KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Pharmaca

Is this your company?

Pharmaca

Add a Review

Pharmaca Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Aug 27, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 100 reviews

3.3
34%
Recommend to a Friend
26%
Approve of CEO
Pharmaca Chief Executive Officer Richard Willis  (no image)
Richard Willis
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "Product samples for team members help enable practitioners to better speak about the products carried in the store(in 9 reviews)

  • "People will come in and tell the team members how wonderful they are and how we make a difference in their lives(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "However, upper management sometimes seemed to make decisions that didn't make a lot of sense for our particular store(in 12 reviews)

  • "The low pay was the biggest drawback to the position(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Upward movement

      Apr 4, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Unique company with a great business model. Lots of opportunity for movement into management or leadership roles, competitive wages, many in store trainings, health benefits at part time, education reimbursement, wellness & baby bonuses.

      Cons

      technology hiccups are frequent, communication with upper management (corporate) and team member level could be improved. Task heavy stores, so you are juggling many things at once. You need to be a multi-tasker if you work here. Just like any retail environment you will have challenging customers, so have a thick skin.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Disconnected

      Aug 27, 2018 - Pharmacy Technician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At the store level the teams are great and there is a great outreach to the community. People will come in and tell the team members how wonderful they are and how we make a difference in their lives. It is a great place for people to come and get started on their journey to health, both for customers and employees.

      Cons

      Where do we begin? Management in the stores doesn't make enough money for what they have to do. Practitioners make a laughable amount of money, especially if Pharmaca wants to keep that special something that separates it from GNC and Walgreens. No one is going to come here and make what they make outside of the stores, and it's unfortunate because that's what customers want. Upper management also seems to totally ignore great ideas when it comes to loss prevention, employee retention, training and labor. Also they don't staff Pharmacy correctly, and it shows on their side and retail. Also, the benefits are terrible. For a place that touts health and wellness, the medical insurance could be vastly better. Like something we could actually use.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Lip service but no follow-through

      Nov 10, 2012 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The original mission and values of the company are fantastic. Great concept of recruiting licensed professionals and holding informative events/talks. Bottom-level employees often show great initiative and take it upon themselves to support one another and create a pleasant environment.

      Cons

      The actual way that the company and many of the individuals stores are run destroys morale and actively moves away from creating a healthy work environment. Non-managerial employees are treated poorly, from insufficient pay for the amount of work expected, to inadequate trust and respect given. On the occasion that serious issues were addressed from staff directly to upper management, unprofessional and sometimes demeaning responses were the norm. As to day-to-day operations, the amount of work required did not match the amount of pay/benefits given. The company claims that wages are competitive, but after inquiring throughout the community, it is easy to discover that the compensation/work load balance is far healthier at many competitor companies.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Practitioner

      May 30, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Love the culture and values. Working with other like-minded practitioners is great. The customer service really is above the rest. There really are some awesome people in this company, but they are overshadowed by the bad eggs.

      Cons

      Upper management is a joke. They have no idea what is really going on in the stores. They hire mall retail managers to lead a team of licensed professionals, doesn't always translate when they have no health background or basic human people skills. They let managers get away with berating and yelling at employees. Just because numbers are great, doesn't mean everything is a-okay. When a whole team is complaining about the team manager. Maybe it IS a fault with the manager and not just everyone else. They are not profiting because they have no idea how to run a business. Listen to what your employees at the store level are telling you! If the whole team is miserable and on the verge of finding new employment because of a bad manager, it will affect the customers and therefore your bottom line!

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Exceptional environment, questionable management

      Jul 24, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice store to work in if you're into natural health and beauty, and good employee discount. Most of my co-workers have been very cool and well-educated folks and they are the reason I've stayed as long as I have.

      Cons

      Even though you must be a certified practitioner to work here, make no mistake, it's a retail job. All employees must do all tasks at any given time. There is no dedicated cashier, so one must drop what they're doing to run up and ring transactions. Customers can be rather entitled and snooty. Upper management is out of touch with team members at the store level.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A roller coaster.

      Jun 2, 2012 - Anonymous Employee in Boulder, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Private company, great atmosphere, great mission, awesome people.

      Cons

      Being a small company I understand that there is going to be times that get hectic however it seems as if this is become the norm. I often feel like upper management doesn't properly plan for the growth that the company is experiencing so often times things that could be handled better with proper planning turn out to become major issues with no warning at all. I've also come to realize that this company plays the "oh I know someone that can probably do that" game when hiring so I feel that there are some team members in certain higher positions that they wouldn't be qualified for at many other companies.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Worked at several stores as a pharmacist

      Aug 28, 2014 - Pharmacist in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Most of the employees work very hard to make the concept of integrative healthcare at the pharmacy level succeed. Many practitioners and some in the pharmacies are amazing in their efforts to help the customers as best they can.

      Cons

      The poor guidance by the upper management level of the prescription departments makes Pharmaca nothing but CVS with a pretty face. The pressure by pharmacy management/home office to provide great customer service in spite of terrible IT services/programs and continued labor reductions.is beyond ridiculous; it is actually dangerous. Finally decided to move on as I didn't want to risk my pharmacy license by continuing to work there.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      taking the bad with the good

      Nov 27, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Compensation is better than average with benefits possible at 24 hr./week. Mission is admirable, but poorly carried out. Offers a good learning opportunity for those interested in natural medicine.

      Cons

      Store is frequently understaffed and everyone is expected to play all roles, including janitor. Upper management is feared at the store level creating a tense environment. Many problems with existing systems and no solutions are introduced. Management is unresponsive to opinions they seem keen to collect.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Avoid at all cost!

      Feb 23, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some of the employees are dedicated to their craft.

      Cons

      Upper management is fragmented at best. Not much support from District Manager when crisis occurs. No open communication between Management and staff. Poor scheduling at store level. Labor cutbacks without store expectations being adjusted. Core values not followed. Company policy applies to some, but not all. Not consistent across the board. Turnover rate at Store level and Home office is alarming.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Low-stress job with interesting, like-minded co-workers

      Apr 5, 2017 - Nutritionist in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked as a nutritionist at a Pharmaca retail location to supplement my private practice with a more stable source of income. It was a low stress job and I learned a lot about a variety of supplements and herbs that I wasn't previously familiar with. My co-workers were all kind, interesting, and highly educated individuals and it was nice to have like-minded colleagues. There were a lot of opportunities for free continuing education presented by supplement company reps, online webinars, etc. The employee discount of 25% was also great. I was able to hand my business card out to customers and seek referrals for my private practice. Overall, it was a fun job, and I remember my time there fondly.

      Cons

      The low pay was the biggest drawback to the position. Pharmaca likes to advertise that they have licensed practitioners on staff to give customers advice, but they won't pay you for your experience and education. In the end, it is a retail position. You are able to hand your business card out to customers, but I never gained any clients through that. That was probably more of a reflection of the area that I worked in and my specialty in my private practice, so it might work for other practitioners. Training wasn't very consistent, as the store operates with minimum staffing, and employees are needed on the floor from Day 1. I was able to hit the ground running, but I know that some other new employees struggled with the lack of training. The store manager was a kind and competent individual who did a great job at running the store with the resources that were given. However, upper management sometimes seemed to make decisions that didn't make a lot of sense for our particular store. There was very little room for advancement. The pay difference from practitioner to lead practitioner was something on the scale of $0.25. Employees could not be promoted to management without having several years of retail management experience.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Pharmaca Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Pharmaca? Share Your Experiences

    Pharmaca logo
    or