Pima Community College Reviews | Glassdoor

Pima Community College Reviews

Updated Jul 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 79 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Pima Community College CEO  Lee Lambert
Lee Lambert
21 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "In the process of new accreditation(in 4 reviews)

  • "Adjunct instructors are not recognized as professionals by their "real" (full-time regular) instructor colleagues(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good part time job to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Lab Assistant in Tucson, AZ

    I worked at Pima Community College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy Job, good coworkers, learn how to use and troubleshoot simple issues with PC and Mac. Good work-life balance, flexible with your schedule.

    Cons

    Other than more hours I can think of no real cons.

    Pima Community College2019-06-15
  2. "Ok but......."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Student Services Advisor 

    I worked at Pima Community College full-time

    Pros

    great students, nice facilities and campuses

    Cons

    political, hard to advance, lots of IT issues made it hard to complete work

    Pima Community College2019-07-25
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Awful Adjunct Pay, Nice Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Professor in Tucson, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pima Community College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The students are mostly nice - I get a good deal of freedom in my course plan

    Cons

    - As an adjunct, I get just over 2K a class after taxes - I get no health insurance or other benefits

    Continue reading
    Pima Community College2019-06-29
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Just when you think things are getting better, they get dramatically worse."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Tucson, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pima Community College part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Interesting, capable, and friendly faculty colleagues. Hard working and appreciative students, most who are first-generation college students. PCC is the educational bargain of the state. Such an excellent education for less than $85 a credit hour. You have to wonder why anyone in southern AZ would pay $1500 per credit hour for the UA.

    Cons

    A truly bloated, overpaid, and unimaginative administration. Rude staff members who treat adjuncts like the administration trains them to do- like unskilled, lowly paid grunts. Ask part-timers to do a lot of unpaid work, including more than 15 hours of unpaid mandatory training this year. It's absolutely outrageous, disrespectful, and possibly illegal (at least I assume people are supposed to be paid for being at work).

    Continue reading
    Pima Community College2019-04-26
  5. "Good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pima Community College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Committed people willing to help

    Cons

    sometimes there is a lack of leadership

    Pima Community College2019-04-09
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Poor culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pima Community College full-time

    Pros

    Nice people, mostly. Decent benefits.

    Cons

    Horrible organisational culture. Like gerbils they eat their own. They fail to get rid of poor performers. It takes forever to get anything accomplished.

    Continue reading
    Pima Community College2019-04-03
  7. "Great Place, Great Colleagues, Great Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Current Employee - Full Time Faculty in Tucson, AZ

    I have been working at Pima Community College full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Love the students, my colleagues, the work environment and location of my campus (West Campus).

    Cons

    I'd like to see more courses in my field (ESL) offered completely online since I'm now qualified to teach them in this mode.

    Continue reading
    Pima Community College2019-03-01
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Political Education Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Services Coordinator in Surprise, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pima Community College full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Reasonable training and focus on students

    Cons

    Poor communication, no unilateral communication, unbalanced workload, lack of internal mobility

    Continue reading
    Pima Community College2019-03-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Technology 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pima Community College full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits. 1 month paid time off per year. 2 weeks sick pay per year.

    Cons

    Dropping enrollment. Untrusting upper management. Layoffs.

    Continue reading
    Pima Community College2019-02-24
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Treated Like An Invisible Person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Specialist At Northwest in Tucson, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pima Community College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Higher education is a critical component of our society.

    Cons

    Beyond the culture of abject incompetence, I have never witnessed a workplace with greater animosity towards its' part time employees. They treat you like nameless cattle. They make it clear that you are "lesser" in every way. Maybe it's to make themselves feel better about how terrible they are at college administration. When the Higher Learning Commission comes around they scramble to put lipstick on a pig, lest they lose their accreditation - something they have had issues with for years. They don't care about their people and the people, in turn, provide terrible customer service to the students. It's a terrible cycle. There is not one person that I've spoken with who enjoys their job or thinks Pima does a good job managing staff. Mostly, everyone has low morale and is totally jaded.

    Continue reading
    Pima Community College2019-03-13
Found 79 reviews