Pilot Flying J Reviews | Glassdoor

Pilot Flying J Reviews

Updated January 15, 2018
152 reviews

Filter

Filter


2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Pilot Flying J CEO Jimmy Haslam
Jimmy Haslam
61 Ratings

152 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Fast paced,good pay,opportunities for advancement (in 57 reviews)

  • Excellent benefits and great people interested in your growth (in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • There is not a lot of work life balance (in 20 reviews)

  • False promises made by upper management (in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Hard work, little pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Nice co-workers but other than that, I have no good memories there.

    Cons

    Cleaning up after people who are nasty, for little money. Come to work, and they give you 1 hr work send you home.

    Advice to Management

    People work to pay bills, not come to work to have some where to hang out. Give us hours and pay us what we are worth.


  2. "Help"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time

    Pros

    Profit sharing after 10 years and family is very important to PFJ.

    Cons

    Lack of labor, tough staffing, unrealistic expectations.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jan 13, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your honest feedback with us and all you do for Pilot Flying J. To discuss these comments further please contact us directly at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com

  3. "Not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Service Leader III in Wells, NV
    Current Employee - Guest Service Leader III in Wells, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Most of the time there are a lot of good people working at the locations.

    Cons

    There isn't a lot of communication between managers in turn this makes it extremely difficult to get answers for questions.

    Advice to Management

    Care more about the employees that work for you.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Dec 18, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your honest feedback with us and all you do for Pilot Flying J. If you'd like to discuss any of these comments further please contact us directly at... More


  4. "Drug Test"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Latta, SC
    Current Employee - Cashier in Latta, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Reasonable paycheck, offer health insurance but not cheap though.

    Cons

    Making you work harder. You can't work in one station but you need to work everywhere, if you are cashier you are not just a cashier but also a deli person and a maintenance too. Also it only applies in certain people but not everyone. If you are friendly and close to managers then you're lucky. If you are not then yes you do all the work while the other just chit-chat. Worse half the people there do drugs.

    Advice to Management

    Pilot need to conduct drug test. Don't care what kind of drugs it is. I don't care if people believe there's nothing wrong smoking weed. If it's lawfully illegal then it is wrong. It's just not right. And worse smoking while on duty and doing it in the bathroom that's too much.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Nov 28, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We take comments like this very seriously and we'd like to look into this further. Please contact us directly at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com to... More


  5. "Shift lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Their policy is great they have good benefits payed every friday

    Cons

    No manager I have met in well over a year followed the policy's from schedule making to days off they don't care if your not their friend you'll be gone

    Advice to Management

    Stop the ignite policy's or even just get some GMs or even a team lead to just read the policy and proceeder and follow it.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Oct 18, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate your honest feedback and everything you do for Pilot Flying J. If you'd like to discuss any concerns further please contact us directly at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Ok for a part-time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Haubstadt, IN
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Haubstadt, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    There aren't really any pros

    Cons

    Management doesn't really care about employees at all

    Advice to Management

    Offer more training

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Oct 2, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your honest feedback with us.


  7. "The worst . I only lasted 3 months"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts Payable in Knoxville, TN
    Former Employee - Accounts Payable in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Team environment is ok. Benefits are ok? Try to build a good team environment . Upper management seems to get along

    Cons

    Drama, pay , moved me from my dept that I'm experienced in and put me on a team that I had zero experience in. I wasn't even asked I was just told they needed someone there and moved me. I put my notice in immediately

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Sep 20, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please contact us directly at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com to discuss your experience further.

  8. "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time

    Pros

    Free parking in the lot

    Cons

    Cheap - should be a leader in salaries

    Advice to Management

    Value employees more instead of over working them

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Sep 20, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to share your honest feedback. Please contact us at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com with more details concerning your experience.


  9. "TCGM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time

    Pros

    Good salary
    Changing culture to team focus

    Cons

    No growth
    Worker not a manager

    Advice to Management

    Develop growth plan and post opportunities. It should not still be good ol boys club with talent left frustarated waiting for an opportunity.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Sep 20, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please contact us directly at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com to discuss your concerns further. We appreciate all you do for Pilot Flying J.


  10. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J part-time

    Pros

    The guest environment is wonderful if you treat people kindly and fairly.

    Cons

    Management is horrible and flaky.

    Advice to Management

    Do drug testing! The turnover rate is terrible because "kids" whose only goal is their next high seem to flock there.

    And actually listen to the input of your employees. We CAN make our store a better place with ideas.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Sep 15, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please contact us directly at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com to discuss your concerns further. We appreciate all you do for Pilot Flying J.


Showing 152 of 740 reviews
Reset Filters