Pilot Flying J Reviews | Glassdoor

Pilot Flying J Reviews

Updated August 15, 2017
674 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

674 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Fast paced, decent pay, flexible schedules (in 55 reviews)

  • Excellent benefits and great people interested in your growth (in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • Very demanding environment from upper management with little compensation (in 37 reviews)

  • unfortunatley lead driver wasn't willing to provide schedule with work life balance after almost two years of quality employment that I provided (in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Lead Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The pros of working at this job was to meet new people every day and seeing the smile on their faces when we helped them with what they needed. Our companies goal was drew me in and caught my attention to apply here; "To make a better day for our guests with genuine care, each and every day."

    Cons

    The cons of working at this company was I had an edge over external candidates when it came to this job. I had to really show my desire to move up known so if a senior position opened up they would think of me before looking elsewhere.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jun 15, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive feedback. At Pilot Flying J, we value service-minded people who are committed to better experiences- every guest , every chance, every day.


  2. "Supply & Distribution is the place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Supply Coordinator in Knoxville, TN
    Current Employee - Senior Supply Coordinator in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great management staff all the way up to the SVP in this division.
    Lots of options to see many different aspects of the company in this division
    You get to have direct impact on the bottom line of the company

    Cons

    Not a great balance of time away from the office, hard to turn off the phone & email
    The coverage levels for the amount of health insurance premium paid is lacking.

    Advice to Management

    Keep innovating and developing your blue ocean strategy

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jun 10, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive feedback. At Pilot Flying J, we always strive to better the Team Member experience.

  3. "Restaurant Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time

    Pros

    Meeting new customers was a great experience.

    Cons

    Local management and was terrible.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the company goals of a clean and professional environment. Be aware of your leaders and who you assign to management. Overall, poor leadership was the reason why I ended my relationship with your company.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jun 23, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for the honest feedback. If you've experienced any management issues (past or present) within our company, we are here to listen. Please feel free to email us directly at... More


  4. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Knoxville, TN
    Current Employee - Analyst in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Care about employees, Bright financial future

    Cons

    Company culture is to expect immediate results

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jun 1, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    At Pilot Flying J, we continually strive to better the team member experience. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us, and thanks for all you do!


  5. "Continous Set-Up-To-Fail Syndrome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in Atalissa, IA
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in Atalissa, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Amazing Benefits

    Shift Managers are guaranteed at least 35 hours a week

     You get to meet all kinds of people from around the world

    Corporate is working to better engage employee needs

    Cons

    Toxic work environment

    High Turnover

    Poor Training and Communication

    Spontaneous Work hour schedule 1-2 weeks in advance

    Little understanding of Herzberg's theory of Motivation or Organizational Development on the Store level

    Mislabeled job titles

    Advice to Management

    Need to really work hard on improving the work environment and understanding employee needs, as well as their life outside of work!

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jun 12, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback. Please email us directly at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com if you'd like to discuss your concerns further. We are here to listen.


  6. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Pilot Flying J genuinely cares about the team members who keep the business running and the guests who visit our stores. The leadership team is transparent. Pilot Flying J is growing and reinvesting in the team members and business.

    Cons

    No cons specific to Pilot Flying J

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on and invest in the great team members who work here. They keep the business running.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jun 12, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    At Pilot Flying J, we understand you want to work with service-minded people who are committed to better experiences — every guest, every chance, every day. We appreciate you taking the time to share... More


  7. "Outstanding Culture, good paths to growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time

    Pros

    There is a very strong team environment. We shared successes and helped each other get better. Family environment - our team members truly cared about each other. Great advancement opportunities for people who seek them out. PFJ does a lot in the community, it is a company you can be proud to work for.

    Cons

    There are very few cons

    Advice to Management

    Continue to build on the new culture initiative. Make sure the team members in the stores get the support they deserve.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jun 12, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback. At Pilot Flying J, we offer unique opportunities for advancement and several programs for development for our corporate office and store team members. We appreciate you... More

  8. "Maintenance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time

    Pros

    Fair pay,always busy,guest driven exciting place to work

    Cons

    Uneven workloads.Not everyone is held accountable for their job duties.Those who work their tales off are micromanaged and seemingly set up to fail.

    Advice to Management

    Moral would be up if there was more teamwork and consistency in What the responsibility of the MODs are

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jun 12, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. To discuss your concerns in more detail, please email us directly at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Cashier in Joliet, IL
    Current Employee - Retail Cashier in Joliet, IL
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - weekly pay
    - getting leave when I'm at school
    - it was down the street from my house
    - 50% discount

    Cons

    - unprofessional management
    - people always calling off and you have to work 10 hour shifts everyday.
    - Manager don't know how to schedule their workers.

    Advice to Management

    Please hire better managers.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jun 13, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for the honest feedback. If you've experienced any management issues within our company, we are here to listen. Please feel free to email us directly at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com with... More


  10. "Region Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Forward thinking leadership, industry leading company. Constant growth, with good annual meetings. Benefits are better than average.

    Cons

    Typical retail salaries, that are below average, with a typical work week of at least 60 hours per week, and a major lack of staffing.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your managers what they are worth and give them enough help to do their jobs, take care of the customers and keep the stores clean.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jun 12, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re committed to strengthening our team dynamics on an ongoing basis. Please email us at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com if you'd like to discuss your concerns further.... More


Showing 674 of 679 reviews
Reset Filters