Pictet Reviews | Glassdoor

Pictet Reviews

Updated 9 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Pictet CEO Nicolas Pictet
Nicolas Pictet
19 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Charge de travail, horaire ample, pression(in 6 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Geneva stiffness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pictet full-time

    Pros

    Pictet is a well managed group that plans for the long term; it takes well care of its employees but expects them to fit the mould. It is run along very hierarchical lines with each individual matching a narrowly defined job description. Pictet emphasises training and learning, notably through its renowned Pictet Academy. Also, it lies at the forefront of IT developments.

    Cons

    The flip side of these characteristics are: low internal mobility (since employees tend to stay in the position for which they were hide), lack of opportunities to suggest initiatives (since this is why you have a boss in the first place), a "nanny" culture where your employer peeks into your private life, altogether a very stiff corporate culture

    Advice to Management

    Loosen up

    Pictet2019-08-25
  2. "Office Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pictet full-time

    Pros

    If you are ready to work hard and learn , this is the place to be Lot of exposure with international & local market participant Pay above the market and fair

    Cons

    As any international company everything is centered to head office

    Pictet2019-06-27
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Would not advise to work there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pictet full-time

    Pros

    canteen, transport paid salary is okish

    Cons

    No meritocracy, no promotion for normal, sexual and moral harassment is common, management without any skills, casting couch is the golden rule. Top management not performing, poor skills in AM and Privet banking.

    Advice to Management

    Change all the top management, stop being old fashioned and think you are the best in Geneva as you are by far not the best firm. Work less get paid more is the moto Stop pretending you are an equal employer as you are not and still handle like a start up

    Pictet2019-07-15

    Pictet Response

    July 25, 2019Head of Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for your feedback. We would like to take the time to answer your concerns and comments, as we consider our employees as a vital source or our success. We have very strict rules to deal with sexual and moral harassment and we take workplace harassment extremely seriously. It runs counter to the fundamental principles and values on which the reputation of our Group is based. We have clear measures aimed at preventing, detecting and managing violations of the personal integrity of our employees. We apply the strictest sanctions in cases where violations have been proven. As for equality, in 2019 Pictet has been certified EDGE Level 1 for its commitment to workplace gender equality. After a rigorous third-party evaluation, EDGE recognised our Group’s focus on building a gender-balanced talent pipeline, ensuring pay equity, having an effective framework of policies and practices to ensure equitable career flows and inclusive culture. We would like to wish you all the best in your future career. Alcidia Head of Recruitment Marketing

    Show Less
  4. Helpful (1)

    "ESG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pictet full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company puts enormous time and effort into important social objectives such as ESG Environmental Social and Governance and incorporates this into investment policy. The company also thinks a lot about its own environmental footprint for instance.

    Cons

    Co should step back and think more about how ESG applies to its own business. would it satisfy its own esg investment criteria. the company reduces its carbon footprint through solar but then sends people back and forth btw geneva and london continuously by plane. many employees use the double headquarters to practice tax avoidance (often this is entirely legal) but this creates a massive distraction to day to... day work. the record on women in management is also dismal (look at partnership)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Company is probably about 20 to 30 years out of date on many issues.

    Pictet2019-05-13
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Very bad experience - do not recommend to work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Advisor Assistant in Geneva
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pictet full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company has a very good brand

    Cons

    No performance culture, weak HR, no career upside

    Advice to Management

    Change culture

    Pictet2019-05-07
  6. "A good first experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pictet

    Pros

    - Great culture - Interesting challenges

    Cons

    - Career progression and department translation

    Pictet2018-12-19
  7. "Asset Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Pictet full-time

    Pros

    Good cantine Reasonably Work Life Balance

    Cons

    Extremely political Complacent Poor Performance tolerated, not open for problem-solving Incompentent Mgmt full of itself

    Advice to Management

    Take Mgmt Programs. Install qualified leaders, dont promote not qualied friends and family. Listen to advice and foster qualified People within, unfortunately you dont. Your arrogance und complavency is remarkable, you know it all better. Best people keep leaving

    Pictet2018-12-10
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Unpleasant/Toxic working climate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Pictet for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great location. Great office. Nothing else.

    Cons

    This is a very honest review about Pictet CANADA in Montreal. Bad management. None of the managers have HR skills or training. Your work isn't recognized. No salary increase. Poor bonus structure.No thank you. No career opportunities. Very bad climate. No collaboration between departments. People get their work done and leave. People don't even feel like going to the company events like Christmas party or... other. People go because they have to. It's sad. You would think working for a Swiss Bank is a great place to work. Think twice. Seen so many people leave, and leave frustrated. Frustrated because they understood they lost their time. They lost their a portion of their life. They lost their time because their work was never be recognized no matter how hard you work. Work isn't recognized because the it's the management that get's recognized with huge salaries, letting their employees behind. It's a sad place to work. If you have another job opportunity think twice. Life is short why not doing something you truly like with great people. I'm happy I left. Been a couple years I left now and I'm so happy I did. I can't understand why I've not taken this decision before.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Advice ? I don't think you need advice..... There is so much more important things to do than reading advice from employees..... right ? ;) You wouldn't take advice anyways.

    Pictet2018-06-20

    Pictet Response

    July 13, 2018Head of Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry you did not feel comfortable communicating those frustrations during your time with us. Pictet Canada was the first office of the Pictet Group to be established abroad in 1974. As the only North-American office of a major international asset and wealth management firm, we believe a job here offers a very valuable and enriching experience. We have a turnover rate of 6.4%, and average years in tenure of 13 years at Pictet Canada. Due to the relatively small size of this office, employees have opportunities to hold jobs that are often more diverse in terms of responsibilities and activities. In addition, we offer professional development and career opportunities through many canals that include, but are not limited to, training, projects and mentoring as well as local and international mobility to and from our offices around the world. Our annual processes also provide formal opportunities to discuss feedback and recognize staff, even though we encourage discussions around performance to take place as often as possible or required throughout the year. I would like to wish you all the best and remain Yours, truly

    Show Less
  9. "Funds Oversight"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Luxembourg
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Pictet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good work life balanced opportunity to travel

    Cons

    Difficult career progression remuneration is not based on meritocracy

    Pictet2018-05-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "I'm having a great time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pictet

    Pros

    I have great colleagues, salary is also well in comparison to similar companies.

    Cons

    The only down side is the location, I have to commute for hours to go to work.

    Pictet2018-03-07
Found 51 reviews