Phaidon International Recruiter Reviews | Glassdoor

Phaidon International Recruiter Reviews

Updated Oct 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Phaidon International CEO Harry Youtan (no image)
Harry Youtan
51 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in New York, NY

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    Very hard work no life outside of it

    Phaidon International2019-07-25

    Phaidon International Response

    August 2, 2019HR Business Partner

    Thank you for your feedback - we are glad that you enjoyed your time at Phaidon. As you probably know, we experienced hyper-growth in our 15 years, and developing a growth culture requires hard work and time. We pride ourselves in ensuring we deliver quickly to our clients' needs, which means we've built a business based on KPIs and deliverables. We recognize that this does lead sometimes to a high-pressure environment and can involve long hours. As our growth journey continues, we acknowledge we have some work to do around work-life balance. We are confident in the strides we are making. As we continue to drive a supportive and positive company culture, we appreciate your feedback that work is still required

    Show Less
  2. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Environment to be at

    Cons

    Long hours of work per day

    Phaidon International2019-09-20
  3. "A company full of lies, broken promises, and little-to-no support for developing employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited Commission (this is done because they offer a joke of a base salary | also done because the commission % is extremely low and you will likely make litle to no money from a single deal) Great benefits package, though this WILL go away as the company grows. Their current coverage is not maintainable with the number of employees they are looking to hire

    Cons

    1) Horrible work hours. You will work 60+ hours and be encouraged to work through lunch, come in before work, stay late after work, and come in on weekends (you will have no life outside Phaidon) 2) "Incentives" for this company are 95%+ alcohol related and are unrealistic for most new highers who are too broke to buy booze at a bar 3) Your greatest competition is not from other agencies but from your "coworkers"... from other offices who regularly steal your business & opportunity to make money 4) Managers/"leaders" are regularly gone on vacation, and not engaged with employees 5) Managers only utilize 1 style of management and if you don't fit their model, you are excluded and given stricter responsbilities 6) Your "KPIs" are ALWAYS CHANGING, more work is dumped on your lap weekly and nothing is ever taken off 7) Unnecessary dress-code: though meeting with clients and candidates is highly encouraged, they rarely take place so having a business professional attire requirement is absurd in today's environment when leading companies do not require anywhere near the level of attire Phaidon does. 8) managers will obnoxiously berate and pressure you to never miss work, despite doctors appointments or being sick. They will peer pressure you into being at work as much as possible and have no remorse for emergencies situations / vacations / being sick

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop telling new hires lies about current employees sales Learn how to actually manage, if your employees are asking for help for over a year and improvements to the team are minimal... it is likely the manager who is under-qualified / has no idea what they're doing and not the employees Create incentives that are not related to alcohol and actually allow your employees to relax

    Phaidon International2019-10-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant 

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time

    Pros

    Quick process Great environment Very helpful

    Cons

    No cons at the moment

    Phaidon International2019-07-01
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Red Flags Everywhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Healthcare, 401k was just launched, most employees are very nice people.

    Cons

    First, let’s take a look at all the 5 star reviews which are at most 2 lines long, very brief, and similarly worded. That alone is a sign there is someone posting quick positive reviews to bump up the overall score of this company. Without them I can guarantee this company would be a solid 2. Two, with the entry level salary be ready to have another means of income. Your pay stub will barely cover NYC rent, let... alone food, transportation, etc. The ads promise 60-70k income but that is with commission structure after you’ve rung deals, trained and learned the industry, which can take SEVERAL months so be ready to live penny to penny those few months (or more depending on your luck to place candidates). Considering another job to make ends meet? Don’t. The hours are 8:30-6:30 (and longer) so good luck even attempting to find a second income let alone finding time to enjoy personal life. Third, the company benefit “happy hours”, “vacations”, “Rolex’s”, are all narrowed down to a very few people. Happy hours are only for those who targeted their KPI’s and Cv’s. Then you will be rewarded with 2 drinks at the local dive bar. Yay. Vacations are for top billers only, there’s a top rookie spot but only 1 or 2 so good luck getting that. Rolex is awarded to the 1 top biller only once a year. Yet the position markets these things as they’re available to everyone. They’re not. Let’s be realistic. HR was terrible when I started. The lady rushed me off and was impatient and rude with me during my on-boarding when I first started which I could somewhat understand because she was working on other things for the company as well at the time. There is a real HR team now dedicated just to HR so that’s a plus. Inappropriate behavior in the office is a major con and reason for many people leaving. There’s a significant amount of employees that are not shy to drugs. Even the first HR was known to have things in the office. Once again, glad we have a new HR team. Now it makes sense why drugs weren’t so regulated in the office environment and events. Females may make up “42%” of the office or company or whatever but that doesn’t mean that the men aren’t touchy, aggressive, and sexual towards you. Many females have complained to me about how they were targeted drunkenly at an incentive lunch or Thursday drinks. Doesn’t matter how “inclusive and diverse” the company is when there is no knowledge of what sexual harassment and what is/isn’t okay. The fact men look at new hired females like hyenas look at fresh leftovers is not a great culture. Lawsuits waiting to happen. All managers may be “deserving” of their position but manager positions are picked by performance. Just because an employee has high performance and is billing well, does not mean they’re cut out to manage a team. Management is an art in itself, being a good recruiter does not forecast someone being a good manager.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your college life is over, the office is not a second round. Treat your job professionally. You set example to your peers. Stop sleeping with the other coworkers and doing drugs. That only sets example that it’s okay for others to do it and fosters this toxic environment.

    Phaidon International2019-07-27

    Phaidon International Response

    August 2, 2019HR Business Partner

    We are sorry to hear that you have not had as positive an experience as we would have liked. Our goal is to create a comfortable, transparent and meritocratic environment which enables employees to achieve success. We have a range of initiatives to incentivize our employees as we believe in meritocracy. As we have matured as a business, we have worked hard on creating a culture of inclusion and respect, where everyone can build a successful career regardless of gender. We have a zero-tolerance approach to drug use and sexual misconduct, it is important that instances of misconduct are raised through the correct channels in order for us to deal with them appropriately - we therefore strongly encourage you to contact the local HR team to speak to them confidentially on such matters. Please contact HR.US@phaidoninternational.com and we can discuss further. Thank you for your feedback.

    Show Less
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruiter in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Unlimited earning potential if you are ready to work for it. - Great culture. - Solid leadership - Weekly drinks on the company, monthly corporate outings, etc.

    Cons

    - Steep learning curve at the beginning

    Phaidon International2019-04-09
  7. Helpful (15)

    "Terrible Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the people are tolerable

    Cons

    Awful hours that they justify by saying it is "work hard, play hard". Churn and burn environment that does not care about your career, only their bottom line. They do not even pay minimum wage as it is being raised in NYC until the last second so they won't be fined/sued. Agency recruiting can be great- just not here.

    Advice to Management

    Stop removing negative reviews off your Glassdoor page.

    Phaidon International2019-04-22
  8. Helpful (11)

    "I would stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Recruiter 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You work with people your age who tend to be very helpful and friendly. Since you work so much, you will become very good friends

    Cons

    very very long hours are told to come in early and stay late yet you already work 8:30-6 everyday You are scolded if showing up even a minute late, sometimes even if you are 3 minutes before 8:30, you still get remarks as to cutting it close and should be showing up early Are "very strongly" encouraged to eat at your desk Some managers have no business being a manager (lack training and leadership... qualities) Extreme low base salary very macho work culture a lot of internal competition

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your employees, stop selling the position for something its not There is a reason your turnover rate is so high

    Phaidon International2019-03-22
  9. "Great people to work with, but stressful work environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, good opportunity to make commission and gain experience in a corporate setting.

    Cons

    Long work days, stressful work environment, a lot of turnover.

    Phaidon International2019-03-05
  10. "Hard work but can be worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Money, culture, growth potential, people

    Cons

    High-stress environment, 24/7 job, extremely high expectation, low base salaries, cliquey

    Advice to Management

    More open and honest advice to employees especially when you see them getting burnt out

    Phaidon International2019-02-06
Found 80 reviews