Pfizer Senior Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Pfizer Senior Director Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 35 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Pfizer CEO Ian Read
Ian Read
17 Ratings
  1. "Pretty amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pfizer full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Passionate and smart people working towards a common cause - to bring medicines to patients that need them. As long as you're bringing your best to the work, given a lot of flexibility to work from home, and work your own hours.

    Cons

    Common issues with very large corporations - sometimes difficult to get things done and sometimes workplace politics get out of hand.

    Pfizer2019-05-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "The best place to live Corporate Culture and Diversity focused on improving people’s life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Senior Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pfizer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    -Strong Corporate Culture - Living values towards patients better life - Clear Vision and Mission aligned with strategic objectives

    Cons

    - Decision Making not always fast - Lost of strategic focus due to changes

    Advice to Management

    Strengthen Change Management processes.

    Pfizer2019-02-19
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Senior sales director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Director in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pfizer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Financial stable, fun parts and employees to work with, challenging and ever changing

    Cons

    Culture micro driven on activity only. Turnover performance high pressure. Lack of Stock , options. Stock options. Profit sharing and no pension

    Advice to Management

    Challenging as very political and many advancement are not made on merit but rather likeness.

    Pfizer2018-06-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "PFEin Manhattan is an outstanding place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director Marketing in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pfizer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Sophisticated. Extra-ordinary benefits and pay. Top notch employees. Bring your a game- big league pitching.

    Cons

    Lost a lot of its employee-family feel and loyalty.

    Advice to Management

    Move to more remote working.

    Pfizer2017-07-11
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Great company - 14 years working with some very smart people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pfizer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I spent 14 years at Pfizer (even though I didn't think I would be there that long), and here are the things I really liked: - very smart people, some of the best I've met in the industry; very committed to bringing cures to market - a global footprint that helps you understand how one makes and sells medicines across the world (so some very strong global exposure) - great benefits and recognition of the need for work-life...

    Show More

    Cons

    - lots of reorganization; we restructured almost every year from the mid-2000s onwards. Sometimes it was needed but it was also disruptive at other times. Not sure there's a way to avoid it given Wall Street pressures - large company politics, which one will see in any large pharma. By and large, it worked out ok for me, but it may not be a place for someone who cannot maneuver in such an environment - commuting into...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I don't think Ian Read and his LT need my advice!

    Pfizer2017-05-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pfizer

    Pros

    Large company with assets available

    Cons

    Naval gazing leadership, people are on edge and feel at the mercy of sheltered executive leadership. A lot of closed door meetings, and they have outside agencies trying to hire contract labor for less so they can cut more jobs . Like their stock, this is a sell situation.

    Advice to Management

    Downsizing highly educated opinion leaders and scientist employees in almost all major science hubs probably not the best public relations strategy. Your reverse merger is probably the least patriotic thing I've seen from Pharma in years.

    Pfizer2017-05-30
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in New London, CT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pfizer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Smart people. Important mission. Facing challenging circumstances and an industry in transition. Well positioned to continue as the industry leader.

    Cons

    Industry challenges, pricing pressures and negative public perception combined with continuous rounds of layoffs have adversely affected morale and culture.

    Pfizer2016-05-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Director of Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pfizer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Work life balance. Good teams across the company.

    Cons

    Management is more interested in meetings than in getting actual results.

    Advice to Management

    Results will be delivered when you start hiring employees who actually want to do work.

    Pfizer2016-01-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Weak Leadersip"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pfizer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salaries, lots of very smart people, good benefits

    Cons

    Weak Leadership. Top leaders are great at buying other companies or their drugs, but there is no culture strong leadership down through the ranks. Most people who reman in power positions are good politicians, not good managers.

    Advice to Management

    Replace politicians with strong leaders/managers who can act as role models and bring out the best in their people.

    Pfizer2015-12-07
  10. Helpful (2)

    "questionable ethics and cut throat management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Pfizer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart people on the research and product side, global organization

    Cons

    Arrogant, uses its size to bully vendors, employees are just pawns

    Advice to Management

    Try getting to know what is really going on. Get out of the ivory tower every now and then.

    Pfizer2015-11-17
Found 35 reviews