Phaidon International Reviews | Glassdoor

Phaidon International Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Phaidon International CEO Harry Youtan (no image)
Harry Youtan
145 Ratings
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time

    Pros

    I honestly can't think of any.

    Cons

    Terrible pay and long hours. You work through lunch.

    Advice to Management

    Pay the employees more and promote female managers.

    Phaidon International2018-07-31
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Perfect place for top performers to rise quickly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meritocratic promotion policy and defined leadership path, international career opportunities, fully paid unbelievable health coverage, unreasonable amount of vacation time

    Cons

    Long hours, high expectations, steep learning curve, sink-or-swim mentality

    Advice to Management

    Keep an eye on culture, it's an important motivator - it keeps potential billers around long enough to grow

    Phaidon International2018-06-08
  3. Helpful (15)

    "Decent Company, Good Career Growth Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Recruitment Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International

    Pros

    - Above market-average commission structure - Ceiling is high if you produce: you can make six-figures if you bill consistently - Directors/Managers who genuinely want you to succeed and will help you by any means to close a deal (maybe even help you get your first deal) - Team outings are a good time with the first drink or two usually on the company's dime - Great PTO (20 days) and good amount of time off... during the Holiday Season - Travel opportunities for business development - Three step interview process including hands-on work, illustrating legitimacy of your position and the fact they want to hire the right people, unlike other sales floors who hire anyone who can breathe - Cool CEO: young, good listener, charismatic, humble, etc.

    Show More

    Cons

    - 32K base salary (~11$ per hour) - 10+ hours a day on desk - 8am/8:30am to 6pm/6:30pm hours - Lunch on desk as well - Micromanaged to painful extents - Rude, annoyed, passive-aggressive attitude from many of the consultants - Power struggle between consultants in the office with no real leadership or interpersonal skills: "I'm her superior" & "I'm his superior" is a common phrase amongst individuals with... no management job title. - Individuals who act arrogant, entitled, and as though they have everything figured out in their lives/career towards others in the office when they make a decent commission check: for example, a lot of the "big checks" you receive here put your yearly total compensation equal to or less than a base salary another company could offer you PLUS commission. Be humble, be courteous, and be nice -- life's too short. I promise nobody thinks you're as established as you do.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I enjoyed the management. From my experience, they were extremely open to talk about anything that was on my mind both work and life related. They want you to succeed and will work to help you build your book of business-- perhaps help you out with your first deal as well. Not only this, but they genuinely want people to get along in the office and for us to build friendships outside of work with each other. To... be frank, you can find way better sales organizations with autonomy, better pay, remote options, MacBook/company CC, monthly travel allowances , etc.

    Show More
    Phaidon International2018-06-04
  4. Helpful (35)

    "Complete Joke of a Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Might befriend some coworkers since its a youthful environment.

    Cons

    Where to begin... The low base salary and commission structure is absolutely ridiculous, they squeeze every dime out of you that they can so prepare to feel completely taken advantage of on every deal you make. The long hours are outrageous for a recruiting agency and they force you to stay at your desk during your lunch break (illegal) and to sometimes stay late on certain nights. If you arrive one minute late,... they will send you a passive aggressive email and also look down on those who don't stay late. But all that craziness aside, the worst part is that they have no respect for their employees, especially their female employees. I saw several cases of managers/directors acting inappropriately towards the women at company events. Any instances of this they just brush under the rug and pretend it didn't happen. Lastly, when a member of their HR called me for my exit interview and I tried to share my opinion on these important issues, they spent an hour interrogating/screaming at me and telling me I was wrong. I would advise to stay far away from this company and spare yourself the misery. I left at the same time as a few of my other coworkers and we all agreed it was one of the best decisions we had ever made! Oh and they also write fake reviews on here after they get poor ones to improve the rating, pretty sad.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Remember your employees are human beings and not just your little robots to profit off of. Also try to actually LISTEN to issues that come up and suggestions. Talking poorly about the employees who decide to leave is a very bad look.

    Phaidon International2018-05-31
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Strong team, strategically growing, great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning and Development in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, lots of coaching, team building and high level of involvement from senior management. Strong training presence as well as opportunities to advance in various directions Pristine new office space in downtown Loop, located near all public transit Gym memberships, commissions/bonuses, great PTO, early leaves, beer-Friday are all pluses.

    Cons

    Work can be demanding, especially when you have to manage multiple projects simultaneously.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to play an active role on day to day tasks. Leading from the front doesn't go unnoticed and keeping the atmosphere light is always comforting.

    Phaidon International2018-04-19
  6. Helpful (16)

    "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you are young, white, unscrupulous and male with an affinity for frat/party culture then this could be the place for you. All others avoid.

    Cons

    A horrible place to work with rampant sexist and racist jokes, heavy drinking culture and no morals from an organizational perspective (they pressure you to lie to your clients and candidates and encourage you to say or do whatever needs to be done to earn the company more money- and do not even pay you fairly for your work.) Management sleeping with young graduates- basically like working in a frat house with no... effective HR, long hours and young relatively inexperienced employees managing other young inexperienced employees. Employees are pressured out of taking lunch breaks. They show sexist movie clips in company training to incentivize and drive sales and have serious issues with objectifying women and the environment fosters behavior that is borderline harassment. Terrible, toxic place to work for women and minorities. I am surprised they don’t have several lawsuits on their hands. Very high turnover.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start valuing and creating a more welcoming healthy environment for women and other minorities. Stop micromanaging and allow employees a sense of work life balance.

    Phaidon International2018-06-05
  7. Helpful (16)

    "Sweatshop job out of college. Success here is based on luck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time

    Pros

    I would say the only pro to being an employee here is realizing the type of place that you would never want to work in the future

    Cons

    -Their HR/marketing team force you to complete surveys so they can win "awards" -Your first day they make you lie on your linkedin to show you have been working there to add credibility to clients -management breathes down your neck 24/7. No freedom or autonomy. make you call 100 people a day. -If you are one minute late you are in trouble. They have their favorites. -Awful base salary of 32k. the rest is luck... based commission. No 401k. They will promise you equity but you will never see it. All they want to do is grow headcount at all costs.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You are not managers. you are 30 year old salesmen.

    Phaidon International2018-05-25
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Strong Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very strong culture, and fast-paced environment. They offer extensive training programs and individual managers are extremely helpful for individual development.

    Cons

    Days are long with extended hours

    Advice to Management

    None

    Phaidon International2018-03-22
  9. Helpful (18)

    "Toxic work environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some really great people, a nice team feel during after hours events, and it’s a way to move into a real position with a better company.

    Cons

    Toxic work environment, unrealistic and abnormal expectations of employees( no, staying in the office glued to your desk 12 hours a day isn’t normal). Being away from the company for over a year now only makes me realize how absolutely wrong they are about so many things. Some of the “bosses” are absolutely horrid people who would never be in a position of power at another company. I am not referring to all of the... bosses or the CEO—I am referring to some of the “managing principals and sales directors”.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop promoting based on sales and start promoting based on leadership skills. Let your employees be people and not office drones or you will continue to lose people left and right—leaving at 6pm on a Thursday isn’t an incentive, it’s leaving the office an hour late. Cheers.

    Phaidon International2018-04-30
  10. Helpful (12)

    "Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good work culture and incentives (i.e. early pub leave on Thursdays, quarterly lunch clubs, etc.) - Strong commission structure - Upward mobility (Good time to get in with the company since the Boston office is still in the growth period) - GREAT health benefits - Good vacation/PTO --- get a full week off after Christmas/New Year - Free access to the office gym - Good leadership/management support (they... will put in the time for you to get the results and genuinely care about your progression and the company's success) - Top billers in the company get free trips to Vegas, New Orleans, etc.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Longer work hours (as long as you have jobs to work, the work days go by quickly) - No parking garage/travel reimbursement (if you live outside of the city, you will most likely be paying for a monthly commuter rail pass at your own expense) - No 401K option (as of right now) - Standard base salary for a recruiting position (where you will make the majority of your money will be through commission)

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the strong work culture --- the atmosphere is something that sets Phaidon apart from other companies. Maybe applying more weekly incentives for early Friday leaves (i.e. hitting all weekly KPIs, which will, in turn, increase output and results)

    Phaidon International2018-02-23
Found 232 reviews