Phelps Dunbar Reviews | Glassdoor

Phelps Dunbar Reviews

Updated Mar 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Phelps Dunbar CEO Richard N. Dicharry (no image)
Richard N. Dicharry
14 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Secretary in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phelps Dunbar full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great management, secure, good working environment. Good benefits

    Cons

    I don't have any cons.

    Advice to Management

    None!

    Phelps Dunbar2019-03-18
  2. "Great place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Phelps Dunbar for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Big name firm with a great reputation, a good place to gain varied experience right out of law school, competitive starting salary

    Cons

    Very cut-throat with little incentive to go "above and beyond" because you are constantly reminded that making partner is almost impossible, salary plateaus as soon as you start, unknown and arbitrary bonus structure.

    Advice to Management

    Try to be more transparent, show more appreciation to the associates, and try to incentivize productivity

    Phelps Dunbar2019-01-17
  3. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Attorney 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Phelps Dunbar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wide variety of work for Fortune 500 or national-level clients; excellent compensation; most attorneys are married with children and respect efforts to balance work and family obligations; very good IT and research support services

    Cons

    There isn't a formal mentoring program for attorneys, so it is easy to fall through the cracks. It is also reportedly very difficult to make partner and the firm doesn't focus on retaining talent in part because of that ceiling.

    Advice to Management

    Take more of an active role in giving associates opportunities they want to grow in their practice and bring them under your wing.

    Phelps Dunbar2018-07-25
  4. "Paralegal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Paralegal in New Orleans, LA

    I worked at Phelps Dunbar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good salary and decent benefits

    Cons

    firm is too large and impersonal

    Phelps Dunbar2018-07-24
  5. "Associate Attorney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate Attorney in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phelps Dunbar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to learn and develop.

    Cons

    I have no complaints so far.

    Phelps Dunbar2017-12-11
  6. "Good firm. Very capable and knowledgeable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Phelps Dunbar part-time

    Pros

    Friendly, demanding, fun, and dedicated

    Cons

    Received limited feedback On work

    Phelps Dunbar2017-09-26
  7. "Non attorney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Non Attorney Staffer in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Phelps Dunbar full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent pay and benefits, upscale office environment

    Cons

    Stuffy, unfriendly atmosphere ; tenure means nothing to management; poor management skills on the part of supervisors, unrealistic expectations to bill time

    Advice to Management

    Properly vet people who are placed in management positions.

    Phelps Dunbar2017-03-23
  8. "I couldn't be happier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phelps Dunbar full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Support is always around. Great environment and lots to do!

    Cons

    I cannot think of any

    Advice to Management

    free parking?

    Phelps Dunbar2016-12-05
  9. "Receptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist/Administrative Assistant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phelps Dunbar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good team work and friendly staff.

    Cons

    Very busy office and no overtime.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, great management.

    Phelps Dunbar2016-09-15
  10. "No Partnership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Phelps Dunbar full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits for staff. Smart lawyers and high quality work.

    Cons

    Almost no partnership offered to associates in past 10 years. No 401k contribution for associates. Morale has declined in past 10 years.

    Advice to Management

    Adjust firm strategy to compete with other firms.

    Phelps Dunbar2016-09-16
Found 25 reviews