Philip Morris International Reviews

Updated May 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Philip Morris International Chief Executive Officer André Calantzopoulos
André Calantzopoulos
550 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working environment pleasant for innovative product development in a Pharma settings(in 82 reviews)

  • "Good work life balance, good salary, relocation opportunities(in 69 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategic Planning Analyst in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philip Morris International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good to learn and exposure

    Cons

    Long working hour And little politics

    Continue reading
    Philip Morris International2020-03-27

    Philip Morris International Response

    April 27, 2020Philip Morris International

    Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5-star review. We are very happy to hear that you are enjoying your learning opportunities. Our people are our strongest asset, we care about their well-being and work very hard to give them the best possible work environment. However, we are saddened to hear that you that you are not satisfied with the working hours. We take your comment seriously and encourage to talk to your line manager or your HR contact person. Thank you again for taking the time to leave us a review.

  2. "Best of the best"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Management 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philip Morris International full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Working with the best of the best in the manufacturing industry (and other global industries) keeps you aiming for your best as well. Great benefits and pay.

    Cons

    Little work-life balance. Depending on the management, there can be a lot of office politics. Always be ready to move if you want to progress in your career.

    Philip Morris International2020-05-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Historic company attempting to change its entire business model"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Strategic Partnerships in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Philip Morris International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is an historic moment to be a part of this company.

    Cons

    Change is difficult anywhere and particularly challenging here.

    Continue reading
    Philip Morris International2020-03-23

    Philip Morris International Response

    April 27, 2020Philip Morris International

    Hi there! We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We are truly sorry to hear that you are not happy with your overall experience working at PMI in the New York offices. We are indeed in the midst of a historic transformation and we are happy to hear that you are aligned with it. During periods of transformation, it is a very exciting period but it does indeed come together with some uncertainties, we try to create a strong management team that will inspire people and creates a successful change. Our aim is to ensure that every voice is heard, so we take your comments seriously and thank you for your honesty.

  4. "Be Careful"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Philip Morris International full-time

    Pros

    CEO/owner and his executive leadership circa 2013 have stepped back, exited North America or left the company. Low integrity leadership at the time made it aweful at Director level+. Everyone else suffered less but struggled with contant top-down ideas of the day and changes in direction, unreasonable timelines, and pressure to acheive improbable targets with little listening from front line leaders who actually understood the business. New leadership and board structure may have changed this but . . . be careful. Ask tough questions if you're an inbound leader.

    Cons

    If previous leadership exited or tepped back, especially from North America, there may be few. The business is highly focused and dependent on one category and a handful of cutomers. Its struggling to become a modern multi-channel branded company. So some strategic reservations there. Other than that, nice people there who have fun and find ways to live well beyond work. I mark them low on values because they talk a great talk but they don't walk it. Especially on environmental issues.

    Philip Morris International2020-02-07

    Philip Morris International Response

    March 2, 2020Philip Morris International

    Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are truly sorry to hear you are not happy with your overall experience working at PMI and with the leadership in the North American market. As you know, we are currently going through a massive transformation. It's a very exciting period but it does indeed come together with some uncertainties. At Philip Morris, our aim is to ensure that every voice is heard, so we take your comments very seriously and thank you for your honesty. Thank you again for taking the time to leave us a review.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "The worst interpretation of Digital Transformation ever"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Philip Morris International full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Salaries and benefits are higher than the average in the industry

    Cons

    No clear path of digital transformation Lack of managerial courage Hostile company culture International assignments No longer available

    Continue reading
    Philip Morris International2020-02-14
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Company Review"

    2.0
    Current Employee - Director 

    I have been working at Philip Morris International full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and flexibility to work from home

    Cons

    The HR department and leadership is completely outdated

    Philip Morris International2019-11-27

    Philip Morris International Response

    December 23, 2019Philip Morris International

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's good to hear that you're satisfied with the benefits offered by the company. However, we are sorry to hear you feel that the leadership and HR department are outdated. At Philip Morris, our aim is to ensure that every voice is heard, so we take your comments very seriously and thank you for your honesty. We invite you to speak to your line manager whenever you need to discuss any issues and wish you continued success at Philip Morris.

  7. "CTO"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chief Technology Officer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philip Morris International full-time

    Pros

    Awesome place to work forever and ever

    Cons

    Nothing awesome place to work for ever

    Philip Morris International2019-09-11

    Philip Morris International Response

    October 1, 2019Philip Morris International

    Hi, it's great to see that you enjoyed your time at PMI and we appreciate such a positive review. We wish you the very best for the future and to stay in touch with our news why not follow us on social media @InsidePMI Thanks again for sharing your views.

  8. "Planning"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Planner in Egypt, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philip Morris International full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Because it's a big company and I want to get a new challenges

    Cons

    New carrier New people New system work

    Continue reading
    Philip Morris International2019-06-09

    Philip Morris International Response

    September 25, 2019Philip Morris International

    Hi thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we're proud to have been the company you were dedicated to for more than 8 years! At PMI we aim to foster a work culture that inspires and challenges the status quo. As such we're happy to hear that you were adequately challenged and able to succeed during your time with us. Why not stay up to date with our news and follow us @InsidePMI

  9. Helpful (10)

    "Good place to work, lots of politics and slow movement"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Technology Manager 

    I have been working at Philip Morris International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people, interesting problems to solve

    Cons

    Complicated company politics, opacity around careers

    Philip Morris International2019-01-25

    Philip Morris International Response

    February 8, 2019Centralized Community Management

    Hi and thank you so much for your positive score. We are happy to read that you have been enjoying your work environment for over 5 years now. Also, we are glad to see you are enjoying the challenges our company faces daily and the innovative solutions we are looking into. Thank you again for your thought!

  10. Helpful (1)

    "engineer"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philip Morris International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good pay, innovative and global organization

    Cons

    none - i enjoy my time whole heartedly

    Philip Morris International2018-12-13
Found 1090 reviews