Philips Lighting Reviews | Glassdoor

Philips Lighting Reviews

Updated May 24, 2017
343 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

343 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Work life balance is terrible; too many changes with unclear implementation plan (in 8 reviews)

  • Little to no continuing education for engineers within workplace without going back to school while working (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Change in time of transition"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Philips Lighting full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Interesting LED technology and good direction with connected digital networking. Significant changes in sales force will hopefully yield good results.

    Cons

    Separation from Philips Healthcare has been a long time in coming, and has caused churn, lack of direction and ambiguity in an increasingly competitive marketplace.

    Philips Lighting Response

    Aug 3, 2016 – Manager, Employer Brand & Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are happy to hear positive reviews from our current employees. Thank you for your dedication to Philips Lighting!


  2. "a nice company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hardware Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Former Employee - Hardware Engineer in San Jose, CA

    I worked at Philips Lighting (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good work-life balance. Management is professional and colleagues are nice.

    Cons

    Competition among LED companies is strong

    Philips Lighting Response

    Jun 2, 2016 – Manager, Employer Brand & Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to post an alumni review. We appreciate your feedback.


  3. "Reliability Engineer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Senior Reliability Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Reliability Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Philips Lighting full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Flex hrs - good mangement

    Cons

    old buildings - old everything cubes etc.

    Philips Lighting Response

    Jun 2, 2016 – Manager, Employer Brand & Recruitment Marketing

    Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Strategic Buyer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategic Buyer in San Marcos, TX
    Current Employee - Strategic Buyer in San Marcos, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips Lighting full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great people to work with.

    Cons

    HR support for corporate employees working at the sites need to improve.

    Philips Lighting Response

    May 4, 2016 – Manager, Employer Brand & Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for your review. We take all feedback into consideration and share it with the appropriate channels. Thanks for your continued dedication to Philips Lighting.


  6. "Vice President"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Philips Lighting full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Growth Business, interesting technology, The future of lighting

    Cons

    Management came from semiconductor space, limited or no knowledge of the lighting market

    Philips Lighting Response

    Mar 30, 2016 – Manager, Employer Brand & Recruitment Marketing

    We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for submitting an alumni review about your experience working for Philips Lighting.


  7. Helpful (5)

    "Philips Lightolier"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Development Engineer in Fall River, MA
    Current Employee - Product Development Engineer in Fall River, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Philips Lighting full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Philips lighting offers great benefits, vacation time greater than industry standard and reasonable work hours and stress levels. Great if your looking for a steady job to support a family or are content working the same position for a lengthy period of time.

    Cons

    Little to no continuing education for engineers within workplace without going back to school while working. The good old boys club is strong here so advancement is slow to none at this location based on strong work ethic and technical skills, you will have to really push for it for a long time. Some of the large scope management directives from Philips don't make sense for this facility and work against the success of it.

    Philips Lighting Response

    Jan 28, 2016 – Manager, Employer Brand & Recruitment Marketing

    We are happy to hear that you enjoy a good work-life balance and the benefits of working at Philips Lighting. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value our employees and take all ... More


  8. Helpful (3)

    "Turbulent times. Steer clear."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Type of Engineer in Somerset, NJ
    Former Employee - Type of Engineer in Somerset, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Philips Lighting full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Salary is on par with the market. Benefits are slightly above the market - especially the 401k match. Work environment is generally friendly at the individual contributor level - really good people work here.

    Cons

    Company is going through tough times. Lighting is splitting from Philips and being sold to a private equity firm. Company restructures about twice a year depending on that the top management feel will make the company most sell-able. People get hired and fired on a whim as part of the restructuring. You never know who you'll be reporting to next month.

    Philips hires talent as a policy. There is no growing talent or professional development of employees. Every position Director level and above is hired from outside the company.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on running a successful company rather than trying to make a struggling company look good to investors.

    Philips Lighting Response

    Mar 30, 2016 – Manager, Employer Brand & Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for submitting an alumni review! We appreciate the feedback about your experience working for Philips Lighting.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Philips Lighting"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Somerset, NJ
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Somerset, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips Lighting (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Relatively new leadership has the company heading in the right direction. There is a lot of change going on which will continue for the next few years. This change creates opportunities for the enterprising employee to get ahead.

    Cons

    Typical big company stuff. Too many meetings, too inward focused at times.

    Advice to Management

    Can't be all things to all people. Focus, focus, focus.

    Philips Lighting Response

    Jan 28, 2016 – Manager, Employer Brand & Recruitment Marketing

    This is indeed an exciting time for Philips Lighting. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your feedback. I continue to be amazed at the energy and enthusiasm of our ... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Above Average Opportunities, Leadership Needs Improvement"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Collierville, TN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Collierville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Philips Lighting full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Numerous opportunities and learning experiences. Grow your resume and travel log quickly.

    Cons

    Leadership is extremely lacking. Recommend applicants have strong self-motivation and ability to multitask in a fast-paced environment.

    Advice to Management

    Philips Emergency Lighting has an extremely skilled staff desperate to not just survive, but thrive. They need leaders, not managers.

    Philips Lighting Response

    Mar 30, 2016 – Manager, Employer Brand & Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We value our employees and appreciate your feedback.


  11. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent salary, good benefits, POOR MANAGEMENT"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Design Engineer in Rosemont, IL
    Former Employee - Senior Design Engineer in Rosemont, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Philips Lighting (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great salary. Some great people with a lot of talent. (Too bad the most of the good ones left).

    Cons

    Layoffs, Delete space to save money so you can put people in smaller spaces like sardines. Remove job titles to streamline (Stupid idea). Ranking system for yearly reviews.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your people first and stop trying to pinch every penny.

    Philips Lighting Response

    Jan 28, 2016 – Manager, Employer Brand & Recruitment Marketing

    Thanks for submitting an alumni review! We appreciate the feedback about your experience.


Showing 343 of 382 reviews
Reset Filters