Pilot Flying J Reviews | Glassdoor

Pilot Flying J Reviews

Updated February 19, 2017
605 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

605 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Fast paced, decent pay, flexible schedules (in 49 reviews)

  • Solid company with truly great people that aim to help you get the job done with a smile on your face (in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • Upper management takes longer to act on their final decisions (in 34 reviews)

  • unfortunatley lead driver wasn't willing to provide schedule with work life balance after almost two years of quality employment that I provided (in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Subway at Pilot Travel Cent."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSM in Decatur, AL
    Former Employee - CSM in Decatur, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    good people, stays busy, paperless paycheck

    Cons

    not enough benefits or pay, too many chiefs not enough Indians

    Advice to Management

    listen to employees and lose your power trip


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Store manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Enjoyed the Team members once staffed.

    Cons

    Never staffed. Above store support does not allow Store manager to hire management team. New store policies prohibited enough team member hours to serve customers.

    Advice to Management

    Hire better above Store management. Train them to be hands on.


  3. "Cashier"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Latta, SC
    Current Employee - Cashier in Latta, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time

    Pros

    Hired as full time right away. My colleague got hired part but she was hired 2 days ahead of me anyway it doesnt make any difference since pilot giving her full time hours just like mine.

    Cons

    Would love to have health insurance but $45 a week $180 a month is too much. I cant afford to lose that much money especially I am not sickly person but would love to have a health insurance just dont wanna pay that much.

    Advice to Management

    I wish they could lower the insurance for like $25 a month especially to a healthy employee like me. I dont smoke I dont drink just dont do any vices. I believe I am physically fit just want to have at least once or twice general check up yearly.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jan 27, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback. We are committed to caring for our team members with proper benefits support. Please email us at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com if you'd like to discuss your concerns ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Pilot Flying J"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The owners of Pilot are great. They have the employees best interest at heart.

    Cons

    It is lower level management that is the problem. You can't manage a department by reading books on how to manage. What a complete disaster. It is a shame that what started as a great job and department completely went downhill because of one new employee and a manager that let it happen.

    Advice to Management

    Keep communication open. Don't have closed door meetings with select people in your department. Letting one employee influence your decisions is a classic management mistake.


  6. "Skill development"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GSL in Waddy, KY
    Current Employee - GSL in Waddy, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Team members are like family!

    Cons

    The store needs a remodel bad. Hard to compete with other truck stops when we don't have enough room or storage to operate at a better success rate. Some truckers are rude and do not have any respect for property or staff. The major percent are good hard working blue collar folks just like us.

    Advice to Management

    Patients is a virtue. Teach procedure and routine. Eventually it will sink in like clock work,

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jan 27, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. If you'd like to discuss your concerns further, please email us directly at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com.


  7. "Deli Assistant Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Shift Lead in Pasadena, TX
    Former Employee - Deli Shift Lead in Pasadena, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    great advancement and transfer opportunities

    Cons

    Favoritism, no communication, HR doesn't follow up with complaints, Alert line is a scam.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jan 27, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for notifying us about your experience at Pilot Flying J. Please contact us directly at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com to discuss your feedback further.


  8. Helpful (1)

    "Shift Leader/ Co Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Pay and benefits were decent but better than most places around the area. You meet A LOT of truckers who generally overall are pretty cool to talk to. They don't necessarily like corporate but realize you are at the bottom of the totem pole so they try not to get pissy with you.
    Also, everyone from General Manager on down are usually nice which makes the job easier to deal with.

    Cons

    Not flexible with hours in the budget. Corporate needs to realize that one person can't do the jobs of three people. I've worked several 30+ hour shifts with one or two breaks because we couldn't "afford" more workers so I had to run the registers, clean showers, and cook food by myself.

    Advice to Management

    Corporate needs to realize that you need to hire more people to have the store run more efficiently. Also, they need to stop firing management so quickly! They go through so many General Managers and Regional Managers which can make it hard to deal with because everyone has different dictatorship styles. If corporate could stop focusing on money, and focused on what their employees are saying, then things would work out!

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jan 27, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re committed to strengthening our team dynamics on an ongoing basis, and we strive to place managerial candidates in roles that best compliment their skills and their ... More


  9. "Maintance Lead"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Lead in Mountain Home, ID
    Current Employee - Maintenance Lead in Mountain Home, ID
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    job security just do yourwork and all team members help each other

    Cons

    not enough pay for the work we idea

    Advice to Management

    Pay your loyal employees for doing above and beyond

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jan 27, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hold ourselves to the most current industry compensation standards. Please email us at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com if you'd like to discuss ... More


  10. "GSM - TCGM"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Center Manager in Columbus, OH
    Current Employee - Travel Center Manager in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The pace of the business.
    You great people and make good connections with your Guests.
    You develop a bond with your team

    Cons

    No work/life balance. On call 24/7.

    Use your own gas/car to pick up supplies or other items for the store. We used to get compensated to go to the bank everyday, but we have to go to the grocery store everyday for fruit and it is further away.

    No room for advancement.

    Driver panel - used as punishment instead of helping you fix your problems or elevate on your successes. Drivers blackmail you with it.

    Moved computer to the sales floor and it takes twice as long to do your paperwork and you get to stand while doing it!!

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your people on the ground.
    Make changes that help the Guests and Team.
    Be realistic with your expectations with the resources you give us.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jan 27, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for the helpful feedback, and for notifying us about your experience at Pilot Flying J. Guest service and team member satisfaction are two of our top priorities at Pilot Flying J. We take ... More


  11. Helpful (1)

    "My opinion of flying j"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J part-time

    Pros

    good company used to be better

    Cons

    they are to quick to fire someone upper management come in and messes things up they are clue less to the daily operations and how much you put your self into a job

    Advice to Management

    The store manager in charge should be the one to fire someone they know the person and know if they are good worker or not.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jan 27, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re committed to strengthening our team dynamics on an ongoing basis. If you've experienced any management issues (past or present) within our company, we are here to ... More



Showing 605 of 609 reviews
Reset Filters