Phoenix Children's Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

Phoenix Children's Hospital Reviews

Updated November 24, 2018
294 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Phoenix Children's Hospital President and CEO Bob Meyer
Bob Meyer
186 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Warm culture, great mission, great benefits" (in 20 reviews)

  • "Great place to work with excellent benefits" (in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "In my opinion there are no cons" (in 13 reviews)

  • "Upper management is out of touch and the HR dept there is the worst" (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "401k"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Phoenix Children's Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Match up to 4% on 401k

    Cons

    Not a lot of opportunities for advancement.

    Phoenix Children's Hospital Response

    Nov 29, 2018 – VP Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your comments! The match on the 401K is great but even better is the fact that is matches upon hire!


  2. "Senior Informatics Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Informatics Senior Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Informatics Senior Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phoenix Children's Hospital full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Best culture in the valley. I have worked for most healthcare organizations around town hands down the best. These folks care and it shows. Great coworkers, great mission. Compensation was excellent. I only left because I received an offer I couldn't turn down.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing

    Phoenix Children's Hospital Response

    Nov 29, 2018 – VP Talent Acquisition

    Great to hear! Thanks for sharing. Our family-centered approach to caring goes beyond our patients and families. I think it extends to our employees as well. Glad you are here.

  3. "Excellent hiring and onboarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phoenix Children's Hospital full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Hiring process is thorough but fast, occupational health and HR are proactive and well organized. New employees are immediately provided useful orientation. The IT department works very quickly to address any problems for new employee access. I had my ID badge and my e-mail set up before my first day!

    Cons

    Parking on the main campus can be difficult.

    Phoenix Children's Hospital Response

    Nov 29, 2018 – VP Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the shout-out to Occ Health and HR! Our onboarding has gone through a major overhaul over the last year and I think you might agree that it is more meaningful and engaging. Glad you are... More


  4. "Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Phoenix Children's Hospital full-time

    Pros

    great company to work for

    Cons

    acuity of patients for the ratio

    Phoenix Children's Hospital Response

    Nov 29, 2018 – VP Talent Acquisition

    I'm glad you are enjoying your work here. We are glad to have you and are grateful for the difference you are making. Thanks.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Welcoming Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phoenix Children's Hospital full-time

    Pros

    The pre-employment and onboarding processes are top-notch. I moved here from out of state where the culture was not nearly this welcoming. Lots of respect for co-workers and colleagues in other areas. Very team-oriented.

    Cons

    The only downside for me is the commute to work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! The culture is reflected in your employees.

    Phoenix Children's Hospital Response

    Nov 29, 2018 – VP Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your comments. I'm glad you are liking it here. Happy to hear that you appreciate our onboarding. We have concentrated on the quality of our new hire orientation and the entire... More


  6. "The truth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dispatcher in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Dispatcher in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phoenix Children's Hospital full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great mission for a company to help children. Great Hours.

    Cons

    Department heads slow to help train and mold staff. Not quick to take employee's ideas to help streamline or make better relations with them

    Advice to Management

    Listen to staff and try to mentor them no matter how long they are there.

    Phoenix Children's Hospital Response

    Nov 29, 2018 – VP Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to provide your comments. Your long tenure here has given you insight that is appreciated. Thanks for the great advice.


  7. "Certified Professional Coder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Professional Coder in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - Certified Professional Coder in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phoenix Children's Hospital full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I love the department that I work in because everyone was/is very helpful and overall this is a great place to work. I plan on retiring from here. It truly amazes me to walk around this campus and to see all of the amazing things that happen here.

    Cons

    I have no "cons" to list!

    Phoenix Children's Hospital Response

    Nov 29, 2018 – VP Talent Acquisition

    So glad you are here and you are loving it! Thanks for taking the time to provide your comments. Let me know when the retirement party is scheduled!

  8. "Positive, helpful atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phoenix Children's Hospital full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Working in a Children's hospital can be hard sometimes, you see families who are hurting and children who are in pain. Working here however who see a team of people who are dedicated to helping these families and it is very special. There is a very positive atmosphere and the culture is very special.

    Cons

    No public transportation to get you there.

    Phoenix Children's Hospital Response

    Nov 29, 2018 – VP Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your comments. Working in a children's hospital can sometimes hit folks emotionally for sure. I'm glad you are enjoying it here and I am grateful you are here. Regarding transportation... More


  9. "PCMG MA FLOAT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Assistant in Mesa, AZ
    Current Employee - Medical Assistant in Mesa, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phoenix Children's Hospital part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    You get to help out a lot of kiddos and the staff at every clinic (including doctors) are very friendly and always willing to help.

    Cons

    I cannot think of any.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work.

    Phoenix Children's Hospital Response

    Nov 29, 2018 – VP Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your comments. I'm glad you are here.


  10. "PCMG Access Scheduler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PCMG Access Scheduler in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - PCMG Access Scheduler in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phoenix Children's Hospital full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The staff here is very happy to be working here. They are helpful, courteous and willing to help. The atmosphere is inviting and always positive.

    Cons

    I haven't found one yet.

    Phoenix Children's Hospital Response

    Nov 29, 2018 – VP Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to provide your comments. I agree that the atmosphere is very positive here.