Philips Lighting Reviews | Glassdoor

Philips Lighting Reviews

Updated March 23, 2017
325 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.4
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Eric Rondolat
40 Ratings

325 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Work life balance is terrible; too many changes with unclear implementation plan (in 7 reviews)

  • Little to no continuing education for engineers within workplace without going back to school while working (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great environment to work and learn"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern
    Former Employee - Intern
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philips Lighting full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Fun interesting work. The lighting space is growing and changing constantly

    Cons

    Large corporation with many stakeholders for any decision

    Philips Lighting Response

    Feb 28, 2017 – Manager, Employer Brand & Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your internship experience. It's great to hear you enjoyed the environment and had opportunities to learn.


  2. "Great Co-Workers"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Order Management in Somerset, NJ
    Current Employee - Order Management in Somerset, NJ
    Recommends

    I have been working at Philips Lighting full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Employees are awesome to work with everyone is willing to help each other out.

    Cons

    Work from home only 1 day a week but that is mainly due to the department I'm in. Others have more flexibility.


  3. "New Leadership Team from Company wide split, processes undefined"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in North Andover, MA
    Former Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in North Andover, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philips Lighting full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Industry wide leader, great products, reputation for innovation and creativity in a global marketplace

    Cons

    Back-office functions, accounting and finance still affected by the decision to split the HT business from the LI business in early 2016. Many people left the company as a result.

    Advice to Management

    Bring in people with many years of experience to run the company which should help to stop running as a start up.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (93)

    "Great Workplace with Passion for Innovation"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Somerset, NJ
    Current Employee - Marketing in Somerset, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips Lighting full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Progressive company that is transforming the lighting industry. European culture with flexible work environment, solid benefits and competitive salary. To succeed, have to be ambitious and able to take ownership immediately with role.

    Cons

    No complaints, a lot of changes trying to make the company better, always looking for ways to improve the business.

    Philips Lighting Response

    May 4, 2016 – Manager, Employer Brand & Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for your dedication to Philips Lighting.


  6. "Philips Lighting"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Philips Lighting full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work, good benefits, and heavily promotes work life balance

    Cons

    Conflicting KPIs at times leads to departments pulling in opposite directions

    Advice to Management

    Focus on breaking down silos, aligning KPIs, and focusing on the overall objective

    Philips Lighting Response

    Feb 28, 2017 – Manager, Employer Brand & Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We value our employees and take all feedback into consideration.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Project Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Global Platform Manager in Burlington, MA
    Former Employee - Global Platform Manager in Burlington, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Cutting edge LED technology, innovative, good teams

    Cons

    Huge company, tough to understand the overall structure and paths required to get things done

    Advice to Management

    Seriously need orientation material and classes

    Philips Lighting Response

    Feb 28, 2017 – Manager, Employer Brand & Recruitment Marketing

    We appreciate the time you took to post a review. Please note that we take all feedback into consideration. Our new employee onboarding process is currently being revamped. We hope to have a ... More


  8. "Many Changes"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Philips Lighting full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    It could help you to boost your career

    Cons

    His main operation is based in Panama which sometimes makes difficult to take decisions and take the right information on time

    Philips Lighting Response

    Feb 28, 2017 – Manager, Employer Brand & Recruitment Marketing

    Thanks so much for taking the time to review your experience working at Philips Lighting. We appreciate your feedback.


  9. "Accounting"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting in Andover, MA
    Current Employee - Accounting in Andover, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips Lighting full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible working hours
    Work from Home
    Great colleagues
    Good benefits
    European culture, so management is open to new ideas
    Worldwide relocation opportunities
    State of the art workplace

    Cons

    Few holidays
    Relatively lower salary range
    Average employee discounts

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good job

    Philips Lighting Response

    Feb 28, 2017 – Manager, Employer Brand & Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for your dedication.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Commodity Management Specialist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philips Lighting full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Organization with lots of maturity, gold standard practices, great company to learn at, good work life balance

    Cons

    Dutch culture can be a bit shocking, Bureaucracy, lot of non value added tasks drain your time

    Advice to Management

    Company needs to be more agile, get rid of unwanted practices & work requirements, managers should adapt a more global management style

    Philips Lighting Response

    Jan 12, 2017 – Manager, Employer Brand & Recruitment Marketing

    Thanks so much for taking the time to review your experience working at Philips Lighting. We value your feedback.


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips Lighting full-time

    Pros

    There is plenty of opportunity to learn and take on new responsibilities. Good benefits and flexible work schedule.

    Cons

    There is constant change. At times it can be overwhelming.

    Philips Lighting Response

    Feb 28, 2017 – Manager, Employer Brand & Recruitment Marketing

    Great review...thanks so much for sharing your experience working at Philips Lighting!



Showing 325 of 359 reviews
Reset Filters