Picture Show Entertainment Reviews | Glassdoor

Picture Show Entertainment Reviews

Updated Oct 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
42%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Picture Show Entertainment CEO Jeff Stedman (no image)
Jeff Stedman
2 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Usher, Cashier, Box Office Associate in Fall River, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Picture Show Entertainment part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay was good for the job at $15/hour. Hours were also really flexible.

    Cons

    Poor management Lots of turnover in management

    Advice to Management

    There were a lot of things that we were told to do. First of all, the bar and the ticket podium were rarely manned and anyone could walk in. Second, the concession stand was always closed before all the customers left which mad lost of customers confused/angry.

    Picture Show Entertainment2019-10-21
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Picture Show Entertainment part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family environment, updated theaters, free movies

    Cons

    Understaffed, rude customers, long hours

    Picture Show Entertainment2019-04-12
  3. "A solid summer job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Picture Show Entertainment

    Pros

    A great group of people from coworkers to managers

    Cons

    Customers can be a pain sometimes

    Picture Show Entertainment2019-02-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Former General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Picture Show Entertainment full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * Great health benefits package (paid fully by the employer). * Generous tiered PTO policy (the longer you work there the more PTO you get). * Family like environment at the store level.

    Cons

    * No work life balance (required 48 hours each week during off-season and 54+ hours during peak season). * On-call 24/7. * No company paid or partial paid cell-phone plan (believe me, you are on the phone with corporate often). * Poor upper management (from the corporate level- lack of communication).

    Advice to Management

    On paper, the pay is great. When you factor in the fact you work 48+ hours, you are better off choosing a different career path. With the quick expansion of the company, it has become very cut-throat from the home office. There is no transparency when it comes to commission break downs. Every month we are supposed to receive a breakdown chart, that rarely, if ever happens. It is a very rewarding job at the... individual theater level. You get to see all of your staff members grow and make an impact on their lives. Instead of getting support when needed from the corporate team, you are often told to "figure it out on your own." My one big piece of advice, treat your GM's as if they were family like the GM's do at their own store levels. Very high school drama oriented corporate team.

    Show More
    Picture Show Entertainment2018-06-27
  5. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Picture Show Entertainment full-time

    Pros

    Made my own schedule, benefits, easy staff

    Cons

    24 Hour On Call, difficult to get time off

    Picture Show Entertainment2018-05-14
  6. "Main Place Picture show"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Usher, Cashier, Box Office Associate in Santa Ana, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Picture Show Entertainment part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Co-worker make working fun Work with your schedule

    Cons

    The opportunity to grow is very limited Customers can be very rude

    Advice to Management

    There shouldn't be special treatment

    Picture Show Entertainment2018-03-19
  7. "Fun environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Picture Show Entertainment

    Pros

    meet lots of new people , coworkers are fun, get to watch movies for free

    Cons

    unhappy customers, customers who movie hop are sometimes a pain

    Picture Show Entertainment2018-01-16
  8. "Better for Starting Out - Not for Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Picture Show Entertainment part-time

    Pros

    Fun working environment, great staff, lots of stuff to keep you busy on the weekends

    Cons

    Hours don't often go above 30/week, and they will lower them freely. Don't expect to have weekends off - you'll be working them most often. The pay rate is pretty bad given the hours you work, so it's not great if you're looking for something to pay the rent with. During the week, it's super slow, so you'll have to work at finding things to do.

    Picture Show Entertainment2017-09-22
  9. "It's alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Picture Show Entertainment part-time

    Pros

    - Awesome Co- Workers - Free Movies - Nice Work Environment

    Cons

    - The Higher Ups are sketchy - GM pretty strict - No chance of promotion or raises

    Advice to Management

    Give more hours to those that work the hardest

    Picture Show Entertainment2016-09-20
  10. "Great Employees, Mediocre Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Picture Show Entertainment full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly Atmosphere - Hard working crew - Working with families

    Cons

    - Requires more staff members to manage large crowds - Theaters require renovation - Corporate Management is non-existent and non-transparent

    Advice to Management

    Consider investing time, money, and resources in the theaters and staff.

    Picture Show Entertainment2016-09-16
Found 19 reviews