Phaidon International "commission structure" Reviews | Glassdoor

Phaidon International Employee Reviews about "commission structure"

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Phaidon International CEO Harry Youtan (no image)
Harry Youtan
145 Ratings
Pros
  • "unlimited commission structure for sales staff(in 24 reviews)

  • "Phaidon is one of the most fun places that I've ever worked at(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and have to be really money motivated else it gets tedious(in 54 reviews)

  • "Don't get me wrong- Phaidon loves innovators - however within our operating model(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "commission structure"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (9)

    "Red Flags Everywhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Healthcare, 401k was just launched, most employees are very nice people.

    Cons

    First, let’s take a look at all the 5 star reviews which are at most 2 lines long, very brief, and similarly worded. That alone is a sign there is someone posting quick positive reviews to bump up the overall score of this company. Without them I can guarantee this company would be a solid 2. Two, with the entry level salary be ready to have another means of income. Your pay stub will barely cover NYC rent, let... alone food, transportation, etc. The ads promise 60-70k income but that is with commission structure after you’ve rung deals, trained and learned the industry, which can take SEVERAL months so be ready to live penny to penny those few months (or more depending on your luck to place candidates). Considering another job to make ends meet? Don’t. The hours are 8:30-6:30 (and longer) so good luck even attempting to find a second income let alone finding time to enjoy personal life. Third, the company benefit “happy hours”, “vacations”, “Rolex’s”, are all narrowed down to a very few people. Happy hours are only for those who targeted their KPI’s and Cv’s. Then you will be rewarded with 2 drinks at the local dive bar. Yay. Vacations are for top billers only, there’s a top rookie spot but only 1 or 2 so good luck getting that. Rolex is awarded to the 1 top biller only once a year. Yet the position markets these things as they’re available to everyone. They’re not. Let’s be realistic. HR was terrible when I started. The lady rushed me off and was impatient and rude with me during my on-boarding when I first started which I could somewhat understand because she was working on other things for the company as well at the time. There is a real HR team now dedicated just to HR so that’s a plus. Inappropriate behavior in the office is a major con and reason for many people leaving. There’s a significant amount of employees that are not shy to drugs. Even the first HR was known to have things in the office. Once again, glad we have a new HR team. Now it makes sense why drugs weren’t so regulated in the office environment and events. Females may make up “42%” of the office or company or whatever but that doesn’t mean that the men aren’t touchy, aggressive, and sexual towards you. Many females have complained to me about how they were targeted drunkenly at an incentive lunch or Thursday drinks. Doesn’t matter how “inclusive and diverse” the company is when there is no knowledge of what sexual harassment and what is/isn’t okay. The fact men look at new hired females like hyenas look at fresh leftovers is not a great culture. Lawsuits waiting to happen. All managers may be “deserving” of their position but manager positions are picked by performance. Just because an employee has high performance and is billing well, does not mean they’re cut out to manage a team. Management is an art in itself, being a good recruiter does not forecast someone being a good manager.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your college life is over, the office is not a second round. Treat your job professionally. You set example to your peers. Stop sleeping with the other coworkers and doing drugs. That only sets example that it’s okay for others to do it and fosters this toxic environment.

    Phaidon International2019-07-27

    Phaidon International Response

    August 2, 2019HR Business Partner

    We are sorry to hear that you have not had as positive an experience as we would have liked. Our goal is to create a comfortable, transparent and meritocratic environment which enables employees to achieve success. We have a range of initiatives to incentivize our employees as we believe in meritocracy. As we have matured as a business, we have worked hard on creating a culture of inclusion and respect, where everyone can build a successful career regardless of gender. We have a zero-tolerance approach to drug use and sexual misconduct, it is important that instances of misconduct are raised through the correct channels in order for us to deal with them appropriately - we therefore strongly encourage you to contact the local HR team to speak to them confidentially on such matters. Please contact HR.US@phaidoninternational.com and we can discuss further. Thank you for your feedback.

    Show Less
  2. "Good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    exceptional growth good training ground good commission structure benefits are great team environment, but competitive performance culture

    Cons

    base was VERY low at the time for nyc markets, i've heard it's since gotten better. high turnover rate when I was around, largely due to PE investment / low salaries

    Phaidon International2019-06-18
  3. "High growth potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time

    Pros

    unlimited commission structure for sales staff

    Cons

    work long hours, start at 8:30

    Phaidon International2018-11-14
  4. Helpful (15)

    "Decent Company, Good Career Growth Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Recruitment Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International

    Pros

    - Above market-average commission structure - Ceiling is high if you produce: you can make six-figures if you bill consistently - Directors/Managers who genuinely want you to succeed and will help you by any means to close a deal (maybe even help you get your first deal) - Team outings are a good time with the first drink or two usually on the company's dime - Great PTO (20 days) and good amount of time off... during the Holiday Season - Travel opportunities for business development - Three step interview process including hands-on work, illustrating legitimacy of your position and the fact they want to hire the right people, unlike other sales floors who hire anyone who can breathe - Cool CEO: young, good listener, charismatic, humble, etc.

    Show More

    Cons

    - 32K base salary (~11$ per hour) - 10+ hours a day on desk - 8am/8:30am to 6pm/6:30pm hours - Lunch on desk as well - Micromanaged to painful extents - Rude, annoyed, passive-aggressive attitude from many of the consultants - Power struggle between consultants in the office with no real leadership or interpersonal skills: "I'm her superior" & "I'm his superior" is a common phrase amongst individuals with... no management job title. - Individuals who act arrogant, entitled, and as though they have everything figured out in their lives/career towards others in the office when they make a decent commission check: for example, a lot of the "big checks" you receive here put your yearly total compensation equal to or less than a base salary another company could offer you PLUS commission. Be humble, be courteous, and be nice -- life's too short. I promise nobody thinks you're as established as you do.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I enjoyed the management. From my experience, they were extremely open to talk about anything that was on my mind both work and life related. They want you to succeed and will work to help you build your book of business-- perhaps help you out with your first deal as well. Not only this, but they genuinely want people to get along in the office and for us to build friendships outside of work with each other. To... be frank, you can find way better sales organizations with autonomy, better pay, remote options, MacBook/company CC, monthly travel allowances , etc.

    Show More
    Phaidon International2018-06-04
  5. Helpful (35)

    "Complete Joke of a Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Might befriend some coworkers since its a youthful environment.

    Cons

    Where to begin... The low base salary and commission structure is absolutely ridiculous, they squeeze every dime out of you that they can so prepare to feel completely taken advantage of on every deal you make. The long hours are outrageous for a recruiting agency and they force you to stay at your desk during your lunch break (illegal) and to sometimes stay late on certain nights. If you arrive one minute late,... they will send you a passive aggressive email and also look down on those who don't stay late. But all that craziness aside, the worst part is that they have no respect for their employees, especially their female employees. I saw several cases of managers/directors acting inappropriately towards the women at company events. Any instances of this they just brush under the rug and pretend it didn't happen. Lastly, when a member of their HR called me for my exit interview and I tried to share my opinion on these important issues, they spent an hour interrogating/screaming at me and telling me I was wrong. I would advise to stay far away from this company and spare yourself the misery. I left at the same time as a few of my other coworkers and we all agreed it was one of the best decisions we had ever made! Oh and they also write fake reviews on here after they get poor ones to improve the rating, pretty sad.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Remember your employees are human beings and not just your little robots to profit off of. Also try to actually LISTEN to issues that come up and suggestions. Talking poorly about the employees who decide to leave is a very bad look.

    Phaidon International2018-05-31
  6. Helpful (12)

    "Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good work culture and incentives (i.e. early pub leave on Thursdays, quarterly lunch clubs, etc.) - Strong commission structure - Upward mobility (Good time to get in with the company since the Boston office is still in the growth period) - GREAT health benefits - Good vacation/PTO --- get a full week off after Christmas/New Year - Free access to the office gym - Good leadership/management support (they... will put in the time for you to get the results and genuinely care about your progression and the company's success) - Top billers in the company get free trips to Vegas, New Orleans, etc.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Longer work hours (as long as you have jobs to work, the work days go by quickly) - No parking garage/travel reimbursement (if you live outside of the city, you will most likely be paying for a monthly commuter rail pass at your own expense) - No 401K option (as of right now) - Standard base salary for a recruiting position (where you will make the majority of your money will be through commission)

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the strong work culture --- the atmosphere is something that sets Phaidon apart from other companies. Maybe applying more weekly incentives for early Friday leaves (i.e. hitting all weekly KPIs, which will, in turn, increase output and results)

    Phaidon International2018-02-23
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Great company for ambitious professionals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Meritocratic culture - Employees are promoted based on performance, it is an extremely transparent org from a growth perspective as from day one of employment you can see all targets ahead right up to Director level. - Great Commission structure - Employees in their first year who are even medium performers get some outstanding monthly pay checks. Top performers can earn unbelievable commission as its uncapped.... - Fun - Culture in the office is energetic, upbeat and positive. Employees all gel well together and hang out outside of work as well. - 20 days vacation as a start!

    Show More

    Cons

    - Hours can be long - Benefits such as 401k do not exist - would be amazing to implement

    Advice to Management

    - Put in place a 401k structure and better benefits around dental, vision etc.

    Phaidon International2017-09-19
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Senior Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time

    Pros

    -Great culture -Close with coworkers -commission structure rewarding -good sales career growth

    Cons

    -long hours -high pressure environment

    Phaidon International2017-07-07
  9. Helpful (23)

    "Kids teaching kids"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you're just out of college and single, this is the place for you. The principal that you'll be working under is most likely 24 or younger, your team manager a year or two older. There are certainly opportunities to make good money (hence the 2 stars versus 1), but it'll require a lot of extra hours in the office beyond the 10 that you'll already spend there, being matched with a manager who knows what they're... doing and actually cares about empowering their team, and just a wee bit of luck. Healthcare is completely covered, which might not matter since most employees are young enough to still be on their parents plans. Commission structure isn't terrible but certainly not special, which is crucial considering how low the base salary is.

    Show More

    Cons

    Where to start? This seems like a company that had the right idea once upon a time, but have clearly lost their way. Far too focused on quantity over quality, turning profits versus creating great recruiters and maintaining a reputable brand. This company is trying to grow far too quickly, it's now just another churn and burn recruitment agency like the rest of the others that take advantage of recent grads.... Shuffling in a dozen or so wide eyed kids every week and selling unrealistic dreams of making $70K - $120K in your first year, which few employees actually hit. They tout their rate of retention as well above the industry standard, but it's a total farce. Many recruiters go elsewhere after two years once they're fed up with the nonsense. The culture is very fratty and "wolf of wolf street" esque, it's mainly a bunch of 22 year olds running around, binge drinking every other night, and sleeping around. KPIs aren't necessarily over the top, but too often, unqualified candidates are being sent over to vacancies just so that numbers are being hit. Technology...yeesh. The system constantly crashes, its clear that they use a cheaper service to make sure the company is maximizing profits. Oh and good luck checking your email outside of the office...because you can't! You'll have to come to the office on a Saturday if you want to get a little extra work done. And that's probably tough, because the base salary is too low to actually afford rent and you're likely commuting. After your 1 week of training, there is basically no continuing education. No one really cares how you're doing and if you're actually growing as an indivual, it's just shut up and hit your numbers. As a result, their reputation in each brand's respective markets is going downhill. Consultants don't fully understand their markets, and too often, they're required to constantly send spam emails to hiring managers just to pull jobs. There's no direction whatsoever, and theres a clear lack of communication between recruiters. Team meetings? Brilliant idea...why don't they ever happen?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    A little bit of diversity would be nice. 80% of the office is young white dudes, maybe switch it up? And pay your employees a bit more, your competitors are laughing at you with the below average base salary that you provide.

    Phaidon International2017-02-18
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Highly Recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I had a few offers at the same time as my offer from Phaidon. In all honesty all of the offers were around the same but I took the role here because I trusted what they told me and the commission structure they showed me seemed legit. I have been with the firm for 7 months now and am really glad I joined. The commission is great, the team are awesome and the office is really fun. The other part I like is that the... promotion targets are really clear, both from a compensation perspective as well as responsibilities.

    Show More

    Cons

    I commute from outside the city. With the long hours we work it is sometimes hard.

    Advice to Management

    Can we have more global incentives around holidays?

    Phaidon International2015-06-01
Found 232 reviews