KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Philz Coffee

Engaged Employer

Philz Coffee

Add a Review

Philz Coffee Reviews

Updated Sep 22, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 428 of over 431 reviews

3.8
67%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Philz Coffee CEO Mahesh Sadarangani
Mahesh Sadarangani
23 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Philz Coffee and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year
    Featured Review

    Favorite company to work with

    Dec 6, 2021 - Barista in La Jolla, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A great community and diverse culture to work with. I always felt accepted as an Asian American and loved how inclusive the brand and company is.

    Cons

    Long hours on weekends and busy shifts.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Review of Philz Coffee

    Sep 21, 2022 - Cashier/Barista 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work environment, wonderful staff, good pay and benefits, work around worker's schedule

    Cons

    Understaffing issues, customer complaints with pricing

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Great training but disorganized management

    Sep 22, 2022 - Barista 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The training program is great and team cultures are really fun + the free coffee, of course

    Cons

    Management was very disorganized. No one really seemed to know what was going on and team management changes aren't clearly communicated to the team.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Lofty cultural promises led to unsustainable business

    Sep 8, 2022 - Team Lead 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. They go out of their way to hire great people. 2. The product is fantastic. 3. The "Be Yourself" felt true to me -- I could wear what I wanted, put on my own playlists at work, and generally have a good time. 4. I'm still friends with many of my co-workers.

    Cons

    1. Sometimes great people means "nice" -- and can sometimes lead to being taken advantage of. 2. Depending on the store leader, the high service standard can quickly lead to overworking you. 3. It's the most heart-breaking thing to witness the "great people" you hire visibly deteriorate due to exhaustion and overwork.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Philz Review

    Sep 20, 2022 - Cashier/Barista 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun job atmosphere and some creativity room

    Cons

    Occasionally the scheduling is not the best and you will get very busy with only 1 barista.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great Team Culture

    Sep 19, 2022 - Customer Service, Barista/Coffee Maker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Treat team culture and friendly people

    Cons

    Depending on the location, especially in larger cities, the customer is always right brings in some very upset people

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Not what it used to be

    Aug 30, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free food and drinks, nice people depending on where you work. Tips average 4.5-7/hour

    Cons

    Will burn you out for minimum wage. High turnover rate on all levels. They got rid of the $0.50 raise every six months which lowers incentive to stay here longer

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    great

    Sep 13, 2022 - Barista in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great people and a great environment.

    Cons

    pushy customers, often times understaffed

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Depends

    Aug 18, 2022 - Barista in Long Beach, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pay is slightly above average for a coffee shop, and you meet a lot of people. If you're in school, or you're lonely, go for it.

    Cons

    There's not much communication between levels. Upper management likes to pretend there is, but nah, not really. That can be annoying to a lot of people for a lot of reasons, but I don't really care.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Current Employee

    worst manager ever

    Sep 19, 2022 - Barista 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    free coffee, cool coworkers, free lunch and end of day pastries, tips

    Cons

    terrible management, customer service, understaffed

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 428 Reviews

Philz Coffee Reviews FAQs

Philz Coffee has an overall rating of 3.8 out of 5, based on over 431 reviews left anonymously by employees. 67% of employees would recommend working at Philz Coffee to a friend and 55% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 4% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Philz Coffee employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Philz Coffee. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

67% of Philz Coffee employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Philz Coffee 3.6 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.6 for culture and values and 3.3 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Philz Coffee to be career development, culture, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, compensation, management.

Popular Careers with Philz Coffee Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Philz Coffee? Share Your Experiences

or

Philz Coffee Careers

Cover image for Philz Coffee

Our Story Phil Jaber went on a quest 25 years ago to make a really great cup of coffee. He wanted to create a blend that was flavorful,...More

  • Mission
  • Core Values
  • Careers
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Philz Coffee

49 days ago

Careers
Connecting with our customers goes beyond our stores and face-to-face interactions. Our digital team leverages technology to guarantee that every digital experience still has the Philz feeling of community, building up our online and mobile businesses to better our customers’ days. We're adding two new roles to our Digital/IT team -- Director of Store Systems and Director of Infrastructure & Security. We'd love to hear from you if you want your next career move to be to a mission-driven company.
Shared image - Join the Home Office
Join the Home Office
www.philzcoffee.com
See all

Philz Coffee Photos

+ Add Photo
Philz Coffee photo of: All in the Philz Phamily
Philz Coffee photo of: Our Community
Philz Coffee photo of: SF Mission Made. 24th and Folsom
Philz Coffee photo of: Bettering Dayz
Philz Coffee photo of: Smiles that better days!

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Philz Coffee Job Seekers Also Viewed

Nespresso USA Logo
Nespresso USA

3.8

248 Reviews
Compare