Phaidon International "phaidon" Reviews | Glassdoor

Phaidon International Employee Reviews about "phaidon"

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Phaidon International CEO Harry Youtan (no image)
Harry Youtan
145 Ratings
Pros
  • "unlimited commission structure for sales staff(in 24 reviews)

  • "Phaidon is one of the most fun places that I've ever worked at(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and have to be really money motivated else it gets tedious(in 54 reviews)

  • "Don't get me wrong- Phaidon loves innovators - however within our operating model(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "phaidon"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "A Company You Care About"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been working at Phaidon for a year now and having left my previous employer after 10 years, I've learned more under the roof of PI than in a decade+ with my prior company. It's ambitious, challenging, opportunistic, and has a meritocratic environment that's tough not to love. It cares about you being a part of it, so it repays the favor. Very thankful to have taken the leap of faith into a new company and... career and it wouldn't have been right if not for Phaidon.

    Show More

    Cons

    Communication can be a challenge. It's a global company, expanding fast and applauding the creativity so time zones and geography can cause a limited time to collaborate and because it employs intelligent people who care about those things the same, you can have a lot of ideas coming from a lot of different areas. It's going through a lot of the fun nuances involved with a fast-growing company so been fun to watch... the transition.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keeping a strong focus on the current employees & up and coming managers is equally as important as the new employees joining.

    Phaidon International2019-06-13
  2. Helpful (2)

    "A company full of lies, broken promises, and little-to-no support for developing employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited Commission (this is done because they offer a joke of a base salary | also done because the commission % is extremely low and you will likely make litle to no money from a single deal) Great benefits package, though this WILL go away as the company grows. Their current coverage is not maintainable with the number of employees they are looking to hire

    Cons

    1) Horrible work hours. You will work 60+ hours and be encouraged to work through lunch, come in before work, stay late after work, and come in on weekends (you will have no life outside Phaidon) 2) "Incentives" for this company are 95%+ alcohol related and are unrealistic for most new highers who are too broke to buy booze at a bar 3) Your greatest competition is not from other agencies but from your "coworkers"... from other offices who regularly steal your business & opportunity to make money 4) Managers/"leaders" are regularly gone on vacation, and not engaged with employees 5) Managers only utilize 1 style of management and if you don't fit their model, you are excluded and given stricter responsbilities 6) Your "KPIs" are ALWAYS CHANGING, more work is dumped on your lap weekly and nothing is ever taken off 7) Unnecessary dress-code: though meeting with clients and candidates is highly encouraged, they rarely take place so having a business professional attire requirement is absurd in today's environment when leading companies do not require anywhere near the level of attire Phaidon does. 8) managers will obnoxiously berate and pressure you to never miss work, despite doctors appointments or being sick. They will peer pressure you into being at work as much as possible and have no remorse for emergencies situations / vacations / being sick

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop telling new hires lies about current employees sales Learn how to actually manage, if your employees are asking for help for over a year and improvements to the team are minimal... it is likely the manager who is under-qualified / has no idea what they're doing and not the employees Create incentives that are not related to alcohol and actually allow your employees to relax

    Phaidon International2019-10-01
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Honestly, this is an incredible place to grow your career and understand the ins and outs of not only recruiting but also managing expectations from both ends and becoming a salesperson. No sales job is EASY - it comes with building out your own territory, long hours and sometimes a bit of heartbreak. Trust me, most of the guys and the ladies here who have made it to Principal Consultant or above have gone through A... LOT of challenging times here. Phaidon gives you the resources to become successful - it is what you do with them that is up to you Amazing young, fun company - I met some of my closest friends here Work hard, party hard mentality (no, I do not condone the drug use that happens OUTSIDE of work - nothing is ever brought on the premises) Great PTO days - like many people commented, its hard to use all of them without being called out for working "part time" or "taking too much time off" - also if you do use them, prepare to come back with absolutely nothing covered for you Great health benefits - again, if people do go out to the doctors, some people on desk may say they are "interviewing" or not believe them - it happens everywhere The board members are INCREDIBLE - not every company does the CEO come around to everyone when he is in town to hug and greet them. Harry, you are an exceptional leader and someone that we all look up to. Getting to know different teams and brands - company happy hours, team bondings, etc Easy to understand when you will get promoted and how you have to get there Equity - except don't be fooled, only the originals who started this company will ever get a piece of that - which has been rightfully deserved. Awesome perks - vacations, happy hour on Thursdays, winter party, etc. - They really try to make this a fun atmosphere

    Show More

    Cons

    Work life balance -it's a hard grind but worth it in the end - career progression, friends who are in the office with you Salary + Commission - This is a touchy subject, while I love receiving HUGE paychecks for a lot of hard work, the amount of money that you actually get from say a $100K deal is minuscule when you subtract the money you are giving to Phaidon, whatever percentage bracket you fall into and then... on top of that taking 40-45% out in taxes to pay to the state and city (NYC) Dress code - This has become a bit laxed recently, some women in the office constantly are dressing up as if they are about to go to a club in Las Vegas for the day. That needs to change. No one gets yelled at so I have no idea why anyone would write that - rather its the opposite of everyone high fiving and cheering when deals close or if challenges arise your manager is there to help you through it Relationships in the office - Yes, this is a very big thing in the office. It is not encouraged at all but spending 70+ hrs a week with people brings them closer. There are a handful of couples (I would say around 20) in the office but they don't flaunt it or are "with one another" when they are at work, so I wouldn't see it as a problem except for when they break up.... then that just makes it awkward for everyone around them and the mood switches. The office - we need an office manager - the kitchen is never stocked, the coffee mugs are everywhere, we are missing a lot of basic necessities that any other Top 10 staffing company would easily provide including basic privileges like printing (we are all adults here, we should have to ask our managers to print out forms for us - just set the printing limit to 50 pages a month or something), basic office supplies (folders, desk accessories, tape, etc), maybe some office decorations other than in the lobby? Expenses - If you go to a client or candidate meeting and have to take a Taxi or a means of public transportation - ALLOW YOUR CONSULTANTS TO EXPENSES THAT. On a base salary of $42K with a $100K threshold, you cannot be meeting clients and candidates downtown and spending $40+ roundtrip on taxis. This should be expensible - maybe join an Uber partnership or something.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing - there is a high turnover rate because you are not properly interviewing candidates when bringing them aboard. Invest in your staff - replace the excessive beer in the fridge on Fridays with printer privileges or basic office supplies. Keep promoting socially how we are helping clients - we do some INCREDIBLE work and that's how we have gotten so far - wonderful to showcase all... of the hard work online.

    Show More
    Phaidon International2018-11-03
  4. "Working at Phaidon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working at Phaidon has brought me to reimagine my potential. I graduated College already having started a Swimwear Business. I successfully did that all summer but as winter came and I was in Chicago I wanted to join a company where I had the ability too quickly move up the ladder fast. Finding Phaidon painted that exact picture - I get to build my own business every day. I had never thought of being a recruiter... during college, but Phaidon makes it not just a job but a career that I am excited to come to every day. There is nothing better than working my hardest and seeing it all pay off.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not every day is a perfect day, so if you do not have resilience this is not the job for you.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing, you're doing great! Thank you for the endless support and encouragement.

    Phaidon International2018-11-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Thoroughly enjoy working at Phaidon and interacting with my co-workers on a daily basis. They provide a clear platform for upward mobility and hard work is rewarded.

    Cons

    The hours are long, but go quickly as you are so buisy!

    Phaidon International2018-10-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Joining an ambitious and competitive focused organization at Phaidon International provides the professional development and skillsets for growth in all avenues of the company. The ability to not only be looked at as an individual that can create, develop, and maintain relationships with Global Clients from day one allows for an individual to not only push their own dreams of success but make them a reality. You are... given the platform to succeed in your own endeavor while being pushed by your Peers and Senior leadership to sharpen your ability and rise within the company. There is no limit, and complete transparency, to what you can accomplish here at Phaidon International and for that reason alone it takes someone that believes in a model and the things you can control.

    Show More

    Cons

    The cons can be the feeling of incomplete processes and the frustration that comes along with your time and effort ending with nothing to show. Recruitment is a tough game and not for everyone, but with dedication and drive you can overcome those hurdles. It is a sales culture meaning this is not a regular 9-5 job, it takes the dedication to push beyond what you would expect from a normal job and those who are not... ready for a challenge give up not only on their Job but Themselves.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep building and rewarding success as every small thing makes a difference. To motivate someone when they inevitably have things fall through and push their visualizing success on the next one.

    Phaidon International2018-08-03
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Wide Range of Career Progression Options!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Relationship Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I am currently employed as a recruiter at Phaidon International. One of the things that I like most about the company is not only the ridiculous paychecks on offer if you are successful in recruitment, but more importantly the wide range of career progression available. I personally am really interested by the PPP (Phaidon Partnership Program) team which focuses on the key account management and business... development for the firm. This moves you away from the candidate side and is much more of a client facing function where you are tasked with maintaining key client relationships, expanding the business in accounts, and overall new business development for business critical areas. For me, whilst I wanted to be a recruiter at the start of my career, the opportunity to broaden my skill set by perfecting my client management and business development skills I think really positions me well for my later life.

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing to share - very pleased I work on the Phaidon rocketship

    Advice to Management

    make people more aware of the progression opportunities within the firm in the areas external to direct sales, such as PPP team, learning and development etc.

    Phaidon International2017-07-13
  8. "Chicago Office - Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really great culture with an office of motivated individuals. Right now the Chicago office is set to experience massive growth and it's a great time to join and grow with Phaidon. You can be managing people and be invoicing hundreds of thousands of dollars - in your first year! Rewarding job and the expectations are set during the interview process so there is no lack of clarity from day 1.

    Cons

    There can be really frustrating times while you are still building your book of business.

    Phaidon International2017-05-11
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Friendly, Fun, Competitive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Talent Acquisition Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International

    Pros

    -The award-winning training program actually works with specialized training for each brand! -Opportunity to work closely with your director - There is international mobility with emails constantly flowing throughout all of the offices about movement within the company as well as relocation internationally -The office has many people who come from all around the world that help support the multi-cultural company... culture, which they preach -Along with the major growth spurt comes the opportunity for personal growth and movement within the company, both nationally and internationally. You won't find too many other companies that are expanding as quickly and successfully as Phaidon who truly make every single employee feel like they believe in them with endless rewards and support. -Plenty of opportunities to get to know your coworkers across all departments with the open office floorplan and the company happy hour every Thursday! -Incredible health insurance and so many other benefits that incentivize consultants to work hard

    Show More

    Cons

    -Long hours, but those long hours are worth it when you make a deal -Sometimes it can be tough with the emotional ups and downs that come with recruitment -Every month is a new month, so you have to be willing to put in the time and effort in order to see the results

    Advice to Management

    As we are going through a hyper growth spurt right now we need to make sure we keep the tight-knit culture that we have.

    Phaidon International2016-08-05
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Being part of a 'rising star company' and not a 'falling giant'"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Operations/Talent Team in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International for more than a year

    Pros

    I joined the business after being sold the career dream and the fact that I could literally build out a function and grow as the business did and I can honestly say that promise has and continues to be fulfilled. After working for 18 months, building out a function and having the opportunity to transfer internationally I am still happy here! Phaidon offers a unique opportunity for sales and operations staff to... make serious $$$ and be part of a company that is truly making history. The New York office has a great feel in terms of energy and event though we are now hitting the 100 mark it still has a family like feel to it. Senior management are super approachable and the office is insane with music deal times every day and scooters to get round!

    Show More

    Cons

    Recruitment is not for everyone, I don't actually think the hours are that long compared to other recruitment companies but you need to be willing to put in the hours if and when needed, that being said it will directly affect your pay package which should be incentive enough!

    Advice to Management

    Don't lose the 'Phaidon feel' as we continue to grow - currently all the different offices are interlinked and you feel like an international company but everyone still talks to each other no matter where they are and celebrates success together. As we continue to grow it would be a shame to lose this.

    Phaidon International2016-05-20
Found 232 reviews