Phaidon International Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Phaidon International Consultant Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 105 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Phaidon International CEO Harry Youtan (no image)
Harry Youtan
69 Ratings
  1. "Tons of growth and working with the top end of the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Immediate exposure to key clients and candidates. I get to work with some of the most prestigious banks and financial firms in the world interacting with typically VP or director level and above. Work environment is amazing - free coffee, breakfast options multiple times a week, beverages during the week and beer/wine on Fridays. Several sales incentives going on and the team participates in Philanthropic events... at least once every 2 months.

    Show More

    Cons

    Work can be difficult. Since it’s a longer sales cycle you don’t get your first yes 1 week into the position. With persistence and targeted effort you’re able to overcome this hurdle. No options to work remote until more senior in company (about 2 years of tenure)

    Advice to Management

    Keep making yourself available. Love the hands on training and appreciate you sharing your vision.

    Phaidon International2019-10-14
  2. "A company full of lies, broken promises, and little-to-no support for developing employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited Commission (this is done because they offer a joke of a base salary | also done because the commission % is extremely low and you will likely make litle to no money from a single deal) Great benefits package, though this WILL go away as the company grows. Their current coverage is not maintainable with the number of employees they are looking to hire

    Cons

    1) Horrible work hours. You will work 60+ hours and be encouraged to work through lunch, come in before work, stay late after work, and come in on weekends (you will have no life outside Phaidon) 2) "Incentives" for this company are 95%+ alcohol related and are unrealistic for most new highers who are too broke to buy booze at a bar 3) Your greatest competition is not from other agencies but from your "coworkers"... from other offices who regularly steal your business & opportunity to make money 4) Managers/"leaders" are regularly gone on vacation, and not engaged with employees 5) Managers only utilize 1 style of management and if you don't fit their model, you are excluded and given stricter responsbilities 6) Your "KPIs" are ALWAYS CHANGING, more work is dumped on your lap weekly and nothing is ever taken off 7) Unnecessary dress-code: though meeting with clients and candidates is highly encouraged, they rarely take place so having a business professional attire requirement is absurd in today's environment when leading companies do not require anywhere near the level of attire Phaidon does. 8) managers will obnoxiously berate and pressure you to never miss work, despite doctors appointments or being sick. They will peer pressure you into being at work as much as possible and have no remorse for emergencies situations / vacations / being sick

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop telling new hires lies about current employees sales Learn how to actually manage, if your employees are asking for help for over a year and improvements to the team are minimal... it is likely the manager who is under-qualified / has no idea what they're doing and not the employees Create incentives that are not related to alcohol and actually allow your employees to relax

    Phaidon International2019-10-01
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant 

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time

    Pros

    Quick process Great environment Very helpful

    Cons

    No cons at the moment

    Phaidon International2019-07-01
  4. "Good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    exceptional growth good training ground good commission structure benefits are great team environment, but competitive performance culture

    Cons

    base was VERY low at the time for nyc markets, i've heard it's since gotten better. high turnover rate when I was around, largely due to PE investment / low salaries

    Phaidon International2019-06-18
  5. "Amazing Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time

    Pros

    making 6 figures in your first year, fast promotions, people are amazing

    Cons

    its a grind but you can do so well if you have the potential

    Advice to Management

    keep it up and invest in who is there to lead

    Phaidon International2019-03-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Lovely people and great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love working here. The people are great (shoutout to Glocomms!!) and there is extremely good opportunity to make a success of yourself here. Recruiting is not that straightforward and takes great social skills so that means everyone in the office is fun and friendly. It's a great team culture and you get these $30-40K paychecks from time to time which is really awesome :) We are growing as a business and it really... feels like we're making it big here. I would recommend working here to anyone with a friendly face and positive mindset if you want to have the chance to make a success of yourself.

    Show More

    Cons

    No concerns or cons :)

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing it :)

    Phaidon International2019-02-26
  7. "Competitive Culture and Great Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Work Hard / Play Hard Culture - Days can get stressful but being friends with co-workers makes it easy - Ability to build your own business - Opportunities to make great money and progress quickly

    Cons

    (All have to be expected to succeed in a sales environment) - Long hours - Results driven - Be prepared to have your numbers compared and critiqued - You won't make crazy money in the early stages - It takes time to build your practice - No 401k but it's in the works

    Advice to Management

    Invest in those that invest in you!

    Phaidon International2019-02-22
  8. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been working here for 2 years and can honestly say its been an awesome experience so far. I knew nothing about recruitment before I started but had worked in a couple of sales roles in the past, I really like the culture and feel like I can build a career here. I'm confused about some of the negative reviews around culture as most people in my training class are still with the business, enjoy it and have done... well and I personally find it challenging but rewarding. They gave me plenty of time and support to get up and running even though it took me 4 months to do my first deal and then I had an up and down first year. After a lot of support from my manager things really clicked in the second year and I was one of the top billers in the business and earned over $140k that year. I'm now looking at progressing into a leadership role which is an amazing opportunity after just two years in the business.

    Show More

    Cons

    It's hard work, this isn't a normal job or a 9-5. but I have learned so much since joining and if you want to earn 150k a year before you're 25 - you can't do that without working hard. Sometimes KPIs are pushed very hard which take some of the fun out of the day to day. The growth they are trying to achieve (and are achieving) is great, however, that means that some things are not where they should be, the IT... systems are not great, the office is super packed in until we move to a new one and general growing pains. Sometimes people are pushed into management when they are not ready or not given the tools to step up prior to moving into that role.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in the infrastructure of the business as well as the headcount. Don't step out of the weeds of the business as we grow, you are the ones who built this and we need the help and advice to continue it Invest in more management training for people that want to step up and have a better system for identifying who those people should be.

    Phaidon International2019-02-22
  9. "Great people to work with, but stressful work environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, good opportunity to make commission and gain experience in a corporate setting.

    Cons

    Long work days, stressful work environment, a lot of turnover.

    Phaidon International2019-03-05
  10. "Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunities for young professionals. Very good financial benefits. Once in the company, they have a great set up of support staff to assist/mentor employees

    Cons

    Can be very difficult, as with all other recruitment firms. Can be intimidating

    Phaidon International2019-01-10
Found 105 reviews