KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Phoenix Children's Hospital

Engaged Employer

Phoenix Children's Hospital

Add a Review

Phoenix Children's Hospital Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jan 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 of over 479 reviews

4.1
84%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Phoenix Children's Hospital President and CEO Bob Meyer
Bob Meyer
273 Ratings
Pros
  • "PCH covers AAPC dues and give us books(in 45 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, friendly staff, growing facility(in 34 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Salary is not competitive at PCH(in 24 reviews)

  • "Very poor communication between upper management which leads to confusion(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      It’s about the kids

      Jan 7, 2021 - Manager in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Caring for children is a wonderful cause, and most that work at PCH are there because of this. Many devoted team members in operations that keep the nuts and bolts of the place in check and running smoothly.

      Cons

      Executive administration doesn’t care enough to investigate when there are operational issues that are driven by some of the upper management. Too trusting in their VP’s to listen to concerns that arise beneath. There is a communication barrier/disconnect between middle management and the C-suite unlike anything I’ve seen in previous corporate settings.

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Staff is the only reason to stay

      May 16, 2020 - Information Technology 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've had some of the best coworkers I can ask for here.

      Cons

      Pay is low, poor communication with managers and up, lack of trust of employees, upper management would rather blame then look for solutions. Be prepared to always be wrong...

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      OR staff

      Aug 21, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I’m only neutral about this review for the children I see on a daily basis. They’re the reason PCH is around. The gratitude and fulfillment I get from helping children is heartwarming.

      Cons

      Where do I begin... management is poor in listening and implementing action to your concerns, and is very political when it comes to raises, promotions, and CS’s. Very poor communication between upper management which leads to confusion. ALSO if you plan on working in the EAST OR building they don’t pay any differential for taking call as the main OR staff does. Nothing ever gets addressed, mostly swept under a rug and forgot about. Dr’s are very passive aggressive and childlike; will gossip about you to other providers and smile in your face. Also to mention the pay is significant lower than many other competitors in the Phoenix metro areas. Anyways I think y’all get it

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Not the best place to work

      Nov 5, 2012 - Clinical RN II in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Prior to the new hospital being built: Worked with amazing staff, that's what kept a lot of us there. Child Life was awesome. Some of the physicians were amazing. An interesting place to work, never a dull moment. Met some awesome and wonderful children/families.

      Cons

      Floor manager unorganized. During my 5 years of employment the floor manager was switched 3 times. Upper management not involved. Unsafe working conditions and high acuity. Often understaffed and concerns never addressed. Underpaid. Under-appreciated. The staff that needed reprimanding never got in trouble yet continued to pose a threat to the patients and entire organization. Employees not treated well.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Wasted Potential

      May 15, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've had some great learning opportunities here, and the people are truly what set this hospital apart. They really are there for the patients and families and want to do right by them. Staff are very knowledgeable, passionate, and self-motivated, and I have made many friends in my years here.

      Cons

      The organization is top heavy- lots of VPs, high turnover, lots of micromanagement and starting projects over from scratch every 2 years when new management comes on board. I couldn't even tell you who our current upper management folks are right now, nor what they do; but they sure like to give us knee jerk mandates without actually coming over to see what we're dealing with first. There's a lack of common sense and basic management fundamentals. For example, they want the docs to see more patients, but yet as a "money saver" they have stripped departments of their support staff- tell MA's for example not to work when the docs are not in clinic and count their beans to avoid overtime. This has actually resulted in the docs handling more MA tasks, because their MA's aren't there when they need them. Apparently this is all a squeeze because of the new ER that's being built. Regardless, it's been a fascinating case study in how not to treat support staff. I am also very dismayed at the lack of work life balance. They have stalled for YEARS on an on-site daycare option for all of the parents who work for them, despite it being a #1 priority for employees. You can also barely manage to build up enough PTO to take vacation, because you are forced to use your PTO for holidays, regardless of whether you celebrate them or not. Those who are in a position that could work remotely are usually told not to. PCH is definitely not cutting edge in this area, nor do I think there is any interest by management in changing this, ever. Right now, it is not a great place to work. There is an unspoken hiring freeze, which makes it miserable for everyone else once one valuable person leaves. There's also a management freeze. I brought up a safety issue to my immediate supervisor the other day and suggested we needed to make a change to our processes. She said she was told no major changes right now, per upper management. If that isn't backwards, I don't know what is. I am looking for a new job as we speak, and many of my colleagues have mentioned they're considering it too.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Too many polotics

      Sep 12, 2016 -  in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Childrens is a great hospital for your childs care

      Cons

      Upper management really only looks at the bottom line, plays favorites, pay is low. Working with the children is suppose to make up for low pay, and crappy health insurance

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Phoenix Children's Hospital Response

      VP Talent Acquisition

      I'm sorry your experience here was less than it could have been. I hope you will see over time that we are making changes and one day, might have an interest in coming back to PCH.

    7. 3.0
      Current Employee

      PICU RN

      May 12, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with! Good facility, lots of specialties. Good benefits

      Cons

      Not paid enough for the hard work we do. No growth within the hospital professionally or financially. No effective clinical ladder. Upper management is MIA and still tries to make all the hospital policies and rules.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Phoenix Children's Hospital Response

      VP Talent Acquisition

      Thanks for your comments. I agree with the great people, benefits and facility. Your areas for change are duly noted. I hope as you watch the hospital grow, you will find we are moving the needle on the issues that you raise. Thanks!

    8. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Shady upper management

      Sep 14, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love taking care of kids... and this is a children's hospital so I guess they've got that going for them. And I do love my coworkers! Awesome team.

      Cons

      Do not value nurses. Do not value experience. Nurses are disposable. They know they have hundreds of nurses lined up wanting to work here. High turn over as a result. Upper management does what ever physicians want... even at the expense of nurses.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      RN

      Nov 29, 2017 - Staff RN in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome huge hospital to work for! Very accommodating with scheduling and a huge opportunity for growth!

      Cons

      very "cliquey" low hourly pay rarely see upper management

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Phoenix Children's Hospital Response

      VP Talent Acquisition

      Glad you find the hospital a great place to work! Scheduling can be tough and glad to hear that you find some flexibility. Thanks for your input regarding opportunities for improvement. Hopefully you will see the needle move as time goes by.

    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Amazing co-workers horrible upper management

      Aug 24, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Co workers are the best

      Cons

      Upper management is out of touch and the HR dept there is the worst.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Phoenix Children's Hospital Response

      VP Talent Acquisition

      I appreciate your comments. I'm sorry I didn't have the chance to talk with you while you were here to learn more about your comments.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Phoenix Children's Hospital Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Phoenix Children's Hospital? Share Your Experiences

    Phoenix Children's Hospital logo
    or