Pilot Flying J Reviews | Glassdoor

Pilot Flying J Reviews

Updated July 16, 2017
109 reviews

Filter

Filter


5.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Pilot Flying J CEO Jimmy Haslam
Jimmy Haslam
60 Ratings

109 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Fast paced, decent pay, flexible schedules (in 54 reviews)

  • Excellent benefits and great people interested in your growth (in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • Very demanding environment from upper management with little compensation (in 37 reviews)

  • unfortunatley lead driver wasn't willing to provide schedule with work life balance after almost two years of quality employment that I provided (in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Bryant, AR
    Former Employee - Cashier in Bryant, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The people that I met.

    Cons

    Truck Drivers and The SHOWER

    Advice to Management

    New RULES

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jul 17, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Please feel free to email us directly at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com with specific details pertaining to your experience so we can continue... More


  2. "customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Sonora, KY
    Former Employee - Cashier in Sonora, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fun a lot of room for advancement

    Cons

    none really i loved it

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jun 28, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us and we are happy to hear you had such a positive experience.

  3. "Great company with great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Service Manager in Fort Chiswell, VA
    Current Employee - Food Service Manager in Fort Chiswell, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Fast pace. Never get board. Training store. Lots of exposure to upper management.

    Cons

    Long hours during the summer . Slow in the off season from mid August to late February

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jun 21, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us. We appreciate all you do for Pilot Flying J.


  4. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Knoxville, TN
    Current Employee - Analyst in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Care about employees, Bright financial future

    Cons

    Company culture is to expect immediate results

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jun 1, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    At Pilot Flying J, we continually strive to better the team member experience. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us, and thanks for all you do!


  5. "Great customer service!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Blacksburg, SC
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Blacksburg, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Fast, friendly, and clean service! Great food, Thoughtful staff

    Cons

    Full parking lot, Trash cans full, coffee low, shelves dusty, prices too high

    Pilot Flying J Response

    May 10, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. At Pilot Flying J , we are proud to take care of our team members with a great work environment, great teams, and great benefits.


  6. "FSL2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Yolanda Ferrill (Former FSL2)Store 388 in Meridian, MS
    Former Employee - Yolanda Ferrill (Former FSL2)Store 388 in Meridian, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    It's a great company to work for,I highly recommend anyone to work for Pilot,I had a wonderful 8 years.

    Cons

    When someone comes in the store with a negative attitude.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the work

    Pilot Flying J Response

    May 10, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive feedback. At Pilot Flying J, we continually strive to better the team member experience.


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Travel Center General Manager in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Travel Center General Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Excellent benefits and great people interested in your growth.
    Schedules are fantastic and easy to work with. Get to meet the people that keep this country moving the professional drivers.

    Cons

    Training programs are outdated and not well thought out. Performance increases are a blanket across the board and not given out based on your contribution to the company.

    Advice to Management

    Find ways to recognize people at every level in the company.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    May 1, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. At Pilot Flying J, we believe in approaching each day according to our mission: Connecting people and places with comfort, care and a smile at every... More

  8. "Fun friendly clean efficient."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GSL3 in Shelbyville, IN
    Current Employee - GSL3 in Shelbyville, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    To make a better day for our guests with genuine care each and everyday. Meeting new people .

    Cons

    Getting everyone on the same page as leaders are. Wear and tear on multiple pumps.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Apr 21, 2017 – Community and Public Relations Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. At Pilot Flying J, we believe in approaching each day according to our mission: Connecting people and places with comfort, care and a smile at every... More


  9. "Retail Sales Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Specialist in Birmingham, AL
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Specialist in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I enjoy my work. I control the inventory and the sales floor set up. I feel like I am apart of the team always. I've been there three years so it's a great place to be employed. The benefits are awesome and the employee incentives are better.

    Cons

    The insurance is much too high.

    Advice to Management

    Know your team and

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Apr 12, 2017 – Community and Public Relations Coordinator

    We love hearing feedback like this. Thank you for sharing.


  10. Helpful (4)

    "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Von Ormy, TX
    Current Employee - Cashier in Von Ormy, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Awesome Team Members, Awesome Managment, Awesome Place to work, I would not trade this Job for any other in this field of work. Emotionally stress free gives me more time to serve those who truly are our boss.

    Cons

    Really there are none to list, the team and Management are solid and thorough in explaining everything

    Advice to Management

    Answering every question from day 1 a BIG awesome bravo! The willingness to listen and respond fairly quickly and accurately to questions is a big plus! Thank You!

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Mar 27, 2017 – Community and Public Relations Coordinator

    At Pilot Flying J, we understand you want to work with service-minded people who are committed to better experiences — every guest, every chance, every day. We appreciate you taking the time to share... More


Showing 109 of 672 reviews
Reset Filters