have any breaks.

    Cons

    Absolutely the worse job you could have. Area management team set absolutely impossible targets. You will be forever short staffed. The training is rubbish. You’ll be dealing with sick animals all the time as they are all overbred. The delivery is chucked in a large crate without packaging to make it ten times harder then it’s needs to be. You’ll need to check fish every 15 mins as they die so often due to... being over stocked and dirty. You’ll be expected to try and swipe a vip card 60% of the time, just select vip card and then press cancel and you get 100% every time!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get more staff, you can’t get any less there’s only two of us!

    Pets at Home2019-10-26
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to work but could be so much better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Colleague in Blyth, North East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Team spirit is WAY better than anywhere else I've experienced. So much so that colleagues who are ill or have been given Dr's notes often come into work when they shouldn't, as they do not want to leave their colleagues short. - Customers are generally more cheerful than your average retail customer - In our store we put a lot of effort into making sure the animals are well looked after (not every store does... this, from what I've seen) - Opportunity for progression if you have the right work ethic

    Show More

    Cons

    - Staff levels are so far short of what is required it's a running joke in every store. Staff can often be seen running from one end of the store to the other in order to get to a customer who has been waiting for some time. Customers often comment on how helpful the staff are, and how much better the store would be if there were more of us available so that we could actually serve each customer properly - Massive... amounts of training are required (rightfully so) but there is zero time to address this so it either doesn't get done or colleagues are expected to do it at home in their own time. - As I mentioned earlier, not every store prioritises animals care as much as they should - Social media marketing is acknowledged as being very important, however is not taken into account when stores are allocated their workforce budget. - Customers tend expect a certain level of knowledge that is not realistic for a job that is essentially minimum wage

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Whilst I understand that it is unrealistic to offer stores huge numbers of staff, I also feel it is unrealistic for a profitable company to expect colleagues to permanently go above and beyond, regularly starting early, staying late and working through break time. The company seems to recognise that if we spend more time speaking to customers, we offer a better service and subsequently make more money... however at... the moment this is put into practice by taking colleagues away from other important jobs.

    Show More
    Pets at Home2019-09-06
  6. Helpful (11)

    "Could have been amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overall good teams in all stores I've worked in. If you like animals you will have a mutual bond. When you have the time to do your job properly offering customers good honest pet advice is rewarding

    Cons

    Have worked in this company for a long time but the last year has seen the company spiral lower and lower. I understand the financial pressures but PAH have axed hours across the boards yet increased targets to beyond reasonable expectations. Just as you near a target the goal posts are moved. People think of this job as 'i get to work with animals' but more and more each day it's just becoming another souless... corporate organisation more interested in profit than their people or their pets. Prime example: An email comes around trying to promote mental health week, a week later they tell us that we are going to be open boxing day and news years day. (previously, the company have stated that they want to give colleagues these important days to spend with their families. Also Christmas and the festive period is a horrendous time for s new pet due to stress, noise, excited kids etc). But nope, 2019 pets at home will open as those things are not more important than profit anymore. Proof of the fake values they advertise compared to the real lack of caring about colleagues can be seen on this very page. Every reply to a negative review is virtually identical. No care has gone into it, it's come off a template. They say get in touch to make them selves look good but leave no email or contact or anything. They honestly dont care anymore, which is a real shame. At one point the people were looked after. But they've done too much, too fast and now the company is chasing their tail. , They haven't got time to worry about colleagues. (obviously this review will have a better reply if they've bothered reading this far, but check out all the others, you will see what I mean). I am VERY experienced in retail and understand the I dustry inside out. But I have never worked somewhere so stressful. The job load increases monthly (despite poor judjments from people who have never worked in store to try and reduce workload). Trying to run a busy store on the most pathetic payroll possible is so stressful. And when you don't achieve the impossible higher management employs bully tactics and threats. The company has lost focus. Every couple of months a new incentive is rolled out. It never works. The idea and concept is flawed from the beginning. You are not given the proper training, the pathetic IT that PAH uses is riddled in bugs and will take about s year's worth of updates before they get it right. Heavy targets are slapped on it straight out the box and most important customers are NOT interested. Listen to store feedback and there is only one thing customers tell you... OUR PRICES ARE TOO HIGH. I hear it 20 times a day, no exaggeration. We feed it rack constantly and nothing. We are the biggest pet retailer in the UK, it is embarrassing that I can get the same product cheaper in a supermarket, even when using my discount. How can we honestly recommend this to customers? If our company went under tomorrow it would do absolutely no harm to my pets, and this is dreadful. If I were to tell customers the actual cost price of our products, and the horrendous mark ups we put on stuff they would never come back. And I wouldn't blame them. Nothing will change though. The company is unwilling to adapt, they would rather just keep rolling out pointless incentives that are really not needed. I hate writing this review because at one time we were on to something. But Peter Pritchard should step down as CEO, because he is running the business into the floor. We have a nearly recession proof industry and yet we are in this dire situation. My HONEST advice to anybody still reading this, and advice that is not jaded by my disappointment with the company is as follows: There are worse retail jobs out there, I understand that. At first you will find it refreshing. But unfortunately you have missed your opportunity to join a class leading buisness. You will now be joining a run of the mill corporate firm that differs only slightly from the likes of others. Once the honey moon period ends you will be left frustrated at how badly this company is lead, and you like me will envision what could have been. The intelligent and promising staff are leaving, they can see the bigger picture. Don't board a sinking ship.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Streamline. Save money by cutting out the pointless job roles in the buisness, the rediculous new incentives, the money making flops. Instead give that money back to stores, give us the power to set our colleagues free to offer truly great service, the ONLY thing that sets us apart from online retailers. (by the way, firstly in today's climate customers care more about value than anything else, and with the... amount of anxiety around most people would actually prefer to just shop online and not have to talk to every colleague during their shopping trip.) Strip away the failed ideas, go back to basics and really empower us to do our bit. Ease up on KPIs and instead let the sales and customers be your indicator. Let the colleagues in the store decide more, take away the ageing area managers who have grown so despondent and dissinterestdd in their roles and inject some new life into the areas. Price war more and actually make pets at home a tempting offer to all customers, not just the socially elite. OR, ignore all advice from colleagues as you have done for the last few years and watch the business slowly fizzle out of the minds of the public until a few years down the line when we announce that we have gone into administration. Because believe me everybody, from an insider, that's the way it's going. Shame. This review can get two stars because I've actually avoided killing myself whilst working here. Just.

    Show More
    Pets at Home2019-08-05
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Gone downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pet Care Advisor in Stockport, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Lots to learn - Used to be one of the best places to work in terms of how they looked after their staff however that has changed

    Cons

    - Too much pressure and responsibility - Poor management - Nowhere near enough money for the job you’re expected to do - Seems to attract a lot of colleagues that will talk behind your back - Absence policy is ludicrous now, no care for staff who are suffering just penalties. - The business has moved completely from caring about animals to making money.

    Advice to Management

    Do not take your stress out on your staff, if you think someone might not be well look after them and address their problems instead of putting them through even worse situations

    Pets at Home2019-08-11
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Colleague in Godalming, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not too much to mention, getting the animals out of the branch is rewarding as they are likely to be treated far better.

    Cons

    Signed up for a 16 hour contract, I work nearly 40 hour weeks nearly every week, sometimes with 0 days off whatsoever. Animals are treated awfully, especially fish. In our branch we have to check the fish tanks for dead ones every 2 HOURS, due to inbreeding problems. During 9 hour shifts, employees are regularly given no breaks. Management are insulting and uncaring to lower ranking employees Pay is... regularly below what I am actually owed, and takes a long time to actually be corrected. Many, many more.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Put welfare of animals and employees well before profits.

    Pets at Home2019-06-25
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Becoming an increasingly bad place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Colleague in Brighton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    We often have a laugh at work, sometimes get to work with animals, a lot of training, 20% staff discount. Tiny 20p pay rises for completing certain training.

    Cons

    Company wide ban on full time contracts, extremely low wages for the amount of knowledge required for the job, we're expected to have a wealth of knowledge about almost all domestic animals, trained in nutrition, basic veterinary stuff, and part time school teachers and still only paid minimum wage. Ridiculously un-achievable company targets, bullying emails from higher management piling on the pressure to achieve... targets, belittling emails when we don't achieve them. Quite often you have to deal with horrible, self entitled customers with no regard for animal welfare. This job will give you horrible anxieties.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Seriously consider paying staff a higher wage, reintroduce full time contracts and be realistic with company targets, because all these things are taking their toll on everyone's mental health. No one can afford their mortgages / rent / raising families etc on 16 hour contracts on minimum wage.

    Pets at Home2019-04-20
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Not what you might expect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Colleague 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get to work with animals, which presumably you're interested in, care for etc. Staff discount card enabling you and one other person discounts. Discounted veterinary treatment. Company will often back you up if you don't want to sell an animal to a person for any reason. There are occasions where they host workshops to try and raise public awareness of animal care etc.

    Cons

    Average shift only 4 hours long. Contracts of 16 hours will be over three random days etc, making it virtually impossible to earn enough to live, or maintain another job elsewhere. You're told you get your birthday off, but this is just taken out of your holiday allowance. Favouritism is rife, with unlucky people finding themselves continually on less desirable shifts, or being unable to progress regardless... of if they have the necessary skills. Management are with very few exceptions all 'cut from the same cloth', and if your face doesn't fit over time, you will know about it. Senior staff do not maintain professional distance from other staff = ideal breeding ground for favouritism etc. Questionable care of animals (Store/person dependant). Rewards system is to be pushed on customers despite it not being that helpful. Senior staff will hassle you about signups and swipes of cards. Very poor work/life balance due to weird hours etc. Horrendous treatment from some customers.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please stop pushing and occasionally shaming staff for not 'achieving' their 'targets' of x number of sign ups/swipes/positive feedback. Much of this is down to chance, and measuring somebody on something largely out of their own personal control is ridiculous and a sure fire way to ensure staff grow to hate their job. Stop favouritism. Give people equal opportunities to progress, do not just pick the ones you... have a laugh with the most.

    Show More
    Pets at Home2019-04-23
Found 59 reviews