Pillsbury United Communities Reviews | Glassdoor

Pillsbury United Communities Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Youth Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Youth Specialist in Minn City, MN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Pillsbury United Communities part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It was a very easy going work environment.

    Cons

    The budget was constantly decreasing, so it makes it hard to work full time.

    Pillsbury United Communities2018-09-12
  2. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Pillsbury United Communities full-time

    Pros

    Organization has opportunities for growth

    Cons

    Lots of work, limited support and resources

    Pillsbury United Communities2018-10-18
  3. "Administration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Pillsbury United Communities part-time

    Pros

    Great concept of the room rentals.

    Cons

    Those that built North Market knew nothing of how to run a grocery store. They even hired department managers that knew nothing of how to run their own departments as well, but they all claim they have grocery experience. It was a failing store because no one knew what they were doing and no one cared. The store was barely making any money and losing money. Management treating their employees unfairly, disrespecting them and retaliating against those they didn’t like. Executives at Pillsbury United Communities did nothing to help the situation. Due to unsolved issues many employees quit, high turnover.

    Pillsbury United Communities2018-09-08
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Toxic Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Pillsbury United Communities full-time

    Pros

    Dedicated staff in community centers

    Cons

    Upper level management does not listen to program staff. Very poor communications. Pillsbury United Communities claims to partner with the communities they serve, but resources are directed to the Executive Office and to managers pet project with little or no community input. Little or no opportunities for advancement.

    Continue reading
    Pillsbury United Communities2018-01-02
  5. "Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Pillsbury United Communities full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You feel like you are making a difference when you have the budget in place to do the work required. Many people who are attracted to PUC are wonderful caring people who want to change the world for the better. Great health plan.

    Cons

    The pay is quite low. Programs can be cut very suddenly when grant funding changes, and the development team has not been open to alternative (non-grant) sources of income. It always felt like the poor serving the poor, and the stress was intense due to that. We had numbers to reach for grant reporting, but frequently no resources to do the work. While I wasn't routinely expected to work more than 40 hours a week, I often took the stress of what I couldn't pull off home with me, as well as the struggles of the families we served.

    Continue reading
    Pillsbury United Communities2017-11-09
  6. "Excellent general staff; wonderful work; lackluster upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Pillsbury United Communities full-time

    Pros

    Staff are passionate about their work, whether it's employment programs, food access, youth work or anything else. Ground-level staff are generally open, honest, hardworking, and ready to help.

    Cons

    Upper management often struggles with internal communication. The tone used by executive-level staff is cold and clinical, and they often come off as callous and uncaring. Input from ground-level staff seems to fall on deaf ears, and concerns seem to go unanswered.

    Pillsbury United Communities2017-08-16
  7. "Good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pillsbury United Communities

    Pros

    Excellent mission and impact. Ability to advance and move up the ladder within the organization. The benefits are good compared to other similar organizations.

    Cons

    Salaries are on the lower side but the benefits are OK. Sometime to we have to deal with clients that suffer from mental illnesses or do not want to comply with the rules of the organization.

    Continue reading
    Pillsbury United Communities2016-11-23
  8. "Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Pillsbury United Communities full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to build good relationships with neighborhood community

    Cons

    Dysfunctional and toxic work culture;

    Pillsbury United Communities2016-08-21
  9. "Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pillsbury United Communities full-time

    Pros

    Feels like working with family, decent pay, opportunities for growth, open environment to express new ideas for programming, etc.

    Cons

    High stress environment, no real overall procedural structure, work "silos", lack of communication

    Pillsbury United Communities2016-06-21
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great nonprofit. Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Development Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends

    I have been working at Pillsbury United Communities

    Pros

    Great company and an amazing mission based philosophy. Staff are passionate and collaborative in order to produce the best outcomes for participants. The CEO is fantastic and treats everyone with respect and kindness. There is an honor for work life balance and understanding for staff.

    Cons

    Because PUC's centers are run in five separate neighborhoods and by five separate Directors, the politics of the organization can be brutal. Communication is often lacking and petty fights occur quickly.

    Continue reading
    Pillsbury United Communities2010-09-14
Found 10 reviews