Pier 1 Imports Reviews | Glassdoor

Pier 1 Imports Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2004 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Cheryl Bachelder
6 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "They are aggressive with trying to get customers to open their credit card(in 330 reviews)

  • "No benefits if you are part time(in 113 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great environment. Lots of positivity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pier 1 Imports

    Pros

    Great people and clean environment

    Cons

    Flex schedule only 30 minutes for lunch

    Pier 1 Imports2019-04-16
  2. "Not a bad company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Enfield, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pier 1 Imports part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Managers were friendly and receptive to employee ideas. The job duties were very clear.

    Cons

    Corporate did not allow employees enough freedom in making decisions about product placement.

    Advice to Management

    Get more employee feedback and encourage employees to move up the corporate ladder.

    Pier 1 Imports2019-04-24
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Harvey, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pier 1 Imports part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Fun, friendly staff, good discount, flexible schedule

    Cons

    wages, very low hourly, with little hope of making more

    Advice to Management

    Management is great, corporate needs to at least compete with Target and Walmart for wages. For all the many talented employees, the monetary compensation is very low.

    Pier 1 Imports2019-04-13
  4. "it was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Pier 1 Imports part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      hours, discount, easy work, relaxed

      Cons

      only concern is credit cards

      Pier 1 Imports2019-04-23
    • "This company needs a change"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in El Paso, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Pier 1 Imports part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The people I worked with were great. Being a military wife it was great to find my family there. Also, being able to shop with a slight discount was cool. Flexible scheduling was also very nice.

      Cons

      The benefits are terrible, the pay is terrible, and the discount is not great. This company will need a change in the next few years if they want to stay relevant. To pay minimum wage in this day and age is almost insulting. I'm not saying they need to pay $15 an hour, but $7.25 an hour starting is ridiculous. Especially since I was at a store where we worked a lot of hours in the beginning since we were opening a new...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Push for a high wage! Stronger benefits, even just one!

      Pier 1 Imports2019-04-20
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Associate in Westminster, MD

      I have been working at Pier 1 Imports part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Works around my FT schedule

      Cons

      Not enough hours for PT

      Pier 1 Imports2019-04-05
    • Helpful (1)

      "Lots of changes"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Pier 1 Imports full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      My team is great, we are very supportive of each other, build each other up, help each other be successful! I think your job is what you make of it. People are working fast and furious to get things done and meet deadlines.

      Cons

      There is a lot of change going on, which can be seen as a positive, unless you have a hard time with change.

      Advice to Management

      Focus on building the skills and abilities of the members of your team so they can grow and set up for advancement.

      Pier 1 Imports2019-04-16
    • "this is not a real job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Sales Associate 

        I worked at Pier 1 Imports part-time

        Pros

        the people were very nice

        Cons

        very boring and hours without customers

        Pier 1 Imports2019-04-18
      • "Good place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Pier 1 Imports part-time

          Pros

          Good employees and good management people

          Cons

          Unpredictable amount of hours each week some weeks are more others are less

          Pier 1 Imports2019-04-02
        • Helpful (4)

          "Great Job!"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Sales Associate in Columbus, OH
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Pier 1 Imports part-time (Less than a year)

          Pros

          Great benefits, thorough training, safe workplace, good starting pay, room for growth. I have loved the management as well. They are so helpful and I always feel cared for at work.

          Cons

          Customer service can always be tough, so that would be the biggest downfall for me. Some people are mean at times for no reason, and we have to act normal about it.

          Pier 1 Imports2019-03-18
        Found 2004 reviews