Pilot Flying J Reviews | Glassdoor

Pilot Flying J Reviews

Updated September 25, 2017
693 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

693 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Fast paced, decent pay, flexible schedules (in 55 reviews)

  • Excellent benefits and great people interested in your growth (in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • False promises made by upper management (in 39 reviews)

  • unfortunatley lead driver wasn't willing to provide schedule with work life balance after almost two years of quality employment that I provided (in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J part-time

    Pros

    The guest environment is wonderful if you treat people kindly and fairly.

    Cons

    Management is horrible and flaky.

    Advice to Management

    Do drug testing! The turnover rate is terrible because "kids" whose only goal is their next high seem to flock there.

    And actually listen to the input of your employees. We CAN make our store a better place with ideas.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Sep 15, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please contact us directly at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com to discuss your concerns further. We appreciate all you do for Pilot Flying J.


  2. "Food Service Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits at management level

    Cons

    Work/life balance. Upward movement within organization was limited as they began to look outside the company for higher level positions

    Advice to Management

    Value the employees that stick with you instead of bringing in outside employees that are not as knowledgeable about the organization

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Aug 21, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please contact us directly at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com to discuss your concerns further.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Fuel attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fuel Attendant in Hampton, NJ
    Former Employee - Fuel Attendant in Hampton, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good tips and meet new people.

    Cons

    Worse place I've ever worked. Bosses do not know how to run a business and most employees are lazy.

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to treat employees with more respect and act more professional.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Love"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead in Lathrop, CA
    Current Employee - Lead in Lathrop, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    One of the best jobs I have ever had. I had a top notch trainer and I will be at Flying J for years and years to come.

    Cons

    Wish the computers, pumps and kiosks weren't down so much. We would have much happier customers.

    Advice to Management

    Your presence and knowledge is inspiring.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Aug 21, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to hear you have had such a positive experience and we appreciate all you do!


  5. "Smh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Racine, WI
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Racine, WI
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Customers bathroom breaks free drinks

    Cons

    Management is ungrateful in realistic un caring demanding don't care about your family life and select favorites which can do as they please also employees are gossip and drama. Pays decent if you get the hours but you will be on call daily and if you don't come in hours go down and be given hours untill some one decides they don't like you

    Advice to Management

    Treats your employees like they are people and hire people who wanna work not attend high school gossip n drama


  6. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Decent pay and above store does actually make an effort to get to know the team. Guaranteed bonus. You have to do something awful not to get it.

    Cons

    Horrible work life balance. On call 24 x7. Can't pay the employees well so you don't get quality. If you are the Midwest area be prepared for huge favoritism. Very little labor to run your store.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Aug 31, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thanks for your honest feedback. Please contact us at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com with more details concerning your experience so that we can address this issue.


  7. "Lead Maintenace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Supervisor in Denham Springs, LA
    Current Employee - Maintenance Supervisor in Denham Springs, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time

    Pros

    Great management,great pay,advancement opportunity

    Cons

    Fluctuations of hours,thrifty minute lunch

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Aug 14, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    We are happy to hear you have had such a positive experience working at Pilot Flying J. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us, and thanks for all you do!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - GM Manager in Over-The-Rhine, OH
    Former Employee - GM Manager in Over-The-Rhine, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    You pretty good access to upper management if you need help. Small staff you get to know your team members.

    Cons

    Some of the procceses were unreasonable. Some of the mid level upper management seemed to be on power trips. LONG hours lots of responsibility foe managers. Did not match the pay

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Aug 24, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us!


  9. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dalton, GA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dalton, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Sick time and vacation time is a plus. The people I work with are awesome they are my family.

    Cons

    Not enough time at home with my own family, I hate missing important moments with my children.

    Advice to Management

    stop the special treatment

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Aug 10, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please contact us directly at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com to discuss your concerns further. We appreciate all you do for Pilot Flying J.


  10. "Employee Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Team Member - Cashier in Von Ormy, TX
    Former Employee - Guest Service Team Member - Cashier in Von Ormy, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good Co-Workers, Awesome guest service leads deli leads! FREE COFFEE!

    Cons

    If you miss work they cut your hours, if they get a complaint from a customer..they cut your hours, and they do not even discuss it with you, what you are doing wrong etc... lack of communication between managers and employees

    Advice to Management

    Concentrate better on making it more efficient by in-sourcing the current employees instead of out-sourcing new hires, Communicate with your team of employees more effectively, If you receive a complaint about an employee, please by all means discuss with that employee the complaint and do not keep it in the dark, we employees might do something wrong but if we do not know we are doing it then how can we fix the issue? Do not cut hours because you have a problem with an employee, talk with them to find out why they are having issues and solve them together for a more efficient team workflow.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Aug 24, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. If you've experienced any management issues within our company, we are here to listen. Please feel free to email us directly at... More


Showing 693 of 698 reviews
Reset Filters