Phunware Reviews | Glassdoor

Phunware Reviews

Updated April 10, 2018
73 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Phunware Chairman and CEO Alan S. Knitowski
Alan S. Knitowski
54 Ratings

73 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Good work life balance for employees (in 4 reviews)

  • You will be working on cutting edge technology (in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • work/life balance can be uneven (in 8 reviews)

  • Miami) and transparency would help (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Phun place to work with co-workers who Pheel like Phamily"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newport Beach, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newport Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phunware full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    It really was about the people. Great coworkers and startup vibe in the Newport office. Always cool to work at a company that has a variety of technical capabilities and works with very cool clients (e.g. CBS, The CW, FOX). Amazing culture and work/life balance.

    Cons

    Marketing all of PW's capabilities can sometimes be a challenge (not entirely a bad problem to have though). More office-to-office collaboration (e.g. Newport + Austin + SD + Miami) and transparency would help.

    Phunware Response

    Sep 22, 2017 – Human Resources

    We are glad you liked the atmosphere and culture here. We agree -- we’ve had the opportunity to work with really awesome brands and our success has been possible because of the great people at... More


  2. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Newport Beach, CA
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Newport Beach, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Phunware full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    overall great atomsphere and fun people. managers are nice and friendly

    Cons

    over all no cons.
    This is a good place to work and grow your career

    Advice to Management

    keep it up

  3. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Austin, TX
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phunware full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good work environment, flexible PTO

    Cons

    Lack of training, processes not aligned with the team

    Advice to Management

    -


  4. "Good place to work and learn. (Services Dev Team)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Newport Beach, CA
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Newport Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phunware full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Get experience working on multiple apps.
    - Work on apps for big clients.
    - Follow cutting edge technology.
    - Great coworkers and supportive managers.
    - No politics, good people are given more responsibilities.
    - Allowed to work from home.

    Cons

    - Average salary.
    - If you are not good and mess up, you will get laid off.
    - If your side of business is not making money, you will get laid off.

    Advice to Management

    - Improve salaries to keep talent.

    Phunware Response

    Apr 5, 2018 – Director, Software Development

    Thanks for the feedback! It’s nice to see that our Pros outweigh the Cons, and we’re extremely happy that you find your managers to be supportive. We encourage you to discuss your specific salary... More


  5. "Too much with too little"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Designer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Phunware full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Decent pay, flexible schedule, friendly coworkers

    Cons

    Worked thin. Teams are very small and working on too many projects at once. Company does not follow agile methodology (which would help a ton)

    Advice to Management

    Focus. Find a project that Phunware represents. Stop shooting for the sun. Hire more people if you want a varied portfolio, or be the best at particular fields and hone your current workforce

    Phunware Response

    Apr 18, 2018 – Senior Director, Design

    Thank you for you taking the time to share your feedback. On a management level, we certainly want to make sure our employees can feel focused on the work they are doing and don’t feel stretched... More


  6. "Funding Challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Phunware full-time

    Pros

    The people are great to work with. Everyone believes in the business and wants it to turn the corner and take off.

    Cons

    Constant funding challenges. Like any startup, always looking for more funds to continue on with the mission. Hard to keep good people because you always feel like you need to be looking for another job in case the next round of funding doesn't come. That being said, the CEO has always been able to find the next source of funds.

    Phunware Response

    Feb 14, 2018

    Thanks for the feedback! We pride ourselves on our ability to hire the best and brightest. The startup world can be challenging at times, but we are excited for what is on the horizon!


  7. "Good company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phunware full-time

    Pros

    Very talented individual and good company to work.

    Cons

    Work life balance. Need to available for weekends to resolve issues.

    Phunware Response

    Feb 14, 2018

    Thanks for your feedback!

  8. Helpful (1)

    ""Exceptional work culture and team""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Android Software Engineer in Newport Beach, CA
    Current Employee - Android Software Engineer in Newport Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phunware full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great place to work full of smart people that care about you and wonderful environment. The culture here is very collaborative and mission driven. It feels like everyone is brought into the vision of the company, which makes it easy to come into work everyday. The culture is really amazing and they strive to help you become better.No silos, open communication, honesty is encouraged and no shaming when mistakes are made.They have regular happy hours.

    In one line This is by the far the best team and best work culture I have ever experienced.

    Cons

    No Cons so far. i am really glad to be part of such exceptional team.

    Advice to Management

    PLEASE maintain the exceptional company culture.

    Phunware Response

    Feb 5, 2018 – Director, Human Resources

    You are right about the passion and talent that exists at Phunware - both are plentiful. We are proud of our culture and encourage open communication. Thanks so much for your feedback... I am glad... More


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great product, amazing people, stellar experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Marketing Manager in Austin, TX
    Former Employee - Content Marketing Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phunware full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    If I had not been recruited for a more lucrative position, I would have been happy to stay in my full-time Marketing position. Here's why:

    * Company uses modern, cloud-based software systems I love: Google Apps, Slack, Adobe CC, Kapost
    * Option to customize workstation: Macbook Pro with external monitor on raised platform with standing desk and high chair
    * Good benefits, including HSA-compatible healthcare plans, 401k, and stock options
    * High visibility with C-suite execs who will know your name/face, interact with you, and seriously listen to any ideas you may have
    * Culture of promoting from within
    * Enough snacks and a ping pong table to keep the Millennials happy, but not so much that it becomes a parody of itself
    * Diverse employee workforce, which is a breath of fresh air in ATX
    * Some of the smartest, hard-working coworkers who are supportive and collaborative, never political, and truly dedicated towards producing great work
    * Laid-back environment: unlimited PTO, cool with frequent WFH days - just get your work done and communicate well in advance to set expectations and you're golden

    Cons

    * North ATX office is kind of a bummer. Never given a parking pass so the aggro building management will frequently sticker-ticket legitimate employee vehicles (which is more of a frustrating inside joke, but still truly frustrating). Cool industrial feel with exposed pipes mean when the AC turns on it sounds like a jet engine, which will cause your heart to skip a beat before you acclimate and don't even realize it's happening anymore
    * High turnover in sales, though that's true of any company
    * Not enough women or WOC in executive roles. The talent is there, so the fact certain employees haven't advanced to C-suite levels conflicts with the CEO's passionate adherence to equal-opportunity meritocracy
    * Tech facilitates cross-functionality between departments, but layout literally separates sales/marketing in one wing, with design/product/engineering on the other
    * No 401k match

    Advice to Management

    The CEO, Alan, has been a keynote speaker for Women in Tech conferences to promote gender allyship in the tech industry (and especially in the ATX local community), but those are just good optics until he takes action to promote deserving employees to higher positions within the company.


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good Company to start."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Phunware full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent teams, excellent culture and good ambience.

    Cons

    Salaries are lower than regional salaries.

    Phunware Response

    Feb 1, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoy the culture and environment at Phunware. We regularly evaluate our total compensation package (including stock options and benefit offerings) and are... More


Showing 73 of 76 reviews
Reset Filters