Phoenix Children's Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

Phoenix Children's Hospital Reviews

Updated July 20, 2017
161 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Phoenix Children's Hospital President and CEO Bob Meyer
Bob Meyer
84 Ratings

161 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • High turnover due in a large part to employees not having a voice and very controlled top-down management (in 5 reviews)

  • But if Middle or Senior Management had to jump end the place would implode (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Great hospital, great people, great benefits, more than just a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phoenix Children's Hospital full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    I have been working at PCH for several years and working here is an absolute pleasure. Unified teams, focus on excellent patient care, outstanding leadership, clear vision for the future, competitive pay and benefits. The people you work with at PCH are amazing, honest, hardworking people who really want to do a great job for the patients and families.

    Cons

    I personally don't see any cons to working at PCH. If you are looking for a slow pace environment where the work is the same everyday, PCH would not be the place for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Phoenix Children's Hospital Response

    May 19, 2017 – VP Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience here. As a seasoned PCH employee, I'm glad to hear you have had a great experience. Yes, things do move quickly here!!


  2. "Supportive Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    Pros

    Supportive Team, good upper management.

    Cons

    If you like working with children and their families don't have any Cons.

  3. "Outpatient Coder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outpatient Coder
    Current Employee - Outpatient Coder
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phoenix Children's Hospital full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Awesome benefits and good salary.

    Cons

    It's all about numbers.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!!

    Phoenix Children's Hospital Response

    Jun 16, 2017 – VP Talent Acquisition

    I'm glad you are enjoying working at PCH! Thank you for your comments. Hope you are with us a very long time!


  4. "PCT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pct in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Pct in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phoenix Children's Hospital part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Loved the Kids, and staff

    Cons

    management has too much on their plates

    Advice to Management

    communicate

    Phoenix Children's Hospital Response

    Jun 16, 2017 – VP Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to provide your comments. You are right, we are all very busy here trying to do great things. I hope you will consider us again in the future.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Care Navigator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Navigator
    Current Employee - Care Navigator
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phoenix Children's Hospital full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    PCH is a great organization with excellent patient care as it's primary focus. Patients and employees alike walk through the doors and feel welcome. Employees are recognized and regularly shown appreciation. PCH does a fantastic job of keeping employees engaged with activities and events on and off campus.

    Cons

    On campus parking is terrible.

    Phoenix Children's Hospital Response

    Jun 16, 2017 – VP Talent Acquisition

    I'm glad you are finding PCH to be a great place to work. I think many people here would agree to that! About parking...I've heard it say that we are not parking challenged, we are 'convenient... More


  6. "PCT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pct in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Pct in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Phoenix Children's Hospital full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Awesome cafeteria and that is about it

    Cons

    pay scale is very low!

    Phoenix Children's Hospital Response

    Jul 6, 2017 – VP Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your comments. I'm glad you liked the cafeteria. I hope you will reconsider us one day and come back to find some additional great things that are happening as we grow.


  7. "Pre Access Financial Clearance Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Access Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - Patient Access Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phoenix Children's Hospital full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Love the job. Co-workers are very helpful. Management is accessible.

    Cons

    Training needs to be more hands on. I actually trained myself after the third day. Hard copy hand outs help but there are so many additional steps in the processes that new-hire is not aware of. Leads are available but are also working their accounts. Within the first month, employee is already expected to meet goals. Hard to do when you are still learning the program particulars and processes.

    Advice to Management

    Have training course for new-hires much like Orientation. New hire may be experienced in what the job duties are but is not experienced in the new programs to be learned and used. Having an actual registration training program where new-hires can complete accounts, make errors and learn from those errors would be beneficial. Learning to work through the system is important but very hard to do in the live environment. That's when a practice environment would be very useful.

    Phoenix Children's Hospital Response

    Jun 16, 2017 – VP Talent Acquisition

    I'm glad to hear you mention opportunities around training. We are ahead of you on that! We are expanding our training department to bring new content to the hospital population in the very near... More

  8. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Foundation Team Memer in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - Foundation Team Memer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phoenix Children's Hospital full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Being a recent hire, I can say that the onboarding process has been great. The staff are incredibly friendly and the culture, commitment and values are represented by all. I'd definitely recommend Phoenix Children's Hospital as a great place to work.

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of!

    Phoenix Children's Hospital Response

    Jun 6, 2017 – VP Talent Acquisition

    Thanks! Glad you found our onboarding experience great. We work very hard to keep it updated and fresh. We are very glad you are here.


  9. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Phoenix Children's Hospital full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great Benefits; Decent Salary; Strong Sense of Teamwork/Collaboration;

    Cons

    Staffing upheaval in my first week left me feeling a bit overwhelmed with the nature and volume of work that I immediately inherited from exiting employees.

    Phoenix Children's Hospital Response

    Jun 6, 2017 – VP Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to provide your comments. I'm glad you find PCH a great place to work. Yes, we have been through some changes but hopefully you will find calm after the storm...


  10. "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Phoenix Children's Hospital (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    helping children's, good feel and nice co workers

    Cons

    need to know someone to get a promotion, it is based on who you know not what you know

    Advice to Management

    stop asking for donations when IT is wasting millions and start hire qualified IT people instead of friends and family (CIO friends, CEO family)

    Phoenix Children's Hospital Response

    Jun 16, 2017 – VP Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your comments. I'm glad you found the mission inspiring. Hope you will consider working here in the future.


Showing 161 of 165 reviews
Reset Filters