Phelan Hallinan & Schmieg Reviews | Glassdoor

Phelan Hallinan & Schmieg Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 60 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
21%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Larry Phelan
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "You often feel lost because they provide no training and that is very stressful(in 5 reviews)

  • "micro managed, no room for growth(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Paralegal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paralegal in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phelan Hallinan & Schmieg

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Awasome managment. Would recommend this a place for employment. Great growth and they promote from within. Great holiday parties and benefits.

    Cons

    When they fire three or more people in one week, prepare yourself as you could possible be one of them. Mass layoffs and high turn over.

    Advice to Management

    Give your employees more money and stop being cheap. Pay your employees what they are worth.

    Phelan Hallinan & Schmieg2016-06-02
  2. "Not Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Assistant in Mount Laurel, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Phelan Hallinan & Schmieg full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    its a paycheck, but the culture of the office isn't great, very stifling.

    Cons

    frequent layoffs, huge disconnect from upper management and employees. recently closed a firm.

    Phelan Hallinan & Schmieg2019-03-10
  3. "legal assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Phelan Hallinan & Schmieg full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I made some good friends there. Most of the people were very nice. They had free hot dog, pretzel days.

    Cons

    Management did not care to help you. Any issues brought to HR were never addressed. They moved people around from department to department with ZERO training and expected you to know everything within a day. No room for advancement. Paid people with college degrees more to do same work ( fine by me) Had mass lay offs ( usually for college degree employees)

    Phelan Hallinan & Schmieg2018-09-12
  4. "Legal assistant/various"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Phelan Hallinan & Schmieg full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    There are some good people that work there.

    Cons

    Inept management, favoritism, lack of training, massive layoffs, more concerned about lining their pockets that quality of product. Their referral has been on the steady decline and had been ever since the shift of management in their FC department.

    Phelan Hallinan & Schmieg2018-10-11
  5. "Overall Terrible Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Phelan Hallinan & Schmieg full-time

    Pros

    Free pretzels, but that's not even guaranteed the first Wednesday of the month anymore.

    Cons

    EVERYTHING!!! Micro-managed, low morale, mass layoffs, and terrible upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Just quit already.

    Phelan Hallinan & Schmieg2018-10-02
  6. "learned alot while working for this firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phelan Hallinan & Schmieg full-time

    Pros

    hard work will get recognized

    Cons

    management has it favorite within company

    Advice to Management

    stop letting good employees go

    Phelan Hallinan & Schmieg2017-09-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Management is terrible and plays favorites company-wide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Help Desk Technician in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Phelan Hallinan & Schmieg full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Okay pay and decent PTO time. That's it.

    Cons

    Management is terrible and condescending in our dept (and have heard the same from other departments). Despite multiple complaints to HR about unethical treatment management remains the same. Poor business practices, and those in salaried positions do not get paid overtime or comp time when working over. Also there's is the promise of room for growth when starting but that never comes to fruition. Also seriously, seriously...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees like human beings and stop making management untouchable despite HR complaints.

    Phelan Hallinan & Schmieg2017-05-16
  8. Helpful (2)

    "favoritsm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Phelan Hallinan & Schmieg full-time

    Pros

    there was always great team effort

    Cons

    Management always had favoritism and never cared

    Phelan Hallinan & Schmieg2017-02-20
  9. "Not as bad as I thought"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Assistant in Mount Laurel, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Phelan Hallinan & Schmieg full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    worked here for 3 years, Not as bad as I thought considering where I worked after. They paid me decent and had a nice group of co workers. Gave me a good letter of recommendation,, was laid off but I think I was one of the higher paid workers prob cut me to get someone cheaper to do my job.

    Cons

    They are sticklers for time during breaks and lunch and if you leave sick they want a dr note which is a bit ridiculous. But overall not a bad experience.

    Advice to Management

    Mix up the work a bit job can be a little redundant.

    Phelan Hallinan & Schmieg2016-11-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "IT WAS OK."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Assistant in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Phelan Hallinan & Schmieg full-time

    Pros

    •Great pay for entry-level •Free coffee •Paid for lunches, holiday parties, etc. •Great amount of PTO

    Cons

    •Massive layoffs •Middle school behavior •Favoritism •They don't value their employees •Managers who aren't manager material. A lot of people get these positions by default or by being a favorite

    Phelan Hallinan & Schmieg2016-06-09
Found 60 reviews