Pharmaca Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Store Manager

Pharmaca Store Manager Reviews

Updated Jun 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
29%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Pharmaca Chief Executive Officer Richard Willis  (no image)
Richard Willis
1 Rating
  1. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Novato, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pharmaca full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with, all like-minded as far as healing and natural wellness. Very supportive and caring atmosphere, even from upper management. Being a somewhat newer company, the executives are very open to new ideas and everything felt very much like a team effort. The new CEO is wonderful and down to earth.

    Cons

    Disorganization from corporate offices communicated down to store level. Lots of changes in employees at corporate offices.

    Pharmaca2017-10-05
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Thoroughly research company core values, and mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager in Oakland, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pharmaca full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is very dedicated, knowledgeable.

    Cons

    Corporate store level management questionable.

    Continue reading
    Pharmaca2019-06-16
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pharmaca for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working among like minded health and wellness professionals, product knowledge and support from reps, gratis.

    Cons

    Bottom line- uncommisioned retail, high turnover, unsupported teams from upper management, inconsistent mission and values to action and implementation

    Continue reading
    Pharmaca2018-08-06
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Used to be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pharmaca full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    When I first started working for Pharmaca it was great. The concept is great and the owner, although a little eccentric, had a vision. I started as a seasonal cashier and ended up as a manager, being trained up along the way. I loved my regional manager and felt really nurtured by the company even though the pay seemed low for the market.

    Cons

    Company was turned over to corporate employees from CVS, Kmart and Vitamin Shoppe and everything changed. Lots of turnover now. Labor budgets were drastically cut, leaving me acting as sales help, receiver and cashier in addition to management duties for a 9,000 square foot store. Customers stop me on the street all the time lamenting what a great store it used to be.

    Continue reading
    Pharmaca2016-12-25
  5. "Great concept, store management was an issue."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Menlo Park, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pharmaca full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Reasonable pay, able to sample products to help with sales from personal experience, lots of fun events in store with vendors, knowledgeable coworkers. When I was exiting more positive changes were being made.

    Cons

    Company states they want you to spend time with the customer to show them the pharmaca experience, but reprimanded employees for spending more than a few moments with each customer. The verbiage that was required per each sale to the customer was excessively time consuming, many verbal customer complaints about "pushiness" to the sales staff.

    Continue reading
    Pharmaca2016-11-01
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Great idea, but not executed well."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pharmaca

    Pros

    Great idea vitamins, naturopaths for advice, RX.

    Cons

    Pay not consistent store to store, created problems. Too many events and promotions done back to back. Education only happened for the Estheticians and Naturopaths not the rest of the staff. The way it is set up creates too much division between staff members. They pay well but work you to death. The slogan is Come in Feel Better but that doesn't apply to the staff.

    Continue reading
    Pharmaca2011-12-29
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Pharmaca"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pharmaca

    Pros

    Great products, great mission and values. Allow store managers to voice opinions/ideas and are often listened to and action taken. Attracts great people as employees.

    Cons

    Customers can be snooty and very challenging with expectations/demands. Some of the values/mission aren't really promoted because the company is still growing, so lots of changes. Expect a lot out of store managers often with inadequate resources because of tight budget constraints.

    Continue reading
    Pharmaca2010-08-02
  8. Helpful (8)

    "They don't walk the talk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pharmaca

    Pros

    Beautiful store locations with top-notch products. Real experts on staff. Real integration between pharmacy and natural health alternatives. Excellent store events. Community outreach.

    Cons

    Micro-management! Absolutely no give and take between local store needs and 'vision' from buyers at the corporate office. Far too many 'wasted' products because of unrealistic sales projections for holiday items. No feeling of partnership between reginals and store managers.

    Continue reading
    Pharmaca2010-06-01
Found 8 reviews