Phunware Reviews | Glassdoor

Phunware Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 78 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Phunware CEO Alan S. Knitowski
Alan S. Knitowski
57 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "PhunCoin will make Phunware Phantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phunware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * Challenging every day, never a dull moment. * Talented & Smart Individual * Awesome growth Potential * Easy Pitch to Any client * Team Events & Friday Lunch * HR & Receptionist are the greatest

    Cons

    Too many products & offerings can make overwhelming to explain Phunware full capabilities.

    Advice to Management

    Promote growth from within instead of hiring more senior level position. Any issue can be resolved from with transparent communication and realistic goals & planning. COO is doing a great job on motivating the Team to keep grinding to the finish line. CMO is doing an awesome job to keeping the company brands and messaging unify.

    Phunware2018-10-11
  2. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Newport Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Phunware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are flexible work hours and good coworkers.

    Cons

    Communication between departments may leave something to be desired, but they were improving when I left.

    Phunware2019-04-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Account Management in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phunware full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Great culture - Smart people - Quality product

    Cons

    Ad sales is a crowded and very competitive space

    Advice to Management

    Continue to work to integrate teams in difference offices, your work doesn't go unnoticed.

    Phunware2018-05-31
  4. "Just like any start up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phunware full-time

    Pros

    Get to work on New Tech, pre ipo stocks

    Cons

    Low pay, lacks better process,

    Phunware2018-04-26
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to work and learn. (Services Dev Team)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Newport Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phunware full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Get experience working on multiple apps. - Work on apps for big clients. - Follow cutting edge technology. - Great coworkers and supportive managers. - No politics, good people are given more responsibilities. - Allowed to work from home.

    Cons

    - Average salary. - If you are not good and mess up, you will get laid off. - If your side of business is not making money, you will get laid off.

    Advice to Management

    - Improve salaries to keep talent.

    Phunware2018-03-28

    Phunware Response

    April 5, 2018Director, Software Development

    Thanks for the feedback! It’s nice to see that our Pros outweigh the Cons, and we’re extremely happy that you find your managers to be supportive. We encourage you to discuss your specific salary expectations/concerns with your management team. As for layoffs or performance related ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Too much with too little"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Phunware full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Decent pay, flexible schedule, friendly coworkers

    Cons

    Worked thin. Teams are very small and working on too many projects at once. Company does not follow agile methodology (which would help a ton)

    Advice to Management

    Focus. Find a project that Phunware represents. Stop shooting for the sun. Hire more people if you want a varied portfolio, or be the best at particular fields and hone your current workforce

    Phunware2018-04-10

    Phunware Response

    April 18, 2018Senior Director, Design

    Thank you for you taking the time to share your feedback. On a management level, we certainly want to make sure our employees can feel focused on the work they are doing and don’t feel stretched thin. Being in a competitive industry, and having a fast paced culture such as ours, ...

    Show More
  7. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phunware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment, flexible PTO

    Cons

    Lack of training, processes not aligned with the team

    Advice to Management

    -

    Phunware2018-03-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Newport Beach, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Phunware full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    overall great atomsphere and fun people. managers are nice and friendly

    Cons

    over all no cons. This is a good place to work and grow your career

    Advice to Management

    keep it up

    Phunware2018-03-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Funding Challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Phunware full-time

    Pros

    The people are great to work with. Everyone believes in the business and wants it to turn the corner and take off.

    Cons

    Constant funding challenges. Like any startup, always looking for more funds to continue on with the mission. Hard to keep good people because you always feel like you need to be looking for another job in case the next round of funding doesn't come. That being said, the CEO has always been able to find the next source of funds.

    Phunware2017-12-02

    Phunware Response

    February 14, 2018

    Thanks for the feedback! We pride ourselves on our ability to hire the best and brightest. The startup world can be challenging at times, but we are excited for what is on the horizon!

  10. "Good company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phunware full-time

    Pros

    Very talented individual and good company to work.

    Cons

    Work life balance. Need to available for weekends to resolve issues.

    Phunware2017-11-01

    Phunware Response

    February 14, 2018

    Thanks for your feedback!

Found 78 reviews