KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Pilot Flying J

Is this your company?

Pilot Flying J

Add a Review

Pilot Flying J Employee Reviews about "fast paced"

Updated Jan 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 82 of over 1,450 reviews

3.4
54%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Pilot Flying J CEO Shameek Konar
Shameek Konar
96 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast paced/busy, entertaining, decent pay(in 71 reviews)

  • "Good pay, great chances at moving up, and they provide their current/former employees with great references if you decide to leave them(in 42 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management doesn’t care about the people who work under them(in 57 reviews)

  • "Long hours, grouchy customers if they had a rough day, or overly friendly if they have been away from their families too long(in 39 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Pilot Flying J and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "fast paced"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      AMAZING Company to work for!

      Feb 13, 2019 - Internal Communications Coordinator in Knoxville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great People. Family-oriented.Result-Oriented Culture. Fast Paced. Safe Environment. Competitive Pay. Benefits are Phenomenal. Free Coffee. It seriously is a great company to work for!

      Cons

      So far, I've got nothing.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Pilot Flying J Response

      Social Media Coordinator

      We're so happy to hear you're having a great experience. We appreciate all you do for Pilot Flying J!

    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Very unorganized

      Jan 4, 2021 - Maintenance Technician in Dallam, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast pace work place location

      Cons

      Sometimes management can be very poor

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Pilot Flying J Response

      Social Media Coordinator

      Thank you for taking the time to relay your concerns about the management. We'd like to discuss more if you could follow up with an email to pfjhr@pilottravelcenters.com.

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not bad place to work

      Jan 2, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast paced/busy, entertaining, decent pay

      Cons

      Favoritism, always short handed overnights, & at times overwhelming.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Pilot Flying J Response

      Social Media Coordinator

      We are sorry to hear your feedback on our culture, but appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We are a growth company and work towards improving culture across the board. We'd like to continue the conversation and discuss your comments further. Please reach out to pfjhr@pilottravelcenters.com.

    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Very Customer oriented workplace!

      Dec 17, 2020 - Assistant Manager in Laramie, WY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast paced, lots of training, great environment!

      Cons

      Long hours, grouchy customers if they had a rough day, or overly friendly if they have been away from their families too long. You need to be a people person to work here.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Pilot Flying J Response

      Social Media Coordinator

      Thank you for sharing your experience with Pilot Flying J, and we hope you will share your positive work experiences with others in need of employment.

    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Place to Grow, Bad Management

      Sep 11, 2020 - Cashier in Haines City, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Opportunities for advancement -Weekly Pay -Fast Paced Environment

      Cons

      -Poor Management -Pay Could Be Better -Hard to Move Up

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Pilot Flying J Response

      Social Media Coordinator

      Thank you for taking the time to relay your concerns about the management. We'd like to discuss more if you could follow up with an email to pfjhr@pilottravelcenters.com.

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee

      sandwich artist

      Aug 25, 2020 - Subway Sandwich Artist in Frystown, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      fast paced, physical. shifts passed quick.

      Cons

      low pay, hot, and unreliable schedule.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Pilot Flying J Response

      Social Media Coordinator

      We appreciate you expressing your concerns. Let's continue the conversation to see how we can improve. Please reach out to us at pfjhr@pilottravelcenters.com to discuss your comments further.

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Who hired this goof?

      May 12, 2020 - Shift Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast paced, the regulars grew on me, opened my eyes to how some people actually live, great coworkers

      Cons

      Management is poorest I’ve ever experienced. Too many hens and no rooster. Extremely high employee turnover. Hmm... I wonder why??? Good work is not acknowledged/ GM doesn’t know who does what when and how.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Pilot Flying J Response

      Social Media Coordinator

      Thank you for taking the time to relay your concerns about the management. We'd like to discuss more if you could follow up with an email to pfjhr@pilottravelcenters.com.

    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Okay...

      Feb 13, 2020 - Shift Leader 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work with your availability. Decent pay.

      Cons

      Upper management doesn’t care about the people who work under them. Customers are rude. Very fast paced. Can’t take breaks, most of the time.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Enjoyable

      Nov 5, 2019 - Maintenance Worker 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic management, they really care about you Pilots Great benefits are a huge plus Opportunities for advancement Work with schedules (w reasonable notice)

      Cons

      Plenty of responsibilities Super fast paced Not much assistance toward the maintenance crew

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great depending on which location you're in

      Jul 24, 2019 - GSL 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have worked at four different locations- which shows they WANT to keep their employees, you feel non-disposable. Pay is decent, sometimes flexible with work/life balance, room to advance, meeting all sorts of people (drivers), fast-paced environment, focus is on guest experience and employee satisfaction, sales and scores bonuses, employee discount on food, close relationships with co-workers..

      Cons

      Too many employees get away with no call/no shows leaving one shift unable to function properly, and causing scores to plummet. Training is very limited. Cranky guests and little help from uppers to handle escalated situations. Rewards program ALWAYS has glitches- which causes more cranky guests and loss in sales. Policies seem to be "whatever you want" depending on the day... there is no structure to rules. Employees being punished by having their hours cut..

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Pilot Flying J Response

      Digital Marketing Coordinator

      We appreciate you expressing your concerns on trainings and retrainings. Let's continue the conversation to see how we can improve our training opportunities. Please reach out to us at pfjhr@pilottravelcenters.com to discuss your comments further.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 82 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Pilot Flying J Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Pilot Flying J? Share Your Experiences

    or