PharMerica Reviews | Glassdoor

PharMerica Reviews

Updated Sep 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 318 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
25%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
PharMerica CEO Greg Weishar
Greg Weishar
132 Ratings
Pros
  • "Overall I have a fairly flexible schedule, you can work 8-5 or 8:30-5:30 which is nice(in 13 reviews)

  • "Some great people & co-workers, senior management are intelligent and have a great understanding of IT(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Managers and Directors filter information and distort facts that get presented to upper management(in 23 reviews)

  • "I wound up doing the work of 3 pharmacists in addition to my own(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacist in Peabody, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PharMerica part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work culture, multiple career opportunities

    Cons

    don't really have any cons

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    PharMerica2019-09-16
  2. "Schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at PharMerica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy work- apparently you can act like a child and keep Your job

    Cons

    People act like they are in Jr high

    PharMerica2019-09-17
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IV Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PharMerica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a small long term pharmacy so you dont get super super busy and dont deal with customers

    Cons

    Not alot of room for advancement

    PharMerica2019-08-24
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PharMerica full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good Comp if you like to sit for hours

    Cons

    Ok can’t really say nothing bad

    PharMerica2019-08-25
  5. "How much work can you get done with no help?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Data Entry Technician in Tallahassee, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PharMerica full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It was like a family

    Cons

    Management has favorites, they say one thing and do another behind your back. Promise to cross train then never do, all around bad at scheduling

    Advice to Management

    update OE, establish clear training protocols, reasonable pay and prn help, management shouldn't have favorites

    PharMerica2019-09-22
  6. "Beats retail.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tech in Warwick, RI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PharMerica full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You never have to deal with a customer

    Cons

    Hours I guess but they're flexible.

    PharMerica2019-08-13
  7. "Okay place to work better than competition."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Pharmacist 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at PharMerica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive pay Able to work in different areas both in normal pharmacy and IV compounding Pharmacist were very helpful and got the work done. Time for lunch breaks Can leave work at work and not bring it home Good Leadership Management prepared for natural weather disasters Supervisor would cover shift as needed and then ask others to help out

    Cons

    There were a few bad apples and I felt bad giving things I needed done to the good employees. Some technicians need to work on their work ethic. Felt a little sexist all the day crew was female (with the exception of management) and the evening crew was all males. Not to much career growth. As a male I felt safe but my location was not in a great area. Working second shift at a pharmacy in a bad area with... no one around. A co-worker had a heart attack at work and CPR was performed. I asked to have AED devices installed and they kept pushing the topic.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I had a great manager and I know this is not the case at every location but they really would help out the pharmacist. There were a lot of problems with techs being no call no shows and just drama at the workplace that should of been sorted out. I think it would be best to diversify your staff it did not seem right to have the all women in the am and men in the PM.

    PharMerica2019-08-13
  8. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - General Manager 

    I worked at PharMerica full-time

    Pros

    Friendly staff good corporate office support

    Cons

    Software platforms need work & updating

    PharMerica2019-08-11
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Pharmerica- Chemrx"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Pharmacist in Long Beach, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PharMerica full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good Schedule, new associate director is amazing

    Cons

    Terrible pay, uneven workload, seasoned RPH's don't do a lot of work and expect younger pharmacists to pick up slack, everyone afraid of getting written up

    Advice to Management

    get rid of lower performing employees and pay the employees who are the most productive

    PharMerica2019-07-30
  10. "So so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacist in South Plainfield, NJ

    I worked at PharMerica full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people I worked with

    Cons

    Terrible training procedures and corporate headquarter staff very disorganized when attempting to train people

    PharMerica2019-08-03
Found 318 reviews