KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Phunware

Is this your company?

Phunware

Add a Review

Phunware Reviews

Updated Jul 1, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 92 of over 97 reviews

3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Phunware Chairman and CEO Alan S. Knitowski
Alan S. Knitowski
68 Ratings
Pros
  • "You will be working on cutting edge technology(in 6 reviews)

  • "There are free snacks and drinks(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Sometimes "crunch mode" makes it hard to find work/life balance - not uncommon in tech(in 9 reviews)

  • "Being the best does not make for an "easy" 9-5 job, so expect long hours and tight deadlines(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Sales Engineer

    Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

    429

    167 Comments

    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Awesome first UX job

      Apr 14, 2021 - UX-UI Designer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture, phun, tech, collaborative, ux generalist

      Cons

      lower competitive pay, commute in Austin

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Was good until the good people left but pay was always terrible

      Jul 1, 2021 - UX-UI Designer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good managers and people (until they left)

      Cons

      - Constant fear of being laid off - Terrible pay, hard to survive on it - Once my direct managers left, I didn't have the same support or reassurance I wouldn't be laid off - New managers would passive-aggressively watch over our shoulders to see if we were working - New managers worried less about our growth or getting the work done, but rather make us do busy-work - CEO would walk the office at 8am and take names of who wasn't in their seats yet - Executive leadership is extremely out of touch, driving six-figure cars to work and paying experienced designers barely enough to survive in Austin - Leadership changes directions all the time. One week it's crypto, next week its enterprise software, next week its services. No clear direction which leads to massive layoffs. When I started, there was 200 employees, when I left, there were less than 50. - Unlimited PTO isn't really unlimited. When you get past 12 days, expect to get a lecture from managers about how other companies only really give 10-12 PTO days a year.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Don't do it

      Jun 3, 2021 - User Experience Designer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not any pros to be honest.

      Cons

      Underpaid (well below average). Overworked. Bad management. Instead of competitive pay, it's one of the companies that try to justify with snacks and throws out phrases like "We'll treat you like family!" There's a constant fear of being laid off. It doesn't really matter because you can't survive on the pay anyways. Managers will secretly time when you come into work, when you leave, and how long your lunches are. Co-workers have huge egos, will belittle you, and management doesn't care. My advice is to take the job if you are desperate, but keep applying for other jobs in the meantime.

      4 people found this review helpful

      Phunware Response

      Director, Human Resources

      We strive hard to make Phunware a great place to work and, clearly, that didn't happen for you. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please reach out to me at hr@phunware.com

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      It was Phun times before it went public.

      Dec 16, 2020 - Software Test Engineer in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Core group is or was a close knit group of work hard play hard team members

      Cons

      Everyone is underpaid. High turnover.

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Plenty of opportunity

      May 17, 2020 - Computer Programming 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      work the cutting edge, fellowship, snacks.

      Cons

      Sometimes "crunch mode" makes it hard to find work/life balance - not uncommon in tech.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      They tried hard

      Apr 20, 2020 - Development Manager in Newport Beach, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours, many people with deep mobile experiences.

      Cons

      Their core vision is what was hot at that moment. Contract development generates insufficient cash flow, doing too much but unable to focus on the next big thing. Finally, no one knows what the next big thing is.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Nearly half of the employees were furloughed

      Mar 28, 2020 - Unknown in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work schedule and nothing beyond that

      Cons

      Very unstable work environment Since the company does not do a great job in providing job security, people are very scared to share their knowledge and resources. As It may make them replaceable. Not a good environment to be in!!!

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Jobs are not very stable here

      Jan 20, 2020 - Quality Assurance Engineer in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Managers are level headed and open to communicating about jobs and any issues.

      Cons

      The president of the company is not loyal to the employees. Phunware jobs are done on a project by project basis and if they lose a contract with any of their clients then your job will be immediately gone.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work despite the growing pains

      Sep 25, 2019 - Software QA Engineer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Flexible hours/schedule, in part due to working with other time zones -Cooperative atmosphere; Everyone really wants to help each other succeed Everyone I worked with was very friendly. It really was a pleasure to work with them.

      Cons

      -Growing pains -Small QA department At the time I was employed there, they were going through some growing pains due to a recent transition involving becoming a public company. This resulted in a series of layoffs. They tried to pin the reason for the layoffs on employee presence in the office, but I feel that was completely unrelated. I couldn't say what happened from then on, but I personally feel that trying to blame it on physical presence was a very poor move. In addition, the layoffs resulted in a large reduction of our QA team. Some of the team members were already stretched thin in terms of their work load already, so I hope they were able to address that.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Place to work

      Jul 8, 2019 - Software Engineer in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good/positive place to work. You can have a good work life balance.

      Cons

      No bad experience working over here.

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 92 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Phunware Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Phunware? Share Your Experiences

    or