Piggly Wiggly Alabama Distributing Reviews | Glassdoor

Piggly Wiggly Alabama Distributing Reviews

Updated 21 Nov 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
45%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Piggly Wiggly Alabama Distributing CEO Dennis T. Stewart (no image)
Dennis T. Stewart
5 Ratings
  1. "Order selector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Piggly Wiggly Alabama Distributing full-time

    Pros

    To be honest the race to beat the time as a order selector... Haveing the most cases every other night

    Cons

    The union was a lousey represents

    Advice to Management

    Not to be too hard on the new rules and regulations

    Piggly Wiggly Alabama Distributing2017-11-21
  2. "Benefits that are currently in process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Scottsboro, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Piggly Wiggly Alabama Distributing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Being able to converse with the public

    Cons

    Some of the management that we had to work with

    Piggly Wiggly Alabama Distributing2017-07-30
  3. "Very good company to work for if you dont mind hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Order Selector in Bessemer, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Piggly Wiggly Alabama Distributing full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very good pay great benifits

    Cons

    Can be some very long hours

    Piggly Wiggly Alabama Distributing2017-05-09
  4. "Nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Anonymous Freelancer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Piggly Wiggly Alabama Distributing

    Pros

    None at all very good

    Cons

    Nice to me good nice

    Advice to Management

    Nice

    Piggly Wiggly Alabama Distributing2017-03-16
  5. "Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Piggly Wiggly Alabama Distributing

    Pros

    It's was a fun place

    Cons

    Good pay good benefits good hours

    Advice to Management

    Work hard

    Piggly Wiggly Alabama Distributing2016-09-14
  6. "Fair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Bessemer, AL
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Piggly Wiggly Alabama Distributing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is ok. Friendly staff. Owners are great. Benefits are fair could be better. Great if you are wanting to start your career

    Cons

    Long hours. Pay could be better. Training of advancement is poor. Sales and budget isn't within your finger tips. How can you manage without financials

    Advice to Management

    Need budget meetings and share with management

    Piggly Wiggly Alabama Distributing2016-02-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Miserable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CDL Driver in Birmingham, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Piggly Wiggly Alabama Distributing full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay decent benefits not enough hours for new hire drivers way to many drivers micro managed to the max

    Cons

    Used to be a good place to work till they had a change in personal and hired way to many drivers

    Advice to Management

    Get off the drivers back u say you appreciate the driver WE ALL (co-driver) agree that is a lie

    Piggly Wiggly Alabama Distributing2015-10-28
  8. "Pay is pitiful!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Piggly Wiggly Alabama Distributing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I enjoy what I am doing and the people I work with. If I was being paid appropriately I would work here for the rest of my life.

    Cons

    The average pay is BELLOW ENTRY LEVEL for the state average. If you were fresh out of high school you would make the appropriate amount of pay. I have a BA in business and working on second degree. The pay is a joke.

    Advice to Management

    Please pay your employees more. Quite a few of us are on food stamps and/or working a second job.

    Piggly Wiggly Alabama Distributing2015-02-04
  9. "Office employees tend to get the short end of the stick"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Office Assistant in Bessemer, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Piggly Wiggly Alabama Distributing

    Pros

    As an office person you get some holidays off but not all. I don't expect every crazy state holiday, but you would think Memorial Day would be included but its not. Its actually the day I was hired! Most think of it as just a job

    Cons

    The office workers are governed differently than the warehouse workers, even though the warehouse workers set the tone and rate of our raises. We are not allowed to join the union and when some office workers tried to get a vote for a union, most of the pro-union people were fired. Also there is some nepotism. Not as much as when I was first hired, but there some uncles and nephews working here. A lot of... friends/family friends here as well. Company policy states no family members can work here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Consider promoting more from within and giving raises when some one gets their degree. Sick days would also be a nice option or earning time off.

    Piggly Wiggly Alabama Distributing2015-01-29
  10. "Review for Piggly Wiggly Retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager in Birmingham, AL
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Piggly Wiggly Alabama Distributing

    Pros

    Management does allow somewhat flexible scheduling when there is a crisis. Does have some benefits. There is not an abundance of criticism on work performance

    Cons

    Pay scale is not up to industry average. There can be pressure to work extra hours if it benefits the store, but the compensation is not sufficient.

    Advice to Management

    Pay people competitive salaries. Consult and communicate more with managers and personel. Take an interest in your employees and they will take an interest in your customers.

    Piggly Wiggly Alabama Distributing2010-10-27
Found 11 reviews