Pilot Flying J Reviews | Glassdoor

Pilot Flying J Reviews

Updated July 10, 2017
112 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Pilot Flying J CEO Jimmy Haslam
Jimmy Haslam
50 Ratings

112 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Fast paced, decent pay, flexible schedules (in 54 reviews)

  • Excellent benefits and great people interested in your growth (in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • Very demanding environment from upper management with little compensation (in 37 reviews)

  • unfortunatley lead driver wasn't willing to provide schedule with work life balance after almost two years of quality employment that I provided (in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Guest Service Leader 2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Troutville, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Troutville, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, decent starting rates, plenty of advancement room, vacation time available, fast paced and always moving forward

    Cons

    Can be a tough position. Can be inconsistent. Smaller stores' operations can be over looked. Not enough local regional managers.

    Advice to Management

    More regionals, district miles not so great. Any store can perform well when inspections are announced.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jul 5, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive feedback with us!


  2. "If you work hard you can work your way up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Supervisor in Carneys Point, NJ
    Former Employee - Deli Supervisor in Carneys Point, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Management, Stability, Vacation Time, Customers

    Cons

    Pay isn't great for the industry. Regional managers don't have your back when they say they do.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jun 19, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. At Pilot Flying J , we are proud to reward hard work. We are also proud to take care of our Team Members with a great work environment... More

  3. "Supply & Distribution is the place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Supply Coordinator in Knoxville, TN
    Current Employee - Senior Supply Coordinator in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great management staff all the way up to the SVP in this division.
    Lots of options to see many different aspects of the company in this division
    You get to have direct impact on the bottom line of the company

    Cons

    Not a great balance of time away from the office, hard to turn off the phone & email
    The coverage levels for the amount of health insurance premium paid is lacking.

    Advice to Management

    Keep innovating and developing your blue ocean strategy

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jun 10, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive feedback. At Pilot Flying J, we always strive to better the Team Member experience.


  4. "Food Service Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J part-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    50 percent off meals while on the clock

    Cons

    None at the current time


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Rss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RSS in Salem, OR
    Current Employee - RSS in Salem, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Will to work with schedule

    Cons

    People get away doing nothing

    Advice to Management

    A good leader leads by example

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Apr 25, 2017 – Community and Public Relations Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive feedback. At Pilot Flying J, we continually strive to better the team member experience.


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Family-run company that treats it's 27k team members well."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Specialist in Knoxville, TN
    Current Employee - Logistics Specialist in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits! There are a lot of opportunities to move laterally between departments at the Support Center. Each department is unique and feels like family. The company is growing rapidly and there are areas for improvement that offer new roles for individuals.

    Cons

    Nepotism and favoritism make it difficult to move up in the chain of command in some departments. The pay structure is fixed so team members have to have a title change to get a significant increase in pay.

    Advice to Management

    For the Support Center- look outside Knoxville and the state of Tennessee for potential employees.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Apr 7, 2017 – Community and Public Relations Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback. At Pilot Flying J, we offer unique opportunities for advancement and several programs for development for our corporate office and store team members. Your education is... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time

    Pros

    great pay and support system

    Cons

    unrealistic expectations on job performance

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Mar 20, 2017 – Community and Public Relations Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive feedback. At Pilot Flying J, we continually strive to better the team member experience.

  8. "Account representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time

    Pros

    It is a fun environment to work in.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons to list.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Mar 13, 2017 – Community and Public Relations Coordinator

    We love hearing feedback like this. Thank you for sharing.


  9. "Decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time

    Pros

    Good pay. Plenty of hours available.

    Cons

    Labor hours are too tight. Application pool is poor. Above store level management is trying to go in too.many directions at once.

    Advice to Management

    Get on the same game plan.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Feb 27, 2017 – Community and Public Relations Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive feedback. At Pilot Flying J, we continually strive to better the team member experience.


  10. "Fair place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Restaurant Manager in Miller, MO
    Current Employee - Restaurant Manager in Miller, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J part-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Clean restrooms fair variety of items open 24 hours

    Cons

    Slow and rude employee towards female customer

    Advice to Management

    Hire new workers that are not afraid to work

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jan 27, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback. Please email us at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com if you'd like to discuss your concerns further.


Showing 112 of 673 reviews
Reset Filters