Phaidon International Reviews | Glassdoor

Phaidon International Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 223 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Phaidon International CEO Harry Youtan (no image)
Harry Youtan
141 Ratings
Pros
  • "The Commission Structure is right at the top end of the Recruitment industry, if you work hard, you can make life-changing amounts of money(in 23 reviews)

  • "Working at Phaidon has brought me to reimagine my potential(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours- standard in the sector(in 48 reviews)

  • "Standard base salary for a recruiting position (where you will make the majority of your money will be through commission)(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in New York, NY

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    Very hard work no life outside of it

    Phaidon International2019-07-25

    Phaidon International Response

    August 2, 2019HR Business Partner

    Thank you for your feedback - we are glad that you enjoyed your time at Phaidon. As you probably know, we experienced hyper-growth in our 15 years, and developing a growth culture requires hard work and time. We pride ourselves in ensuring we deliver quickly to our clients' needs, ...

    Show More
  2. "Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant 

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time

    Pros

    Quick process Great environment Very helpful

    Cons

    No cons at the moment

    Phaidon International2019-07-01
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Red Flags Everywhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Healthcare, 401k was just launched, most employees are very nice people.

    Cons

    First, let’s take a look at all the 5 star reviews which are at most 2 lines long, very brief, and similarly worded. That alone is a sign there is someone posting quick positive reviews to bump up the overall score of this company. Without them I can guarantee this company would be a solid 2. Two, with the entry level salary be ready to have another means of income. Your pay stub will barely cover NYC rent, let... alone food, transportation, etc. The ads promise 60-70k income but that is with commission structure after you’ve rung deals, trained and learned the industry, which can take SEVERAL months so be ready to live penny to penny those few months (or more depending on your luck to place candidates). Considering another job to make ends meet? Don’t. The hours are 8:30-6:30 (and longer) so good luck even attempting to find a second income let alone finding time to enjoy personal life. Third, the company benefit “happy hours”, “vacations”, “Rolex’s”, are all narrowed down to a very few people. Happy hours are only for those who targeted their KPI’s and Cv’s. Then you will be rewarded with 2 drinks at the local dive bar. Yay. Vacations are for top billers only, there’s a top rookie spot but only 1 or 2 so good luck getting that. Rolex is awarded to the 1 top biller only once a year. Yet the position markets these things as they’re available to everyone. They’re not. Let’s be realistic. HR was terrible when I started. The lady rushed me off and was impatient and rude with me during my on-boarding when I first started which I could somewhat understand because she was working on other things for the company as well at the time. There is a real HR team now dedicated just to HR so that’s a plus. Inappropriate behavior in the office is a major con and reason for many people leaving. There’s a significant amount of employees that are not shy to drugs. Even the first HR was known to have things in the office. Once again, glad we have a new HR team. Now it makes sense why drugs weren’t so regulated in the office environment and events. Females may make up “42%” of the office or company or whatever but that doesn’t mean that the men aren’t touchy, aggressive, and sexual towards you. Many females have complained to me about how they were targeted drunkenly at an incentive lunch or Thursday drinks. Doesn’t matter how “inclusive and diverse” the company is when there is no knowledge of what sexual harassment and what is/isn’t okay. The fact men look at new hired females like hyenas look at fresh leftovers is not a great culture. Lawsuits waiting to happen. All managers may be “deserving” of their position but manager positions are picked by performance. Just because an employee has high performance and is billing well, does not mean they’re cut out to manage a team. Management is an art in itself, being a good recruiter does not forecast someone being a good manager.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your college life is over, the office is not a second round. Treat your job professionally. You set example to your peers. Stop sleeping with the other coworkers and doing drugs. That only sets example that it’s okay for others to do it and fosters this toxic environment.

    Phaidon International2019-07-27

    Phaidon International Response

    August 2, 2019HR Business Partner

    We are sorry to hear that you have not had as positive an experience as we would have liked. Our goal is to create a comfortable, transparent and meritocratic environment which enables employees to achieve success. We have a range of initiatives to incentivize our employees as we ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (1)

    "A Company You Care About"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been working at Phaidon for a year now and having left my previous employer after 10 years, I've learned more under the roof of PI than in a decade+ with my prior company. It's ambitious, challenging, opportunistic, and has a meritocratic environment that's tough not to love. It cares about you being a part of it, so it repays the favor. Very thankful to have taken the leap of faith into a new company and... career and it wouldn't have been right if not for Phaidon.

    Show More

    Cons

    Communication can be a challenge. It's a global company, expanding fast and applauding the creativity so time zones and geography can cause a limited time to collaborate and because it employs intelligent people who care about those things the same, you can have a lot of ideas coming from a lot of different areas. It's going through a lot of the fun nuances involved with a fast-growing company so been fun to watch... the transition.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keeping a strong focus on the current employees & up and coming managers is equally as important as the new employees joining.

    Phaidon International2019-06-13
  5. Helpful (13)

    "Don't do it.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time

    Pros

    There is NOT a single thing to report.

    Cons

    This place is a scam, literally. They treat their employees very badly. Everyone is sleeping with everyone. No actions are being taken towards people who are doing things illegally. (drugs in bathrooms). They push you to drink, and if you do not, you are not "cool". you cannot trust anyone at all. Everyone tells each other everything. They only favor the British people in the office, and the ones who are making... money. None of the managers are well trained - they are literally 25-28. They have no idea how to manage, but have teams of 6-8. Don't get hung up by the PTO, trips, incentives - ITS A SCAM. So many law suits are happening, the men are favored over women, which has made the women very uncomfortable. I've never worked at a company of such. No one values the employees, full of sex scandals, directors sleeping with juniors (LITERALLY), writing fake glassdoor reviews (I'VE WITNESSED IT). This company is NOT good for your mental health. Stay AWAY. Don't let the "good" reviews fool you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    What management?

    Phaidon International2019-07-03

    Phaidon International Response

    July 11, 2019Group Marketing Director

    We are disappointed in your review, our business absolutely prides itself on offering opportunity to all individuals irrespective of gender, age, nationality or ethnicity. As we write our response, we are proud to say our New York office is comprised of 42% female employees – ...

    Show More
  6. "Good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    exceptional growth good training ground good commission structure benefits are great team environment, but competitive performance culture

    Cons

    base was VERY low at the time for nyc markets, i've heard it's since gotten better. high turnover rate when I was around, largely due to PE investment / low salaries

    Phaidon International2019-06-18
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Worst career choice possible! TRAP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - “Consultant” in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All expensed health care. You will meet leadership from other offices.

    Cons

    The truth speaks in the 1-stars reviews. - Don’t take a job unless you have another source of income. You won’t make money for the first few months. Look at the compensation plan carefully. - The culture is “work hard play hard”. More like work 10 hour days and then you are highly influenced to go to happy hour and drink with all your coworkers. If you are even 5 min late to your seat in the morning you get... spoken to even though you don’t clock in. They encourage you to eat lunch at your desk in case you have to answer a call. There are no laptops so you never work remote. They put up a fuss about you going to any type of appointment. Count your vacation days because it seems like a lot then you learn they have the week off between Christmas and NYE but they are also counted of your vacation days. - Management is young and unprofessional. They too are caught up in the work drama of sleeping around the office and partying hard (drinking/drugs). It’s a big fraternity and sorority on who hooked up, who is dating and then drama. What they teach you isn’t applicable in other roles because they are so high KPI driven from cold calling candidates/clients and getting as many resumes are you can in a day. They don’t care about quality as much as quantity. - Trips/Money isn’t there for everyone. They have high turn over for a reason. The trips aren’t as attractive as they sell. They aren’t relaxing they are set up like spring break for post college people (heavy drinking in a quick 3 days). Same for the “Michelin’s star lunches” which are really just a decent restaurant where you Are pressured to get drunk. - Consultant means recruiter. There is no chance for real career growth beyond being a manager. Which is why managers are so young. There’s no coaching just “do this to get more KPIs”. The job is pure luck! They have favorites in the office who they push to advance. In the end it’s high KPI, heavy party/post college fraternity environment with low pay and long hours.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Reevaluate your managers.

    Phaidon International2019-06-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruiter in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Unlimited earning potential if you are ready to work for it. - Great culture. - Solid leadership - Weekly drinks on the company, monthly corporate outings, etc.

    Cons

    - Steep learning curve at the beginning

    Phaidon International2019-04-09
  9. Helpful (13)

    "Terrible Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the people are tolerable

    Cons

    Awful hours that they justify by saying it is "work hard, play hard". Churn and burn environment that does not care about your career, only their bottom line. They do not even pay minimum wage as it is being raised in NYC until the last second so they won't be fined/sued. Agency recruiting can be great- just not here.

    Advice to Management

    Stop removing negative reviews off your Glassdoor page.

    Phaidon International2019-04-22
  10. "Amazing Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time

    Pros

    making 6 figures in your first year, fast promotions, people are amazing

    Cons

    its a grind but you can do so well if you have the potential

    Advice to Management

    keep it up and invest in who is there to lead

    Phaidon International2019-03-13
Found 223 reviews