Philhaven Reviews | Glassdoor

Philhaven Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Philip D. Hess
9 Ratings
  1. "Great family atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Unit Secretary 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Philhaven full-time

    Pros

    Felt like working as part of a family

    Cons

    Really weren't any cons to the company

    Philhaven2019-01-31
  2. "easy going"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Philhaven full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    working night shift is great

    Cons

    a lot of new system updates

    Philhaven2019-01-17
  3. "LPN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Philhaven full-time

    Pros

    Staff is like family. Helping broken heal.

    Cons

    Short staff and no security

    Philhaven2019-01-13
  4. "Good entry level job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Philhaven

    Pros

    -Co workers were like family - Organization mission is aligned with practice

    Cons

    -Often are short staffed which causes high stress and unsafe environment -Pay not great

    Philhaven2018-06-11
  5. "Chaos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Behavior Therapist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Philhaven full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The benefits are amazing. Some of the supervisors are really awesome, too. They try to be available to you as much as possible.

    Cons

    It seems like there is a lot of chaos right now in the company. Sometimes my emails go unanswered by management simply because they have so much on their plates as it is. If your client is out, you don't get paid or you have to travel to wherever you can to substitute and pick up hours, even if it is an hour from your home base.

    Advice to Management

    Stop putting pressure on your employees to travel to substitute for missed hours. It doesn't seem right that we either have to travel or be forced to use our PTO to cover our hours. Most of my PTO has gone to cover snow days and days when clients were out sick or in day hospital, etc. Provide extra support to your directors and assistant directors. They are overworked. Also, the training process for TSS is ridiculous....

    Show More
    Philhaven2018-04-21
  6. "Place is currently in chaos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mount Gretna, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Philhaven full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    co-workers can be great once they put their minds together

    Cons

    Worst nursing management ever, Rude, inconsiderate, and inexperienced

    Advice to Management

    Clean house. Rid of yourselves. Overhaul. Leave. Take classes in employee etiquette

    Philhaven2018-04-11
  7. "Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Counselor in York, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Philhaven full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Worked with some amazing and supportive people.

    Cons

    If you have your own opinions I would not recommend working for Wellspan Philhaven. They want people who are "yes men" without any thoughts of their own. If you suggest something different from what management wants to hear, you are considered "insubordinate". And the management they hire have no idea what they are doing. They just look for the degree, not the experience.

    Advice to Management

    Respect the opinions of those who work underneath you, even when you have a higher degree. A degree is not everything. And to upper management, stop hiring people to direct programs who have no idea what they are doing. The Director I ended up working for was incredibly shady. I witnessed her lie to the parents of the children we were serving as well as other providers. Despicable.

    Philhaven2017-12-14
  8. "Registered Nurse- inpatient"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Care Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philhaven full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing and supportive staff, overtime is almost always available, good benefits and comparable pay, room for advancement, get to help and educate clients to better their lives!

    Cons

    Usually understaffed or working with the bare minimum number of staff needed which makes safety a huge concern on the units, No security officers, No upper management/therapists in hospital after 5pm.

    Advice to Management

    Overstaff the units to ensure safety to all clients and staff.

    Philhaven2017-10-25
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philhaven full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, pleasant working environment. Offers an opportunity to help others in the community.

    Cons

    Management is top heavy, pay is lower than market for most positions.

    Philhaven2017-08-31
  10. "Mobile Therapist/Behavior Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Philhaven full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Staff in my position have flexibility in the work day.

    Cons

    Poor compensation. Poor communication. Very independent job with minimal support from supervisors/management when needed. Recently bought out by Wellspan which has caused even decreased communication and confusion within the company, as Wellspan is not familiar with how to successfully manage the behavioral health component of health care.

    Advice to Management

    Make supervisors more available to staff. Decrease the amount of trainings and meetings that take supervisors away from their offices and decrease their availability to be present for their staff. Increase pay/incentives to retain staff.

    Philhaven2017-07-12
Found 34 reviews