Phipps Conservatory Reviews | Glassdoor

Phipps Conservatory Reviews

Updated Jul 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
Phipps Conservatory CEO Richard V. Piacentini
Richard V. Piacentini
0 Ratings
  1. "Best job I have ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Phipps Conservatory

    Pros

    It has challenged me, made me push myself, and inspired me to live a healthier lifestyle

    Cons

    Things takes forever to get done

    Continue reading
    Phipps Conservatory2019-07-14
  2. "Marketing and Communications Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Phipps Conservatory for more than a year

    Pros

    Great real-world experience, positive and healthy work environment, flexible scheduling, plus a beautiful conservatory only steps away from the office building.

    Cons

    There were no cons during my time at Phipps.

    Continue reading
    Phipps Conservatory2018-06-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Team Environment is Refreshing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Phipps Conservatory full-time

    Pros

    Staff are able to share ideas and management is willing to listen and try new ideas! Great benefits package. I feel cared about as an individual. Very strategic thinking and emphasis being placed on growth.

    Cons

    We have a lot going on and can move quickly on some things, so sometimes communication isn't as thorough as I would like. However, I can talk to my manager when I need to and other employees are also helpful in sharing information.

    Continue reading
    Phipps Conservatory2018-05-30
  4. "Enjoying it so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Phipps Conservatory part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - It's fun to be a part of so many wedding ceremonies, baby showers, grad parties, and other events - Friendly environment - Not too labor intensive

    Cons

    - Late hours - Minimum hours some weeks - Lots of standing - Minimum pay

    Continue reading
    Phipps Conservatory2018-05-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Enjoyed my time at Phipps"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Phipps Conservatory full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Beautiful atmosphere, great focus on sustainability and health, very mission and vision driven and a great resource and place of beauty for the community and city.

    Cons

    Some employees/departments are treated better than others by HR. More flexibility, trust, team building, and transparency would benefit moral.

    Continue reading
    Phipps Conservatory2018-05-10
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Wonderful organization, toxic leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Phipps Conservatory full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Phipps is a beauty with a tremendous mission. A great asset to Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania and the nation. Staff is great.

    Cons

    HR leadership is toxic (as mentioned by many on Glassdoor). Backstabbing, punitive. People are afraid to speak out. Executive Director puts too much faith in her “talents”.

    Continue reading
    Phipps Conservatory2018-04-02
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Phipps Conservatory full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits Beautiful atmosphere Friendly staff Health conscious Environmentally conscious

    Cons

    Low pay Difficult management Minimal room for growth

    Continue reading
    Phipps Conservatory2018-03-16
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Beautiful exterior. Toxic interior."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Phipps Conservatory full-time

    Pros

    Beautiful green place to work. Mission. Progressive and passionate coworkers (who unfortunately seldom stay long). Location near other cultural organizations, universities and extensive city park. Potential.

    Cons

    HR divisive, manipulative, disorganized, unqualified, micromanaging and traumatizing. CEO takes ideas of employees and others and presents as own. Staff used and discarded. Dishonest atmosphere with high level of distrust. Chronic tension and confusion between departments. Senior management not open to constructive feedback needed for organizational improvement. Low staff morale overall. Extremely high turnover rate at nearly all levels of the organization.

    Continue reading
    Phipps Conservatory2018-01-06
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Beautiful Place to Work. Ugly Management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Phipps Conservatory full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Every staff member was a joy to work with. 401k plan and medical benefits are great (dental not so much). Beautiful place to work. Admission perks for part-time and full-time employees. Gift Shop discounts for staff. Cafe discounts for staff.

    Cons

    Management is a NIGHTMARE. The bottom line is the bottom line. Money is all that matters and several directors have blatantly said to employees seeking a raise, "your position can be easily filled." Salaries and hourly rates are pennies. Don't even bother asking for a raise. It's set at an automatic 1-3%. Unless a lot of employees start quitting at the same time will management offer a higher salary, and this is only for hourly workers. If you're salaried, you're screwed. There are ridiculous standards for working in any department. If you work in guest services you can only wear "natural tones" (i.e. brown, tan, forest greens, or white). You will be reprimanded for chewing gum, being on your phone, and even for wearing the wrong color khakis (in the winter you wear darker khakis and in the spring you must wear lighter khakis). Oh and of course, no visible tattoos or unnatural hair colors, no matter the department. If you work in the offices it's worse. You are not allowed to share any kind of unhealthy food (i.e. cookies, candy, cakes, anything with sugar in it). You are not allowed to wear perfume or heavily scented bodywash, shampoos or conditions. If you smell too "nice" you will have to sit down with HR and chat about your personal hygiene as it can be distracting and possibly cause an allergic reaction to the staff member that you share a cubicle with, etc. You are not allowed to speak loudly or listen to music loudly in your own cubicle as it can disrupt staff members working near by. And don't even think about eating in your cube. Last but not least, there is a huge cockroach problem throughout the entire property. Some say it's because of the "nature" of the buildings, being so eco-friendly and green, but it's because horticulture constantly gets in shipments of plants from the South that are riddled with invasive species and they don't use traditional pesticides to remove them, and because the offices are built right over what use to be the old Pittsburgh Dept. of Public Works facility. Good luck requesting time off. Work always comes first. There are a lot of cons...hence why the employee turnover is as high as it is.

    Continue reading
    Phipps Conservatory2017-12-13
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Phipps Conservatory full-time

    Pros

    Beautiful place to work, great mission statement, very friendly staff

    Cons

    Pay sucks, upper management very old school and not open to change, no one gets fired but if the top doesn't like you they will drive you crazy till you leave, no flexibility in hours and no trust in employees, someone is always watching you

    Continue reading
    Phipps Conservatory2017-10-20
Found 26 reviews