Philips Reviews | Glassdoor

Philips Reviews

Updated November 19, 2017
821 reviews

Filter

Filter

US - All CitiesFull-timePart-time

821 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "Challenging place that make you a better worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Collections Specialist in Andover, MA
    Current Employee - Senior Collections Specialist in Andover, MA

    I have been working at Philips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    you get out what you put in

    Cons

    sometimes you need to give more

    Philips Response

    Nov 2, 2017 – Talent Brand Manager

    Hello, it's great to hear that you found a position that suits you and we're happy to learn it's with us. Thanks for your review!


  2. "Technical and challenging role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Operations Specialist in Bothell, WA
    Current Employee - Commercial Operations Specialist in Bothell, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Challenging role that creates opportunity for growth and learning.

    Cons

    Very large company. Middle Management is sometimes unchecked and inexperienced or weak managers hinder small parts of the organization.

    Advice to Management

    Create more accountability across all levels of the organization.

    Philips Response

    Nov 2, 2017 – Talent Brand Manager

    Hi, we appreciate you taking the time to review your position as a Commercial Operations Specialist. It's always good to hear from current employees. Thank you!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I work with some really great people on some very interesting projects. Being a large corporation also allows employees to work almost anywhere in the world. I have not done this but some colleagues have and they really enjoyed it. The pay is good, benefits are about industry standard maybe a little above and the 401k is pretty generous.

    Cons

    Management needs to listen to employees more about what changes would actually benefit them. This is not true of all of the management but most just don't listen.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to listen to your employees better but more than that, actually take their feedback to make changes that will make a difference to them, not just looking good on a spreadsheet.

    Philips Response

    Oct 26, 2017 – Talent Brand Manager

    Hello, having been with us for more than a decade gives you a great perspective and we really appreciate hearing from you. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and, more importantly... More


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good life-style job, limited advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Marketer in Pittsburgh, PA
    Former Employee - Senior Marketer in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Philips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    People care about their work. Great company for a 9-5 job.

    Cons

    Limited upward mobility--people have existed in their roles for long periods of time and there is not room for upward mobility. The talented people leave the business, get experience elsewhere, and potentially return (hired into top positions)

    Philips Response

    Nov 9, 2017 – Talent Brand Manager

    Hi, we’re glad that you’ve been working in a motivated team! We really appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback, it’s of great value to us.


  5. Helpful (2)

    "To big for their britches"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collections Specialist in Andover, MA
    Current Employee - Collections Specialist in Andover, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Pays very well, Line management very good and devoted, good team interaction

    Cons

    The company at the highest levels does not make the decisions that make a difference in how I perform. Need to be truely lean even though they say they are. Does not understand how to integrate functions in order to achieve symetry.

    Advice to Management

    Do my job before you tell me how to do it.

    Philips Response

    Nov 9, 2017 – Talent Brand Manager

    Hi, it’s good to hear that you’re well compensated for all your hard work. We’re glad that you took the time to share your thoughts and review with us. Feel free to share your feedback with your... More


  6. "Contoller position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Controller in Monterey, CA
    Current Employee - Controller in Monterey, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Philips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great Benefits and Work Schedules

    Cons

    None thus far.

    Philips Response

    Oct 26, 2017 – Talent Brand Manager

    It's great to receive such positive feedback from a current and long-time employee! Thank you for your review and all the work you're doing for us.


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Company has potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Marcos, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Marcos, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Philips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Definitely some great people working there.

    Cons

    At the time, the company was still focusing on people as to why productivity wasn't up versus looking at the broken processes that needed to be addressed.

    Advice to Management

    Truly try to embrace change focusing on best practices and incorporate the people on the floor who do the work.

    Philips Response

    Nov 2, 2017 – Talent Brand Manager

    Hello, thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We're sorry to hear you've not had an entirely positive experience and we appreciate your input. We wish you all the best in your future career.... More

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Big company with unstable venture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Philips (More than a year)

    Pros

    Big company
    Good perks
    Work life balance

    Cons

    Newly started venture in Boston is unstable.
    They hire people without knowing where they will be consumed.
    They lay off people without notice.

    Advice to Management

    Dont hire people of their stable jobs if you dont have visibility in future.

    Philips Response

    Nov 2, 2017 – Talent Brand Manager

    Hello, it's good to hear you found some really positive aspects to your job, but it's unfortunate to hear it is not an overall positive experience. We really appreciate your feedback, thank you.... More


  9. "The BEST company in Healthcare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Andover, MA
    Current Employee - Manager in Andover, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Philips is consistently on the cutting edge of Patient Monitoring development. Philips is the undisputed leader in the space and by default they get a seat at the table in any opportunity. I have seen may 'start ups' come and go and the idea that you have to be a 'small' company to innovate is simply not true. Philips has a culture that believes in and heavily invests in being the leader. That is why other players copy them.

    Cons

    Like all major companies there are plenty of things that can irritate an employee. With that said, many of the people I work with here have been employees for a decade or longer, even in high turnover jobs. This alone speaks volumes.

    Advice to Management

    Focus less on the quarterly report metrics and more on the long term viability of the business, especially toward the end of the year.

    Philips Response

    Oct 19, 2017 – Talent Brand Manager

    Hi there, we’re very glad about hearing from a current employee with this much experience! Thanks for sharing your thoughts and experiences, it’s very valuable to us. We’ll take your feedback into... More


  10. "Supervisor Collections"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collections Supervisor in Andover, MA
    Current Employee - Collections Supervisor in Andover, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great organization to work for..diverse and educated employees. Management does backup employees. Strong culture and core values.
    .

    Cons

    Need more of growth opportunities to further people's career.

    Advice to Management

    Need to provide recognition of extra efforts put in.

    Philips Response

    Oct 19, 2017 – Talent Brand Manager

    Hi, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback! It’s great to hear that you enjoy working with us.


Showing 2,832 of 3,190 reviews
Reset Filters