Phoenix Contact Reviews | Glassdoor

Phoenix Contact Reviews

Updated Jan 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Phoenix Contact CEO Frank Stührenberg
Frank Stührenberg
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "Gute Bezahlung, soziale Einstellung, Gleitzeit, Arbeitszeitmodelle,(in 3 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

Cons
  • "Need of German language to higher extent(in 3 reviews)

  • "Nothing to say anything in negative(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Phoenix Contact full-time

    Pros

    Good People Great Environment Loved my job

    Cons

    Not many bad things to say

    Phoenix Contact2019-10-31
  2. "best ever employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phoenix Contact full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    all at the best within this company

    Cons

    nothing to say about, very great company

    Advice to Management

    attitude change from team member would be appreciated

    Phoenix Contact2019-10-30
  3. "Excellent experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Design Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phoenix Contact part-time

    Pros

    Excellent experience with Phoenix Contact! Friendly and helpful co-workers. Wonderful culture/work environment.

    Cons

    I really cannot think of any.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the positive culture at Phoenix Contact!

    Phoenix Contact2018-01-02
  4. "Comfortable and Stable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phoenix Contact full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, Work/Life Balance, Nice Facilities

    Cons

    Compensation structure skewed towards sales, engineering is a distant second, rigid advancement structure,

    Advice to Management

    Identify people who add value and compensate appropriately. Provide support structure and resources to be truely innovative. Find ways to compensate and reward high performing employees.

    Phoenix Contact2017-09-17
  5. Helpful (7)

    "High five"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phoenix Contact for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They say if you use two alarm clocks, you hate your job. Sometimes I don't use an alarm clock at all. I've worked here for years and the environment is just as friendly as the first day I set foot on the campus. Phoenix Contact has employee advancement programs and continuously look for ways to improve their processes (in all departments). I read some feedback about growing pains. I would disagree. Executives and management have regular meetings to ensure proper planning and growth measures are in place. If I wanted, I could literally walk into our HR manager or President's office to address a concern. Recognition of individual and department achievements are also huge. You won't just get a pat on the back. It's a great place to work. I've seen people high five on the running track as they pass each other. This brings me to wellness. If you have health goals, we have our own doctor to get you on track (pun intended). No-way? Yeah-way.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are people that work here that have never worked at a terrible place, so they don't appreciate what Phoenix Contact has to offer. This is no fault of the company.

    Advice to Management

    I feel departments should have the ability to evaluate their management in a constructive way, without the managers feeling as though they've been thrown under the bus.

    Phoenix Contact2016-08-26
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phoenix Contact

    Pros

    Best company I've ever worked for. Great atmosphere, great workers.

    Cons

    There is nothing wrong with this company.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Phoenix Contact2016-02-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Middletown, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phoenix Contact

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, strong company values

    Cons

    Wasn't there long enough to see any

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Phoenix Contact2016-01-12
  8. "It is a great place to work because they truly invest in their employees from their health to all sorts of training."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Product Specialist in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phoenix Contact

    Pros

    Culture promotes a committed spirit, friendliness, and honesty.

    Cons

    None at this time from me.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to walk around meet with employees

    Phoenix Contact2015-01-05
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Lacking a culture of innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phoenix Contact full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Well known, global company with very high quality products. Provide excellent training on products. Friendly culture across all levels.

    Cons

    This is a German company, and all decisions take place in HQ. Do not have a clear understanding of what they want to focus on. Electronics, Device Connectors, Networking, or Solar products. They also don't have a clear channel strategy, and do a lot of business direct rather than through distribution, especially in Europe.

    Advice to Management

    Please share your vision to the employees in a clear manner, and avoid repeated change of strategy.

    Phoenix Contact2015-01-05
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Company going through growing pains."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phoenix Contact full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy-going atmosphere from the president on down. Co-workers are pleasant, and friendlier than at any company I've ever worked for in the past. The owner has set a goal to be one of the best places to work in the world, and evidence of that is all around, from the employee fitness center, to the ergonomic workstations.

    Cons

    German parent company uses different systems, and expects same results from US operations, with the same ease and speed achieved in Germany. This is definitely not the case and friction between cultures arises occasionally.

    Advice to Management

    Try not to forget the benefits of a small company. Piling procedures on top of procedures is taking away the friendly atmosphere, and sterilizing it by creating a lot of "it's not my job" type responses.

    Phoenix Contact2014-09-17
Found 63 reviews